We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new years eve family night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“new years eve family night”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose to spend our new years eve out this year for the first time and we had never been to a ramada hotel so was not sure what to expect.When we arrived we were told our room had been changed but for the better we had two rooms with a door to go through into the other room in which our 11 and 17 year old would be in.The room had everything you would want and was very spacious and clean ironing board.iron, trouser press ,good hairdryer nice coffee and biscuits.The new years meal was buffet style three course and a childrens buffet and was very good.We thought the overnight parking was going to be 8.00 pound then turned out it was free.The disco was very good the staff very helpfull and the full english buffet style breakfast amazing.We were glad we had preordered wine has it worked out so much cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're pleased you enjoyed New Years Evening with us and hope to see you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    348
    223
    112
    77
See reviews for
175
282
38
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say. I have been working away now since June spending two to three nights per week in the hotel. I will get the not so good out the way first, the hotel requires a refurb but this is happening in 2013 as they have new owners.

The good, & there is loads of it, is the team of people that work the and the service they provide. All are 5 star and deserve great praise for all the hard work they do. I could stay in plusher surroundings I am sure but the staff make the place feel as much like home as possible, nothing is too much trouble I have even had sewing done for me, I know a typical male traveller I hear you cry.

Special thanks goes to Anita, Jonathan, Abbey, Laura T, Liz, Corry, Lewis etc. etc. So many super people to mention but you have all made me feel welcome and made being away from home more bearable, so many thanks.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a good nights sleep, a venue for a meeting or conference, a special party or just for meal in the restaurant or bar. If you are in the area then check in!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review, I'm sure all the staff will agree that it is our pleasure to provide the best service to such a valued guest!
We all wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel staff very helpful! Food in bar great value for money and very nice ! Room clean and all i needed, Gym was a mile or so down the road but was ok, Breakfast was ok but had better would think twice about staying again, Big pet hate parking Fees !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlsouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. As we are now under new ownership (SGS hotels Ltd) we will be undergoing some major refurbishment over the next few months, some of which is already taking place! As part of the improved guest experience, car parking is included for all residents of the hotel, hopefully you will visit us again and enjoy the improvements.

Happy New Year from all the staff at Ramada Solihull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

When visiting Solihull I normally stay in Birmingham but decided to stay at the Ramada as was attending a party in Solihull.

The pictures on the website show what looks like a period property (which I think is the bar) but the rooms are at the rear and are in what is like a 70s motel design.

My room was a reasonable size but did not feel homely. Very uncomfotrable double bed with poor pillows which lead to a very poor sleep. Bathroom small. No wifi in bedrooms.

Breakfast was good with efficient staff.

There was a sign stating that the hotel was under new ownership and will be renovated - it certainly needs it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin10779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Colin,

Thank you for your feedback, included in the renovations is the intention to install complimentary WIFI in all guest bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back to Ramada Solihull in the near future and look forward to your feedback on the renovations which have already taken place.

Merry Christmas from all the staff at Ramada Solihull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We all had such a fun time this weekend at the glam n glitz party night. The food and serves from the staff was superb.

The whole evening was very professional and ran very well.

We will defiantly be booking again for next year!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lealealily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Were all pleased you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing your again next year in our refurbshed hotel!
Merry Christmas from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Thank you to the hotel manager who helped make our stay in a studio room fantastic.
The staff on reception were friendly, helpful & efficient.
The location is fantastic for shopping in Solihull, free car parking a bonus!
Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcySmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for a wonderfull review.

The car parking is now complimentary to ALL residents of the hotel, a gift from our new owners!

Merry Christmas from all the staff at Ramada Solihull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had our wedding here 12/12/12. An excellent venue, close to motorways etc. and great for guests.
The wedding breakfast was very good and the staff helpful and thoughtful.
I would recommend the Ramada if you are thinking of holding any event here. Our wedding was enjoyed by all of our guests. Those that stayed over night all had excellent rooms, clean and pleasent.
A big thank you to Ros Wilson!!!!!
The only down side was the decor in the public areas; it needs updating.

R Prince

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSolihull, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review I shall ensure Ros is forwarded a copy, for future reference we have new owners who are making immediate improvements and will continue to do so into the New Year.

All the staff at Ramada Solihull wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,497 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
784 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Solihull

Property: Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Address: The Square, Solihull B91 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Birmingham Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Birmingham/Solihull (known locally as The George) started life as a 15th-century coaching inn and now mixes the old and the new around England's oldest crown bowling green. Ideally situated at the end of Solihull's high street with easy access to the M42, NEC and airport, the hotel offers the perfect destination for touring and relaxing in the heart of the West Midlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Solihull Hotel Solihull
Ramada Solihull Birmingham
Solihull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing