We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I've stayed at several hotels in Solihull area and Holiday Inn represents a solid value compared to other hotels. The hotel is located proximate to Touchwood (extensive shops / restaurants) in Solihull City Centre.

The rooms are modestly appointed and generally quiet. The morning breakfast buffet is OK but I agree with another reveiwer that better / more reasonable breakfast can be had across the street at several restaurants at Touchwood Centre or pedestrian mall area.

The hotel is a good alternative to hotels either at Birmingham International Airport or the NEC. It is a short cab ride to those areas and has much better amenities. Also consider as an alternative to Birmingham City Centre hotels as it is a 10 minute train raid from Solihull to to Birmingham Moor Street station.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 696 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2008

Stayed here a few times and each time has been good. The rooms are spotless, only ever had 1 problem in one of the rooms but they quickly changed me to another room which was perfect and bigger. There is spare pillows in the room and of course each room is air conditioned. We never used the lesuire facilities so cannot comment on that. The restaurant is small but nice if the hotel was full it would not cope with the demand (never had that problem though). There set menu is a bit repetitive we have been there twice this year and the set menu has been the same.

Breakfast is good ample selection of continental or full English breakfast. If booking best to book the breakfast instead of paying for it when you arrive more costly that way.

The staff themselves are there to help never once have I had a problem with attitudes etc. If you have a problem ask say to them and they will do there best to help.

The location of the Hotel is also good, you are right across from Solihull shopping centre where there is a choice of places to eat and drink. For couples or in our case families. The train station is not far if you are wanting to go to Birmingham.

All in all I will be staying here again. You will then be asking yourself why only give it 4 out 5. Well as I said the set menu is repetitive and you have to pay £5 a day for the car park even if you are staying in the hotel, which I think is a bit much.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

I only stayed a short while at this hotel, late check in and early departure. Room was clean and well decorated. Bathroom was the same with a reasonable shower.

The bar service was a little slow due to a lot of wedding guests staying for a wedding the following day.

I didn't eat in the hotel.

The coffee was that awful, dreadful, bitter, foul, disgusting ditchwater called Tchibo. It really is revolting. Cheap and nasty. Yuck. Double yuck. Actually, beyond - way beyond - double yuck.

Dear hotels,

Tchibo coffee is cheap, nasty, revolting stuff. Please stop using it.

Many thanks,

Travelrug xx

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

As a regular visitor to Solihull I have tried all the hotels at some stage or another.
Today this is a good way above the others which are pretty mediocre except St Johns and Corus which you should avoid like the plague.

Comfortable rooms, good shower and breakfast with a quiet and central location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Good solid hotel, clean, friendly, well located. Everything you'd want. The restaurant and bar are nothing special (and rather small) but just across the street are several restaurants, a cinema and bars.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrfalafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Room was very clean with all mod cons, nice to ironing facilites. bathroom modern and towels clean and fluffy.

We stayed as a mid way place to meet friends and go into Stratford on Avon. Just a short easy journey away.

We booked two nights with 1 dinner and two breakfasts. £140 excellent value although we were told how much we could spend on dinner and rest would be added as extras!!

Food was good hot and well presented only difficult thing was breakfast on day of check out. Wedding party the night before were all breakfasting together so we had to wait for a table as restaurant only small.

Temperature of hotel kept constant by air con we would have liked to have had a few doors and wondows open as it was a tad stiffling.

Would definately stay again as staff were all very friendly and room attendants were very quick to make up rooms so no waiting around.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EssexDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I chose this hotel for the location as it is so close to the town. The rooms have always been good, breafast not worth the exter money as you can walk to the town for better food and cheper just an extra 3 mintuse. The staff can very from very very bad to very good.
Only realy problem is 75% of my night there have been disturved by the fire alam going of beetween 1 in the morring and 5 in the morring and having to evacuationg the building

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summergee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: $83 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing