We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Xmas shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great base for Xmas shopping!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed for one night on our way home from visiting relatives up north, to do some Xmas shopping at Touchwood which is directly opposite. Lovely hotel, friendly and welcoming staff and a super room in which to rest after hitting the shops!

Ate in the hotel restaurant and had a really nice meal. Our only complaint was that they added a £5 service charge to our bill at the end! We crossed it out as we felt tipping should be at the discretion of the diner not the hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for an Executive Room - lots of room and a huge bathroom. Balcony area as well, although as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I am pleased to read that our hotel proved such a convenient stopover for you on your journey home from the north and that you were able to catch up on some Christmas shopping whilst you were here

Your comments concerning our hotel, bedrooms and friendly staff are very much appreciated. I am surprised however to read that a service charge had been added to your bill. We do not add a service charge to our guests bills therefore I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate this further if you would be so kind as to contact me with further details.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    244
    108
    40
    24
See reviews for
121
176
24
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently visited this hotel restaurant with 7 friends for our christmas meal.we each paid £36.95 each for a 3 course meal and coffee afterwards.The food was awful and not even worth a tenner.the service was not too clever either.I could not even get a coffee after my meal.I did try to complain to the hotel but as they have already taken our money they are not interested.Needless to say we will not be returning next year and i would advise everyone to look elsewhere if you're after a decent meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Wendy D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, Room was OK, think we got an old one, as not like in the picture on website
Was not given any benefits for PPC member, Most others HI / HIE offer you something
Old Style square Box for TV - Time to move into 21st Century HI
Staff Freindly . Shocked they charge for parking , not made clear
on website .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0llyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

Whilst I am pleased to read that you found our team to be friendly, I am sorry that you were not delighted by the standard of our rooms. Whilst I appreciate it may be of little consolation to you, we have, since your visit, replaced all of our televisions with up to date flat screen models. I am sorry also that you feel you did not receive the benefits to which you are entitled as a PCR Member. I shall be happy to look into this further for you if you would contact me with the details of what you expected but did not receive.

I have noted your comments concerning the charge for car parking. We do state on our website that car parking charges apply at £5.00 per car per night and please be assured that we regularly review our pricing for car parking to ensure that we remain competitive with other city/town centre hotels and the charge for residents is significantly discounted.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was filling with a satisfactory variety of cooked and continental foods.

Only issue was it was quite expensive - £127 for a standard room & breakfast is pushing it, especially for non london

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AElmariesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was pleased to read that you found your room to be spacious and clean and that you found the breakfast satisfactory. Please be assured that our bed and breakfast rates are regularly reviewed to ensure that we remain competitive with other 4* establishments within Solihull and the Birmingham area.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We managed to get an excellent room rate including breakfast of just over £40 per night. Room (108) was spacious and comfortable, overlooking the small lake and fountain. All staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with a good choice of fruit, cold meats, breads, and full cooked. There is a smallish but satisfactory bar in the lobby area.
About 10 minutes walk from the station or a £5 taxi ride, and opposite the shopping mall including a John Lewis.

Room Tip: A number of rooms overlook a small lake, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was delighted to read that you found your room, overlooking the lake, to be spacious and comfortable and out team to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here on business recently for one night.
The hotel is situated in a very convenient position for Solihull town centre.
The reception area was large and welcoming with a fireplace and loads of sofas dotted around the bar.
My room was comfortable and clean but could have done with a bit updating. The TV in the bedroom was old and not a great picture and the remote control didn't work properly.
The bed was a large double and was comfortable and there was a good size full en-suite bathroom.
I used the swimming pool and the leisure facilities at the hotel which were good but not brilliant. The steam room didn't produce much steam and the pool was a very peculiar shape to swim in!
Again, I felt that the leisure club could have done with a bit of modernisation.
I had breakfast the next morning at the hotel which was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food.
The staff all seemed to be ok, no complaints, but not excellent customer service either.
All in all though I would have no problems with staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and convenient for your needs

Whilst I appreciate it may be of little consolation to you, but since your stay, we have replaced all televisions within the hotel with up to date flat screen models. Additionally, during December, our Leisure Club underwent a refurbishment of the gymnasium, dance studio, reception and changing rooms.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future to experience the improvements we have made since your last stay

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a nice, comfortable, average hotel that I used for an overnight stay while attending an event at the NEC Arena. My room was comfortable if a little dated. I've come to expect the TV to be a flat screen LCD in contemporary hotels while the one in this room was so old it was still using teletext. I had a very peaceful night's sleep and both my check-in and check-out processes were fast and efficient. The staff were very helpful throughout my stay and I would certainly consider using this hotel again if required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and our team to be helpful throughout your stay

Whilst I appreciate it may be of little consolation to you, but since your stay, we have replaced all televisions within the hotel with up to date flat screen models.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 25 in Solihull
1,053 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,606 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Property: Crowne Plaza Solihull
Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing