We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with wood beam ceilings”
Review of The Barns

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barns
Ranked #44 of 49 Solihull B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spacious room with wood beam ceilings”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Owner was very helpful in talking me down the lane to the house and the accommodation. Accommodation is around the back of the main house as you enter the property drive with a reassuring security gate at the front of the property. Room was spacious and a little cold. Venue is close to Birmingham Airport so it is well placed for travellers and those off to the NEC. Initially I was aware of the thrust of aircraft taking off however this didn't affect my sleep quality.

The owner was prompt in addressing an issue with the room when asked.

Breakfast in the morning was a little drafty from the door being opened to serve etc however this was a minor issue in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this b&b for one night as we were going to the caravan show at the NEC. The room was huge even though there were just two of us. Perfect for families as it had a double and two singles with a curtain partition. Tea and coffee facilities were great. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. A lovely cooked variety and plenty of other choices too. I really couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a find! Four friends stayed at The Barns for 1 night as we were attending a concert at the NEC. The room was £95 for the night which worked out at £23.75 each. The room was spotless, the bathroom was fantastic, and the owners were extremely friendly. We even got a full English the next morning.

I really can't recommend this little gem highly enough, it's only a short taxi ride to the NEC - £10 one way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryBumpkin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location only few minutes off the motorway, lovely room very clean and well presented yet individual and homely. Would recommend to anyone looking for good value for money.

The place has good free wifi connection, tv, comfy bed and is close to Solihull for a curry if you want or nip down to the village for a pint, local taxis available on free phone number.

Room Tip: Call them direct to arrange what you need very willing to help with your queries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Attended a wedding at Hampton Manor with my family of 7, received a very warm welcome, owner very friendly, accommodation homely, plenty to eat at breakfast and very tasty. Would use again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123June456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a nights stay after going to a wedding at Hampton Manor which is just down the road. The proprietor and her family made us very welcome and we felt like we were old friends although this was our first stay. She also went out of her way to help us even offering to drive us to the Manor. The room was large, clean and full of character,the bed was comfy and the bathroom moden. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Car park is secure behind electric gates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldmarriedcouple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just 2 miles from the NEC and close to the airport this is the ideal place to stay. A bit different to the informal chain hotels with more of a personal touch. Comfy rooms, very secure parking and windows that open. We asked for a 7am breakfast and the owner was happy to oblige. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good. I would definately recommend this guest house, its clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalan1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.6 mi away
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,514 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.6 mi away
Glenlyon Bed and Breakfast
Glenlyon Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Hampton-in-Arden
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gayton B&B
Gayton B&B
#19 of 49 in Solihull
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns

Property: The Barns
Address: Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton in Arden, Solihull B92 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing