We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great room at Holiday Inn Solihull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great room at Holiday Inn Solihull”
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My latest stay in a Holiday Inn hotel was in Solihull, which is 10 minutes walk from the train station. Solihull is a very nice city with a good shopping centre called Touchwood. We were welcome very nicely at the reception.

We were given an executive bedroom on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden. Our room was quite modern and with fresh furniture and a lot of pillows on the bed. Bathroom is functional and standard with good power shower in the morning. Breakfast in the morning was of good quality with the usual English breakfast and also the possibility to order scramble eggs or omelettes like you would do at home. The bar was very busy on Saturday night with a wedding reception but the staff was very efficient to get our drinks quickly.

A very good 4 star hotel which is only 5 miles away from the Birmingham NEC convention centre.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — nothing to report
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GdeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    239
    107
    40
    24
See reviews for
118
172
23
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Great location and car parking but the service was poor. The food at breakfast was good quality but cold ; too much cooked at once and left to stand. Staff did not get the newspaper we ordered and generally could not care less. No hair conditioner or flannels in bathroom. Only one robe when they knew the booking was for 2 adults. When checking out they answered the phone when speaking to me, without any apology, and could have put it on hold! What a disappointment!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIsolihull, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, November 1, 2007
Dear Sir,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Solihull for your recent stay.

We are sorry that your experience with us was not satisfying and it is not to our usual high standard of service that we provide as you can see evidence of from previous good reviews we have had.

If you would like to contact us directly so that we may have all relevant and detailed information and I can assure you that we will deal with them appropriately and to your satisfaction.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I stay here with my wife on a business trip for one night in July 2007.
The hotel is clean and the staff very frendly. Apon arrival with we're asked if we wanted a smoking room. Though I hadn't booked one we both smoke so we said yes. However they didn't have any smoking doubles left. Instead they upgraded us to a suit with a balcony. Great service.
The room (upgraded) was excellent with a superking bed and all the things you would exspect from a suite. The shower was a typical hotel shower, don't exspect a power shower, but very adequate.
Breakfast was a little disappointing. A self service all you can eat buffet, which is fine, but we didnt eat till about 9 am by which time the food had been out for a while and therefore a little cold. Or at best luke warm. As they finished service at 9:30am they weren't bring new hot food to the buffet. I didn;t complain (typical english) but I suspect if I did they would have cook a new hot batch. A minor point but suggest you don't leave your breakfast too late.

Overall a very good experience would recommend for a short stay or business trip.

  • Liked — Staff service
  • Disliked — cool breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MPWILDEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Hotel is clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Complimentary Hot tea, coffee and snacks in the afternoon were a real treat. Unlike what another reviewer wrote, I found the staff to be VERY friendly and helpful. Booked bus travel to London for us, changed my room because the WiFi signal I had was weak, and even gave me a personal email address to send an important file I needed printed.
I've recommended other travellers from my company stay there and all have been happy.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Poor WiFi signal in rooms, no direct ethernet connection.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Spent two nights here in September and I agree with other reviewers. The hotel itself is very well appointed for shopping road networks etc, The interior is very clean and tidy and fresh looking. The rooms are the same, suprisingly quiet given the location. The downfall of the hotel are the staff, check in was an ordeal and seemed to take too long.Service with a smile did not really exist, there were a few exceptions , the barman and one waitress in the restaurant.
basically the hotel is well above average, the customer service does it no favours

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAS7578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Good, modern hotel. Excellent superior room - spacious, clean, probably newly refurbished. Very good buffet style breakfast service. All you could want for a good one night stay but why have all the staff had a personality by-pass? They perform their duties adequately but absolutely zero rapport with the paying client. So overall, OK but could move up a couple of classes with some staff training.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Have travelled to Birmingham many times but never had to stay in Solihull. Visited for two days for a friends wedding and what a delight Solihull is!

The hotel is located just behind the main shopping centre, which is a pleasant experience during the day and has a vibrant nightlife.

The hotel itself is well appointed and the rooms were clean and very presentable; a credit to the housekeeping staff.

But the whole experience was let down by very poor front of house staff and wating staff - not all were bad, but there were enough to spoil the stay. We were not sure whether we had booked breakfast or had a room only rate and unfortunately took some non commital responses as a confirmation that breakfast was included.

When we discovered that it wasn't, we were hit with a bill of £13 each for breakfast. Complaints to the staff were not met with an apology, just a brusk, well thats what you booked - even after explaining further there was no positive reponse - not even an apology.

Add this to lack lustre waiting staff and a bottle of sparkling wine that was flat and the two days were somewhat spoilt.

Would like to give the hotel a second chance, as it is clean and tidy and well located - but us Brits continue to strive to provide some of the worst customer service in the world!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Burgsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Property: Crowne Plaza Solihull
Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing