We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, very clean, good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Staff all good, rooms are clean and the pool is good for the kids. would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonbridgetourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Solihull
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,749 - 1,755 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

Plus points
New, free wifi, gym, pool, car park, clean, wide screen TV with full range of council plus channels and some sat. Sky Sports available and also in bar.

Reception is well staffed - queues clear quickly

Bar has Real Ale (2 Taps).

There is a Starbucks franchise.

Bar food til 2130 resaurant, Starbucks and Room Service until 2200

Negative -
Service is eclectic, (bar food can be 5 mins or 95 mins) i the bar and restauarnt - depends which people you get.

Only one lift so takes ages but ther stairs are located at one end of building only.

No place to rest your case in the room.

Middle of no where - about 1 mile from a model modren village (Tesco!) and 3 miles from shirley and from Solihull (Cinemas etc)

So all in all a basic hotel, that is nicly done out.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uisdean_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageSolihull, Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2010

Thank you so much for your balanced review of the hotel and for taking the time to talk about your experience on trip advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed the experience overall but very sorry that you found the food service was inconsistent. You should never have such delays for food, even at peak times.

With regard to the problems caused by only having one lift. Part of this is due to poor signage of the staircase which means most people on 1st and 2nd floor also take the lift doubling the demand for it.

We have new signage on the way which will highlight clearly where the staircase is from the bedroom floors.

In our other sites, where the staircase is located next to the lift, there is dramatically lower lift traffic. We hope, with the increased signage this will have the same effect and any prolonged waits for the lift will be eliminated altogether.

I do hope you will return again in the future.

Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed here via an offer booked on lastminute.com, which was roughly £60 inc bed and breakfast. The location was a little tricky to find however once you understand the entrances and exits to use this is no longer an issue. When arriving outside of the hotel you feel a positive presence due to the modern and chic look of the hotel. As you enter, on the red carpet, it gives you a feeling of importance. Reception, ideally located next to a small Starbucks, 2 restaurants and a wifi zone, was large and we were happily greeted by staff.
Only one lift located in the hotel, but had stairs which lead to each floor.
The rooms have everything you could ask for as well as chic and modern style interior. The double size bed felt like an orthopedic one which was situated directly opposite the 36-42 inch TV. Our room on the third floor had an Ipod dock (listen via the TV), Extra Digital TV and Radio channels, Tea/Coffee Facilities, Free Wifi (great internet speeds!!!), Great Power Shower Head, Bath, Good Size Towels, Ironing Board and Iron (don't have to request one - which we've even encountered in 5 star hotels), decent hair drier and more.
There is even a highly recommended gym which is free of use on the day of arrival as well as departure. We had a brief look at the gym and their facilities looked excellent with a personal trainer at hand - and this was a sunday!
We didn't eat at this hotel due to personal choice though we travelled to touchwood shopping centre, with only a 8/10 minute drive. Here we had a choice to eat out at a selection of restaurants, such as Jimmy Spices, Nandos, Waggamama's, TGI Fridays and many more.
The breakfast is served from 7-10 am. The staff recommend to eat before the 9 am morning rush, but we saw that even at 9 am-10 am there wasn't much of a rush.
The food selection caters to most people as there is much to choose from. i.e. sausages, eggs, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, bacon, toast, cereal, toast and a variety of jams, fresh juices, fruits, etc. This was a very good buffet style breakfast in the beautifully decorated restaurant.
We were offered a express checkout option if we wanted to leave with a speedy exit however we opted for the traditional checkout fashion.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkyandAnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Walking up to the door, the lobby is large and spacious and there's a feeling of a lot going on. I arrived late at night and still got a friendly welcome, the bar seemed to be doing good business as well.

Getting to the room was no problem, though there is only one lift, which becomes a bottleneck at busy times. This is a new build hotel - how much would an extra lift cost?

My room was fine - perhaps due to my late arrival I'd been given the accessible room, complete with huge bathroom and as many grab rails as you can handle. The only issue with the bathroom was the low mounted shower (to fit the shallow tub and stay in low reach.) However, this only came up to my shoulders standing in the bath. The shower could have been made usable for everybody by having a longer rail for the shower head all the way up and down the wall and a suitably longer hose. There are proper smellies and soap in the bathroom, in addition to the green dispenser offerings on the wall.

The bed was comfy enough and a large range of channels on the TV. I was lacking a proper desk, so no chance of serious work with the laptop - it may have been the room I was given. Also, no hairdryer - maybe n the drawer of the desk I didn't have?

Cleanliness was an issue - both of the coffee cups left were dirty - one seemed to have some powder left at the bottom and there were crumbs of chocolate on one of the bedside tables. Neither were cleaned during my two night stay - I though I would leave them to see if the cleaners picked up on it.

Breakfast was included in my rate and was the usual buffet - standard hotel quality with pale bacon and anemic sausages (they may be cooked, but just don't look appealing) and the mixture that is always put out in place of real scrambled egg,

The real saving grace - an onsite Starbucks. I like Starbucks, you may hate it, but the quad shot skinny latte gets me going in the morning. If you need to pay for breakfast, I'd head here.

Would I go again - yes, and I would hope to get a better room with better cleaning. Maybe then I would rate it 4/5.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AONE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

A great hotel, about 3 mins drive off the M42.
The room was spotless and the hotel still smelt of new carpets. The T.V you get about 50 channels which include all the sports channels. Nice and large bathroom with a power shower. Free wifi in the room which was a bonus as we used it to plan our days out.
We used the pool which was lovely only downside to the pool it shuts for kids at 17.00 mon-thurs.
We ate in the Victory pub which is on the hotel, great value. 2 meals for £13 if ordered before 6, kids meal £5 for a 2 courses and they get plenty. Friday nite they do a burger for a £1 with extra toppings 50p. Sunday's they do carling for £1.50 a pint great value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moz1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed with our three children and their grandparents in three brand new rooms in this wonderfully surprising hotel on a trip to Cadbury World and Drayton Manor / Thomas Land.

Our expectations were basic but the quality of the facilities and the helpfulness of the staff made our weekend stay an exceptional one. The full-size pool and fitness facilities were great for the kids after a busy day. We decided to have dinner at the hotel instead of in town and were pleased with both the quality of the food and the service. Breakfast fine as well.

Please be aware that the hotel is in a corporate park and not in Solihull village.

How do they do this for £59 per room per night?

We're looking for other Village Prem hotels (they are the newly built ones according to staff) for our next UK weekend trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This hotel is a great alternative to staying on Birmingham airport which I usually do. It isn't in the prettiest location but the address tells you that! A good venue for a business meeting as it's close to the M42 and airport. Well signposted and you don't have to drive through business park to get to it, you can enter around the back if you exit on the roundabout before (or after) the business park. Would definitely recommend and consider using the hotel for business purpose in future. For leisure stopovers, its a nice hotel with great facilities. Rooms are modern, spacious, comfortable and have all you need (tea/coffee/iron etc). The staff are very accomodating. Had a problem with noisy neighbours and this was quickly rectified with friendly assistance from girls on reception - changed rooms with no trouble. Night reception chaps very friendly too when I got locked out of my room after nipping out to my car! Ate tea early in 'pub' - good value for money and quick friendly service. Food not the best but it isn't an a la carte restaurant. Breakfast plentiful and hot, good variety. Busy on the Saturday morning at 0930 but there is a warning about busy times on reception desk which is useful is you're in a rush. Handy Starbucks for grabbing a coffee and to sit and read newspaper. Leisure facilities are clean, with friendly staff and pool nice temperature, Nice to have set times for kids to swim, even though I have my own it's nice to swim some lengths in peace! Would recommend this hotel, the prices are very reasonable for what you get here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
667 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,107 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
854 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: $59 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing