We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great night at a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another great night at a Premier Inn”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay 1 night whilst visiting the NEC, this is a great location being around 15 minutes easy drive away. Hotel was good and friendly as usual. Beefeater restaurant was very crowded (it was a Friday night) so there was a wait for a table. Service was very good and the food was good, albeit a bit pricey as you expect in these types of restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards ,

Diane Rose
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    118
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
111
96
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffs. UK.
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is definitely one of the better Travel Inns, very helpful pleasant staff., very clean and well appointed rooms, and a huge flatscreen TV - everything for the business traveller. Wish they were all like this !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how your stay was. We are glad you enjoyed it and hopefully see you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Diane Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm fairly regular at Premier Inn's around Birmingham, since the B&B I used to stay at (in Yardley) closed down. After excellent experiences at Hockley Heath and NEC and pretty good at The Robin's Hood (Hall Green) and Sutton Coldfield, I had no reason to doubt The Plough on the Stratford Road. (I was last their 30 years ago when it was a Berni Inn steak bar!).

The accommodation side was great. The Polish lady on the desk asked all the right questions and was very welcoming. This is so important when travelling with children. The room was very clean and prepared to an excellent standard. Although the Stratford Road is busy, the block of rooms is set well away. Those facing the lightly used rear car park are particularly quiet.

Sadly, the breakfast operation was not so slick. This is in the pub part and (I understand) the staff are employed by a different part of the Whitbread empire. It showed. Service was painfully slow. Anything cooked had to be ordered and took ages (even though the place was pretty quiet). The "chefs" (more like "food assemblers") were on full display and were busy talking to friends who had "dropped by". Standards didn't look too high. Porridge arrived at the same time as the cooked breakfast and after being returned to keep warm was then forgotten about. By the time it reappeared (after repeated requests) it had been on the hotplate for a further 20 minutes and was largely inedible. In the meantime, their was no coffee in the airpots and (after 15 minutes and various requests) I was advised to "make an instant"!

The friendly staff on the accommodation side seemed to be only too aware of the difference in standards between themselves and the catering operation. Someone needs to get it sorted out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight between Christmas and new year. The standard of the room and flat screen tv was excellent as it usually is here along with the reception from the staff.The only problem during our stay this time was the unusual extremely slow service in the adjacent beefeater grill restaurant which unfortunately annoyed my elderly parents. We will return when hopefully the restaurant service will return to its usual excellent standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how your stay was. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Diane Rose
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were staying with family nearby and rather than cram into one house decided to stay at the premier inn.wish I had done so years ago!
The rooms were immaculate,bed extremely comfortable and easy to set temperature control in the room, (very important when in a boiling house all day).
Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how your stay was. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Diane Rose
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great torrington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Christmas time again! Family present swap and visit to Lake District. As we live in Devon great half-way house! Beautifully clean room and all good.
Family get-together in the Beefeater nothing was too much trouble and food lovely. A good time was had by all Thankyou!. (16 of us including babies).
Will be back soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibb0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how your stay was. we are glad that you enjoyed it, and hope to see you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Diane Rose
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A group of four of us stay at this particular Premier Inn every year. We come to go to an exhibition nearby and this suits us very well being close to the venue. Each year we arrive about 8.30 - 9pm and always manage to be fed very well in the Beefeater. This year we took advantage of the special meal deal offer which was exceptional value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurospin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how your stay was. we are glad that you enjoyed it, and hope to see you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Diane Rose
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
836 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road, Solihull B90 4EP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull - Shirley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Solihull
#11 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quiet spot is handy for big acts at the NEC, Birmingham Airport and many local golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing