We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

As a regular visitor to Solihull I have tried all the hotels at some stage or another.
Today this is a good way above the others which are pretty mediocre except St Johns and Corus which you should avoid like the plague.

Comfortable rooms, good shower and breakfast with a quiet and central location.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    249
    109
    40
    24
See reviews for
123
180
24
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Good solid hotel, clean, friendly, well located. Everything you'd want. The restaurant and bar are nothing special (and rather small) but just across the street are several restaurants, a cinema and bars.

  • Liked — Close to town
  • Disliked — soulless
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrfalafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Room was very clean with all mod cons, nice to ironing facilites. bathroom modern and towels clean and fluffy.

We stayed as a mid way place to meet friends and go into Stratford on Avon. Just a short easy journey away.

We booked two nights with 1 dinner and two breakfasts. £140 excellent value although we were told how much we could spend on dinner and rest would be added as extras!!

Food was good hot and well presented only difficult thing was breakfast on day of check out. Wedding party the night before were all breakfasting together so we had to wait for a table as restaurant only small.

Temperature of hotel kept constant by air con we would have liked to have had a few doors and wondows open as it was a tad stiffling.

Would definately stay again as staff were all very friendly and room attendants were very quick to make up rooms so no waiting around.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and modern facilities
  • Disliked — Bar prices
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EssexDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I chose this hotel for the location as it is so close to the town. The rooms have always been good, breafast not worth the exter money as you can walk to the town for better food and cheper just an extra 3 mintuse. The staff can very from very very bad to very good.
Only realy problem is 75% of my night there have been disturved by the fire alam going of beetween 1 in the morring and 5 in the morring and having to evacuationg the building

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the fire alams
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summergee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

we stayed here for one nite after the grand prix in silverstone previous to that we were staying in the hilton metropole in the nec area .Ive stayed in a few holiday inns just of late and found them all to be the same good value service etc and nothing is any trouble .we did book a suite which was far bigger than we needed but when booking it that was all that was avaiable that day these included lcd tv nice bathroom huge bed and baggs of space on the 1st floor leading to a roof top garden so what more would you want .the meals were fine and as usall a wide choice for breakfast this coupled with pool and gym 1st class hotel with 1st class staff i feel there not just there for taking money from you unlike other hotels ..

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank m666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. We found the staff extremley helpful and efficient.
We had an executive room and it was very spacious and spotless.
We had a lovely view of the fountain from our window and didnt hear any noise from the other guests , even though their was a wedding on whilst we were there.
The breakfast had a great variety and was very fresh, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We visited the touchwood shopping centre for a meal on one of the nights , TFI fridays, and the staff were the best ever , really made our night, we had a double celebration, birthday and engagement. It was like we had gone out in company instead of on our own.
We will certainly be visiting both places again and recomending them to our friends.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrsbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
805 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed here as an alternative to a Birmingham airport hotel. Good location – opposite Touchwood Shopping Centre so there are several restaurant options.

Parking and check in was fine but room maintenance was atrocious. Both desk lamps had broken globes. The TV was missing a remote. One of the towels had a very ugly brown stain. We asked for replacements but nothing came. The sofa bed was damaged – no comfort factor whatsoever.

Our room, a suite on the first floor was noisy during the night – the result of doors slamming. All of this was reported to management in writing via an evaluation and I’m still awaiting a response.

Award winning – maybe years back. Now? Don’t waste your money.

  • Liked — location to restaurants
  • Disliked — bad maintenance
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,075 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
836 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Property: Crowne Plaza Solihull
Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing