We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very helpful staff, lovely spa area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. John's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed July 1, 2012

myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights at this hotel to attend my cousins wedding (which was at the same hotel), the hotel check in staff were very efficient and very helpful, especially one of the ladies (forgive me I forgot to make a note of her name - brown curly hair!) when we asked if there were shops and bars close by she went and got a local map for us and explained how to get there etc. She also helped organise for me to have a massage that evening which was very enjoyable....paid for 50mins but was in there for about 65mins. My hubby also had a back and shoulder massage the following morning. Very good value prices for a hotel.

There is a lovely small pool in the Spa and the Leisure complex manager was a very pleasant chap - generally all the staff were very good indeed. Jacuzzi and steam room & sauna also available.

Nice garden area to sit in if the weather is good! The Euro football was on whilst we were there and when the England game was played the hotel put a big screen up in the bar area for everyone to watch.

Breakfast is buffet style, perfectly adequate and again very pleasant staff.

All in all a very nice place to stay and I would stay again and recommend it to friends.

We had requested a "quiet room" and very obligingly the hotel had put us in a room at the end of a coridor so we wouldn't hear anyone walking past etc - the only problem we had was with the key cards kept stopping working which was a tad frustrating when the walk back to reception was quite a hike!

The bar prices are typically hotel rates so would recommend going 5mins into town where there is an O'Neills bar and also a Wetherspoons called The Assembly Rooms - they also do cheap and cheerful food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

I will pass your comments onto those concerned & we hope to see you again soon

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Have just attended a medical conference here which included staying the night and evening meal. All of the food was fantastic and very impressive service considering there were over 100 delegates. The conference room was fantastic and sound, acoustics, lighting etc all very professional.
The one big downside was the noise from the hotel room above mine at night (I was in room 271, last room in the corridor). When the people in the above room came in late at night you could hear every single footstep, movement and voices. Unfortunately they were up at 0600 so again woken up and could hear every movement, shower, doors being opened etc. Sounds picky but really was unusual to be able to hear so much and resulted in me being very tired !

Room Tip: Not 271 ! as per above comments and at side of building so noise from front and side access to build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libby236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

I will pass your comments onto those concerned & we hope to see you again soon

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Used St Johns twice in last month. First was a 2 day workshop, second was a 1 day workshop.

The conference staff couldn't be more attentive and helpful. Perfect!

However, if your delegates don't get one of the executive rooms they wont get a good night sleep. The older rooms are very tired and a couple of people had bed springs as bed partners.

Shame as if the accommodation was acceptable for a whole cohort, would use for residential courses. As it is, for us only suitable for day rates where service and facilities are great.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trahard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

I will pass your comments onto those concerned & we hope to see you again soon

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Awful Awful...whoever the manager is needs to be replaced...poor quality bedroom...bath taps with holes in...plug not working...mismatching furniture...aircon going all night..defo not a 4 star. Breakfast a joke...poor waiting staff...not shown to seat, grunted at...saw one member of staff rolling her eyes at a customer who asked for coffee...i asked for coffee...didnt come..had to ask again...order brown sandwich..white came...cold by the time she swapped it...asked for mayonnaise...she had a 2 min chat with her colleague and forgot about me...checkout...only one member of staff who was serving me and another at the same time...only good thing was leaving..oh and the gym DONT STAY HERE..YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

I will pass your comments onto those concerned and re-training will be issued where necessary.

Our Quality Wins team meet every month to discuss guest feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board, so that we can improve the service we offer.

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's a pleasant enough hotel but only the prices reflected the 4-star rating.

From a 4-star hotel I would expect a few extras: The choice of coffees and teas in the room was very basic, there were no biscuits, no fridge or minibar. The breakfast selection was adequate but not a four star choice: limited choice of fruit and yogurts, no mushrooms to go with the hot breakfast.

I'd also expect some comprehensive information on the hotel's facilities in the room - there was very little there and I only found out about the pool and the gym from other guests. I tried to ring reception about wireless connection but nobody answered the phone. Overall: perhaps 2 or 3 star. 4 - not really justifiable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polkadotdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

Our Quality Wins team meet every month to discuss guest feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board, so that we can improve the service we offer.

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Recently attended the hotel for a conference and was relatively impressed with the facilities but it was the staff which made the stay a more pleasant experience. Conference staff were very attentive and helpful and a particualr mention for the assistant maintenance manager 'Simon', who when my car wouldnt start, went out of his way to get it running again and made sure it caused me as little disruption as possible. he was only too happy to help and is a credit to the hotel. Will certainly recommend to family, friends and business colleagues alike.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz18031979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns J, Administrator to Cluster General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

I will pass your comments onto those concerned & we hope to see you again soon

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

we stayed at the st john for one night only at the weekend for a wedding there and found nothing wrong whatsoever with the hotel. the staff were very courteous and helpfull, the check in was quick and effiecent, the room we had is your standard hotel fare , but was very clean and comfortable, i am not a reviewer that checks eveything with a microscope so i was more then happy with the room .the public areas were again kept very clean and the bar was excellent, four pound a pint is what we expected to pay you can go into the town centre and pay about the same price.i cannot say much about the food as we only had breakfast which was very nice but if the food is as good as we were served for the wedding then there should be no complaints.if i ever have to stay over in solihull again i would stay at the st johns again,ignore the nitpickers and moaners that this site seems to attract and judge it for yourselfs

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns J, Administrator to Cluster General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at The St Johns Hotel, Solihull

I will pass your comments onto those concerned & we hope to see you again soon

Regards,
The St Johns Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#8 of 28 in Solihull
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
1,896 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: $64 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing