We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for enjoyin nice day n night out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Nice hotel great location for shopping and partying staying again for my bday soon

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmatt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

The rooms are of a reasonable size, with most of the usual amenities you would expect in a UK 4* hotel, though there is no mini-bar and the wardrobe is open to the room with no doors. No in room safe.

The bathroom appears to be recently refurbished and was kept clean. As other reviewers have commented, the water pressure is poor (my room on the 3rd floor) and could do with a stronger circulation pump. Unfortunately, the towels weren't updated along with the bathroom and mine had certainly move on from fluffy to rough. No need for a loofa!

Breakfast is your usual buffet, which seemed well stocked on this visit and attentive staff kept tables cleaned and turned. Not a gourmet experience, but a good variety of artery hardening choices that don't hurt once in a while.

This hotel does a lot of business as a result of having the NEC just up the road and can go from crowded to empty - your experiences at breakfast and at the bar in the evening may vary depending on the crowd that's in.

Just over the road is the Touchwood shopping centre - good if you want to each in a wide range of chain restuarants. Through the centre and onto the main street there are a couple of Indians which are pretty reliable.

An earlier review mentioned car parking charges - I've not been charged on this trip, though I am on a corporate rate. You may need to check the when booking direct or with a broker. There is no other free parking close by.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AONE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn, Solihull. Upon departure, we were told there would be a £5 per night charge for parking. We have been staying at Holiday Inns over many years and have never been charged for parking until now. We mentioned this was not made clear when we booked on the internet, but the receptionist insisted that it was. We told her we would not be using Holiday Inns again and her reply was - "that's fine". Other guests we spoke to were also unaware of the introduction of parking charges. We followed this on with a letter to the manager, which wasn't acknowledged. Their attitude to clients appears to be very off-hand. When we post a review, it is usually to praise the the venue but in this case, we feel guests need to be made aware of this petty charge at the time of booking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PTJStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed for 3( very cold) nights in February. The location is great ...directly across the road from Touchwood shopping /cinema complex. You can walk easily to the station too.The public areas of the hotel are modern & stylish ( and warm !). Our room was spacious & clean with comfy beds and a choice of pillows. Breakfast was very good.
I do, however, have a few niggles ....
* room was cold
* cheap little containers of shampoo/bath foam ( we got a half- empty one on arrival )
* housekeeping seemed erratic .....when we put out the please don't disturb sign for a short time to shower etc before going out we were rather perturbed when a note appeared informing us that our room would not be serviced that day as we had asked not to be disturbed. Very odd. It was however sorted out at reception.
* next day we had to ask at 2pm at reception if our room was going to be serviced as there was no sign of any housekeeping anywhere
* Basic bathroom commodities seemed to be in short supply! ( unless you asked)
* the water pressure in the shower was very poor
These are all little things that didn't really spoil our stay which overall was good. We would use the hotel again mainly due to its location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Hotel is in an excellent location - with an indoor shopping centre directly opposite the hotel where you will find lots of high street shops and restaurants including TGI's, Nandos, Pizza Express, Pizza Hut, Bella Italia, Wagamamas, La Tasca. So easy to kee[ costs down.
Hotel was nice and clean -we had a room with 2 double beds which was great - seeing as they originally offered a double bed plus a put up bed. The pool was small but adequate - looked much bigger in the picture!!
Only thing is parking there is £5.00 per night which we were not aware of until we arrived but otherwise absolutely no complaints - much more to do than staying at one of the hotels at the NEC- great for a weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walshxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Brand new, and perched right outside the Touchwood shopping mall, so not far to stagger to the shops.

Our welcome was warm - both by the log fire in the foyer and by the reception team - Marek especially so, with a sense of humour to match.

Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the rear of the hotel. It was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and, given the freezing conditions outside, beautifully warm. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.

Breakfast next morning was fairly uniform for a Holiday Inn, but, again, the staff were attentive and welcoming, and there was plenty of choice of food, both hot and cold.

The only snag, as far as we could see, is the £5 per night parking fee. However, if you were planning to use the shopping centre, this would probably be a very good deal, as it lasts all day as well, even once you have checked out.

We will definitely use the hotel again, and will recommend it others.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We got a good rate for B&B although there was a mix up with my booking, be careful booking direct with hotel amd make sure you get email confirmation.
We had an executive room which is a bit of a grand title for a large room with very basic fittings, old TV, small bed, curtain fittings falling off, one bathrobe, just poor facilities. Bathroom was large but a small bath, they really good do much better very easily.
Breakfast was good but buffet breakfasts are never fresh and hot, good selection of other stuff though.
Leisure facilities OK but small pool.
Wasn't asked how my stay was on leaving and she could barely raise a smile.
If i had paid full price i would of asked to see the manager!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: $83 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing