We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!!!”

Akamba Garden Centre
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

fabulous! A refreshingly, unique experience with decent food an amazing atmosphere and a great evening was had by all!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kingy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    134
    43
    22
    37
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Garden Centre with extras”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A really good combination of plants, unusual ornaments and helpful staff. There's also the option to linger longer with some great food and drink.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DellaDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham ,England
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Garden Centre with a difference”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Food and drink tables are strategically scattered amongst the plants in this fascinating garden centre, which are displayed as if in their native environment. Almost like being ion Safari!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A very interesting and different way to stop and have coffee, a snack, breakfast or even a meal! Great for parties too. Can accommodate visitors outside in the nice weather and inside with their massive heaters. Cafetiere coffee out of this world. The plants, the music, the atmosphere is delightful and a wonderful surprise for anyone visiting for the first time. There are exotic birds running round, too. Went in the rain just after Xmas last year and it was the highlight of the break from work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was an unusual garden centre”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was at one time a lovely and unusual garden centre and one we visited often but over the last couple of years plants seem not to be up to standard and seem to us not now to be their priority it seems to be all about food and music.

On our last visit there (after being very good customers for several years) a younger member of our family had a very nasty fall on the wet board walk with no warning signs of 'wet flooring'. As she sustained injury we asked for the accident book to be filled in. We were told they couldn't find one and they wrote a note on a piece of paper. The accident was witnessed by an independent customer who wanted us to take it further, but we didn't. We went back to photograph the dangerous area only to find that plants had been moved and wet signs put about. To make matters more unpleasant we were confronted by a female staff member with a terrible verbal abusive attitude problem. If this is how they treat very good customers we shall never return again and neither have our friends and family who were also very good customers and who spent lots of money in the past on palm trees, plants etc. As we left our phone number it would have been very nice for someone from Akamba to enquire how the injured person was. We to this day wonder whether this incident was ever reported to Chris the owner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akamba Garden Centre also viewed

Tanworth in Arden, Solihull
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Shirley, Solihull
 

Been to Akamba Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing