We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning our next trip!”
Review of The Barns

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barns
Ranked #48 of 53 Solihull B&B and Inns
CARLISLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Already planning our next trip!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this B&B as we were attending a wedding and the reception was being held at nearby Hampton Manor. The location is really convienient as it is not far from the motorway and yet it still feels rural.The owner could not have been any more helpul or friendly and even drove us to the reception venue!! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean.Our full English breakfast was fantastic. Owner was happy to cater for my gluten free diet without any difficulty. This B&B would be ideal for anyone visiting an event at the NEC. We are already planning our next trip to do just that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellredmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Owner was very helpful in talking me down the lane to the house and the accommodation. Accommodation is around the back of the main house as you enter the property drive with a reassuring security gate at the front of the property. Room was spacious and a little cold. Venue is close to Birmingham Airport so it is well placed for travellers and those off to the NEC. Initially I was aware of the thrust of aircraft taking off however this didn't affect my sleep quality.

The owner was prompt in addressing an issue with the room when asked.

Breakfast in the morning was a little drafty from the door being opened to serve etc however this was a minor issue in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this b&b for one night as we were going to the caravan show at the NEC. The room was huge even though there were just two of us. Perfect for families as it had a double and two singles with a curtain partition. Tea and coffee facilities were great. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. A lovely cooked variety and plenty of other choices too. I really couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a find! Four friends stayed at The Barns for 1 night as we were attending a concert at the NEC. The room was £95 for the night which worked out at £23.75 each. The room was spotless, the bathroom was fantastic, and the owners were extremely friendly. We even got a full English the next morning.

I really can't recommend this little gem highly enough, it's only a short taxi ride to the NEC - £10 one way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryBumpkin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location only few minutes off the motorway, lovely room very clean and well presented yet individual and homely. Would recommend to anyone looking for good value for money.

The place has good free wifi connection, tv, comfy bed and is close to Solihull for a curry if you want or nip down to the village for a pint, local taxis available on free phone number.

Room Tip: Call them direct to arrange what you need very willing to help with your queries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Attended a wedding at Hampton Manor with my family of 7, received a very warm welcome, owner very friendly, accommodation homely, plenty to eat at breakfast and very tasty. Would use again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123June456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a nights stay after going to a wedding at Hampton Manor which is just down the road. The proprietor and her family made us very welcome and we felt like we were old friends although this was our first stay. She also went out of her way to help us even offering to drive us to the Manor. The room was large, clean and full of character,the bed was comfy and the bathroom moden. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Car park is secure behind electric gates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldmarriedcouple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.6 mi away
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns

Property: The Barns
Address: Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton in Arden, Solihull B92 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing