We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

So happy we decided to have a short break at this lovely hotel. Fantastic position for some serious shopping. Also a good selection of restaurants inside and just outside the hotel. Free parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggsie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    369
    235
    119
    80
See reviews for
185
295
40
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What can I say? We booked our special day at the Ramada, and have nothing but utmost praise for the team, and we have many happy memories. A hotel does not make a wedding, but can undermine the occasion. The food was piping hot and cooked to perfection (including next mornings breakfast), with service being prompt and efficiently served. The rooms were wonderful, and reception staff very accomodating. Special thanks to Roz and Phillip and Adam who looked after us and made the day an occasion to remember.
I can only say, I would recommend this as a venue to hold your wedding

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for the excellent comments regarding your wedding.
On behalf of all the staff may I wish you a very happy future together, we are all pleased we helped to make your day such a special occasion.
Your comments will be forwarded to the staff you mentioned and I hope you will visit us again very soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for one night with my company as we were using the hotel's function room. Rooms and service were all completely average but bearable. The fire alarm went off in the night due to some idiot smoking in his room but clearly not the hotel's fault. However, I would question how well the management have trained their staff as the fire procedures were a bit of a shambles.
They need to be smarter, more organised, more responsive next time.

The big problem was the food. If I had wanted food of this quality I would have checked myself into hospital. Really, this was the worst I have ever had in a hotel and that's saying a lot. Lousy starters - two prawns and a 'salad' of sliced red pepper and some salad leaves. No dressing or anything at all. Main course carvery was the greyest, most overcooked beef I've ever seen - even the cook slicing it was laughing as he couldn't get through it. Breakfast not much better - they quickly ran out of eggs, kept everyone waiting ten minutes and then delivered fried eggs that I demanded be taken away as they were not cooked through.

Dear me Ramada, you've got a potentially nice hotel in a nice town but there is a shocking lack of care in some areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.
My apologies for your dissapointment regarding the food although we were very busy this should not have impacted on the quality of food, your comments have been forwarded to our head chef for immediate improvement.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solihull hotels

Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed there in January 2013 as a family. Very good location, clean rooms but old decor. The stairs in the family room needs sober people. Very friendly and efficient staff members. Excellent breakfast, my kids couldn't wait for mornings, there's room for improvement on the menu for lunches and dinners.

Good value for money, l would not hesitate to recommend it...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumbi304026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for the review ere pleased you enjoyed your stay and will take on board your comments regarding menu ideas!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location, with free parking for guests which is a nice bonus. The room was spacious and clean but the decor throughout the hotel was a bit dodgy - the place is being refurbished at the moment I believe, which it does need. The tv channels need an update too as there's a lot more available freeview than was working. Free wi-fi with good connection speed. The reception staff are lovely, as are most of the others, except the maid who came into the room despite me yelling at her to wait a minute as I was getting changed! But into the positives of this hotel intrudes the breakfast. No tea or coffee was offered despite us sitting there for half an hour, and I had a cooked breakfast from the buffet which included a sausage that was not cooked inside. When a breakfast staff member was informed of these problems, she was very dismissive. When we told the receptionist upon checking out, she was lovely and very apologetic. All in all, a hotel with a fair bit going for it but some problems. Just beware of the sausages...

Room Tip: George Street rooms - they're massive!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, which does involve a great deal of 'behind the scenes' improvements that need to happen before the more visually decorative aspects can be tackled!
Our suppliers have been advised regarding the sausages which was due to a food colouring issue, and has now been resolved.
Many thanks for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you to back to Ramada Solihull very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday evening. We had a room overlooking the bowling green. The room was warm and spacious and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was really good everything being hot and very tasty!!! Special mention to Liz in the restaurant. She was very helpful and welcoming. Everything was very clean and to hand and we were offered tea or coffee very quickly, nothing was too much trouble. Very good stay, all reception staff were very friendly and obliging. Thank you for a very lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
The staff are trained to ensure guest staisfaction and we are pleased to have exceeded your expectations!
We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed one night in a townhouse room. Stairs quite steep and room was cold with only one radiator but clean and spacious. All the staff were friendly and efficient and buffet breakfast was good. However, the evening meal was very ordinary. The menu reads well. The seafood tian starter was good. The sea bass main however was disappointing. The skin was limp and soggy and I had a bone in my fish. I pointed it out to the head waitress who apologised. She came back and said the chef offered his apologies but they could never guarantee that fish would be served without bones!!! The panacotta dessert was solid and more like a hard mousse than panacotta. I would stay again but eat elsewhere in the evening.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Many thanks for you review on tripadvisor, your comments have been forwarded to our chef!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,080 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,667 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
2.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Solihull

Property: Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Address: The Square, Solihull B91 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Birmingham Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Birmingham/Solihull (known locally as The George) started life as a 15th-century coaching inn and now mixes the old and the new around England's oldest crown bowling green. Ideally situated at the end of Solihull's high street with easy access to the M42, NEC and airport, the hotel offers the perfect destination for touring and relaxing in the heart of the West Midlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Solihull Hotel Solihull
Ramada Solihull Birmingham
Solihull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing