We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for Business users at the NEC”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solihull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 49 Solihull B&B and Inns
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Convenient for Business users at the NEC”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our company has attended the NEC every June for the past 4 years and every year stayed with Jane and John in their superb house. After a long day on the stand at the NEC, to sit down with a cup of tea in their garden and rest our weary feet is absolute heaven. In the evening, dinner at The Bulls Head with superb beers and food is the perfect end to each day. Breakfast is beautifully cooked and keeps us going all day on the stand. The NEC is 10 minutes drive away and staying at the Gatehouse is very convenient for business visitors. We are back in 2014 for MACH which is in April and a 5 day show and possibly Subcon for 3 days in June, we have our accomodation booking already confirmed, thanks to Jane and John!

Room Tip: Overlooking the superb garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, and we looking forward to welcoming you to The Gate House in April.
Best wishes,
John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a great place to stay! Beautiful house and gardens overlooking rolling countryside ... You'd never guess you were so close to the NEC!

Jane & John are so welcoming and with an excellent breakfast every morning you're set up for the day! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculate.

Couldn't ask for more and hope to be back in the not too distant future. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, and we looking forward to welcoming you to The Gate House in April.
Best wishes,
John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are looking for a civilised place to stay near Solihull, you could not do better than The Gatehouse B&B. The house is in a beautiful setting, the rooms are comfortable and inviting, and you are assured of a very warm welcome from Jane and John. Jane's breakfasts, which are always freshly prepared using local produce and are served in the elegant dining room, are guaranteed to set you up for the day ahead. There are two pubs within walking distance, each offering a different take on eating and drinking, but both excellent. What more could one ask for in a B&B?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome with superb rooms in this beautiful old house! We were the only guests so had the place to ourselves. Fabulous views over the garden & beyond + a top notch breakfast, great value for money too! Strongly recommended above the plastic motels!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackpalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best wishes, John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was made to feel really welcome.would recommend to anyone,and would definitely stay again.probly best b&b ive encountered on my many travels.beautiful breakfast, amazing garden, and a really nice couple who made us feel right at home, what more would you want-ten out of ten!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
John and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falsterbo
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Cousin "Scottydoc2013" has summed up the Gatehouse perfectly.
Jane and John made myself, wife and cousin feel very welcome in their beautiful home. Unfortunately Johns high class level of garden maintenance has started my wife thinking about my meager attempts at home!
We can thoroughly recommend a visit to the Gatehouse and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PcSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Best wishes, John and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Worth travelling down from Scotland for. Hats off to my cousin who discovered this little gem! We had such an amazing time here, from the welcoming tea and ginger cake, the fabulous English breakfasts in the dining room overlooking the extensive and well-tended grounds to the panoramic view beyond, to the kind hospitality and generosity of our hosts, Jane and John. I felt very much at home here and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. I hope to be back in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottydoc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments. We are glad your trip was successful.
Kind regards,
John and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
3.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
5.0 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.6 mi away
Barncroft Guest House
Barncroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Hampton-in-Arden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Barston Lane | Barston, Solihull B92 0JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatehouse in the quiet village of Barston, Solihull, is a Bed and Breakfast Guesthouse.Its early Victorian features have been given a modern makeover attracting many repeat bookings for its owner who has run the Bed and Breakfast business for more than twenty years.Set in well-cared for grounds providing ample parking behind automatic gates, the Gatehouse offers a comfortable stay for those visitors who require a bed and breakfast in the Solihull area with full English or continental breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing