We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stop, short drive to airport, friendly clean and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stop, short drive to airport, friendly clean and well priced”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This hotel is a great alternative to staying on Birmingham airport which I usually do. It isn't in the prettiest location but the address tells you that! A good venue for a business meeting as it's close to the M42 and airport. Well signposted and you don't have to drive through business park to get to it, you can enter around the back if you exit on the roundabout before (or after) the business park. Would definitely recommend and consider using the hotel for business purpose in future. For leisure stopovers, its a nice hotel with great facilities. Rooms are modern, spacious, comfortable and have all you need (tea/coffee/iron etc). The staff are very accomodating. Had a problem with noisy neighbours and this was quickly rectified with friendly assistance from girls on reception - changed rooms with no trouble. Night reception chaps very friendly too when I got locked out of my room after nipping out to my car! Ate tea early in 'pub' - good value for money and quick friendly service. Food not the best but it isn't an a la carte restaurant. Breakfast plentiful and hot, good variety. Busy on the Saturday morning at 0930 but there is a warning about busy times on reception desk which is useful is you're in a rush. Handy Starbucks for grabbing a coffee and to sit and read newspaper. Leisure facilities are clean, with friendly staff and pool nice temperature, Nice to have set times for kids to swim, even though I have my own it's nice to swim some lengths in peace! Would recommend this hotel, the prices are very reasonable for what you get here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    609
    314
    151
    117
See reviews for
332
573
49
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend in November. The location is not great, on some kind of industrial complex which is diffucult to get onto and off. Once in, it appears like any other Village Prem hotel, just smaller. Having stayed at many Village hotels (as I am a leisure club member), this was my least favourite. The swimmers are visible from the industrial complex as they have put a floor to ceiling window alongside the pool, not very private or tranquil at all. The rooms are very stylish, just not entirely practical, no wardrobe etc - just a rail to hang clothes on. As it is in the middle of nowhere, it is an effort to get into Solihull/Birmingham for an evening out. The prices of food/drink in the bar are extortionate. Not stayed at any other hotels in Solihull, so this way well be the best. But I have to say I was left feeling disappointed in comparison to other Village Hotels. Style over substance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki_d_1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

we got married at this hotel and stayed for two nights along with lots of family and friends. the rooms are modern and stylish. the food is beautiful. the whole day went perfectly. the staff are very helpful and polite. all of our gueste were impressed with the hotel and we look forward to spending our first anniversary here. if i had to make a criticism- and i find it hard to- it would be that they should have a larger room for the wedding couple and bridesmaids to get ready in but other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Cold room, noisy plumbing, hard pillows, expensive food, indifferent service. Stayed here with six colleagues during January when snow was on the ground outside. The car park is pretty full in the evenings I suspect due to locals using the leisure club.

The food was good but expensive. One person had room service and paid twenty three pounds for a burger seven chips and a drink. As is becoming common they surcharge you for using a credit card instead of acknowledging that by accepting credit cards they are attracting more customers.

Colleagues who stayed on the fourth floor complained of plumbing noises all night long. The heating shut down for five hours during the night and the rooms got colder. The pillows were hard and uncomfortable.

Worst of all complaints were completely ignored and never responded to. Ignore the customers and they will ignore you, anyone remember Woolworths now?

A premier Inn is cheaper and doesn't pretend to be what it's not. Staying at this hotel was not a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arizona9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We spent two nights at the new Village Hotel at the beginning of half-term week and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The hotel is nice and new, and in very good condition. Staff were friendly and attentive and seemed to know how to look after customers. The rooms were very nice - we had a family room with truckle beds which were perfect for the kids. Super shower in the room.

The leisure complex was excellent and the pool very welcoming.

Food was good, we ate in the pub and also in the restaurant and had good meals at all times. It is not fancy food but wholesome and tasty.

All in all I would readily recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmiccollou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We were so pleased with the whole experience of staying at the Village Hotel, Solihull.
The staff, the room and all the facilities were superior to any Hotel we have stayed in and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboop69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Spent the weekend here over valentines and couldnt have asked for more.

On arrival you can see how new the place was and everything was immaculate. Took about 5 minutes to check in which was good as have experienced plenty of problems in previous hotels.

Room is self is a good size, which large wall mounted plasma screen which includes skysports and plenty of other stations. Bathroom was impressive and helped that the hotel was so new.

Went to gym twice a day during stay and was one of the best gyms i have visited (been member at Fitness First, Virgin Active, Greens and Lloyds).

Evening was spent in the Verve restaurant, we ordered £22 steak which could not have been better as was the services.

All in all i would strongly recommend this hotel, perfect location is visiting Solihull and with Stratford, Birmingham not to far away in ideal location for weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummie6741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,094 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
844 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing