We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent- Especially considering the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked 2 nights B&B to attend an expo at the NEC.

This is the second time we have stayed at an Urban Village hotel and we were left really impressed by both stays.

The hotel is ultra modern and although it is located on an industrial estate ( most of these do seem to be) it is really well appointed with amazing leisure facilities, young and helpful staff and nicely furnished room.

Breakfast was good and dinner in the restaurant was fine.

Considering the price point I really don't see how anyone could complain. As I said the location isn't the best but if its for buisness or a convenient locatation to get in an around the area I don't see this as an issue at all.

The only slight gripe was that the lift was very slow and seemed to move between floors for ages!

Overall highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westpilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,530 - 1,536 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I managed to get a great deal where I paid £55 for a 3 night stay including breakfast and use of the pool and leisure facilities for my wife and i and the 2 kids. additionally the kids ate for free.
The service was great especially in the restaurant which was quiet despite serving great food really cheap (£13 for a 3 course meal). Breakfast was plentiful with a wide range of stuff for the kids , me and my Veggie wife.
I would recommend the Village and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel is quite good, starting from reception very friendly staff, rooms quite nice. specially food is amazing in the restaurant with wonderful service, Asian Guy in the restaurant assuming (restaurant manager) very friendly and shows great hospitality made our evening special as we were on anniversary weekend, he gives us table away from crowd and complimentary drink. keep on checking is everything alright..nice gym. we will definitely come, and will eat again specially in restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank english d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

i have stayed in the village in Hull many times and have always been impressed by the facilities and the staff and service. So when i needed a stay in solihull i plumped for the village without hesitation.
The usual friendly and extremely helpful staff and modern surroundings and a nice room and comfortable nights sleep and the breakfast was of a good standard.

Now for the disappointing bits.......

I went to the bar for a drink and waited so long to get served i decided to go to the local sainsbury for drinks as it was likely to be quicker.

The room albeit the usual modern feel was very dusty and not very clean. So to sum this stay up i have to say i am still a fan of the village chain but this particular venue was let down badly by the housekeeping and the bar staffing levels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed here before and like the comfortable rooms and great leisure facilities. The food at victory pub is good though the menu options seemed more limited this time. Our son had an adult pasta meal and it was far too spicy with lots of chilli. The staff were very good and replaced the meal for a tomato sauce on request. The breakfast was good though again options seemed more limited than in the past. The pool is a real plus and the children enjoyed it though were forced to leave at 5 on the Thursday for adults (including non residents) to use and this was disappointing as we could not check in until 4pm.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 3 or 4 to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice room, although a view over carpark would have been preferable to the roof. Nice and clean, staff helpful, food good. Noise from the wedding guests on both nights resulted in waking me up during the night. It would be better to place these guests by the lifts and others well away.
Leisure centre lovely. The only thing I didnt get - the staff uniform. Jeans just dont work!!

Room Tip: Quiet room with car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ah the village hotel, I stay regularly in this hotel when visiitng the solihull area so i have a good overall experience of the place. Let me start with the positives

Staff - The staff, for the most part are excellent. Very friendly on reception and very accomodating with early check ins. this is great for me as my flights generally get in very early and it beats waiting around till midday or later for the room to become available. The restuarant waiting staff are great. very attentive, very friendly and always smiling.The restuarant manager however needs to take a leaf out of her staffs book if she insists on dealing with customers, otherwise stay out of the way in the back of the hotel managing whatever it is managers manage in hotels.I found her to be abrupt and unaccomodating with possible delusions of grandeur as she was wearing a suit and the waiting staff wear Village hotel branded jeans and t shirts. overall i would give the staff 4 out of 5. would have been 5 out of 5 only for my unpleasant interaction with the manager.

Rooms - The rooms are small and generally clean enough.There are samsung flat screen tv's mounted on the walls and Tea/Coffee making facilities.But thats about it. the upper deck upgrade comes with the full sky movies package on the TV. great if you have kids to entertain in the evening but other than that not really worth the upgrade price.Oh you also get starbuks coffee saches in the upgraded rooms.overall i would rate the roms 3 out of 5.

Leisure Center - as good as the leisure center and swiming pool areas are, there is a major downside. The center is not exclusive to guests. It is actually a gym/center for locals and this can lead to it being extremely busy on the weekends.Particlularly the pool area where they regularly host swimming lessons for locas kids etc.for this reason id drop the score from 4 to 3 out of 5.

Victory Pub - Again the downside to the victory pub is that it tends to be frequented by locals.so it can be very busy and noisy. I recall one particluar occasion where a bunch of male Village hotel head office staff were down for what seemed like a stag do. there was about 25 to 30 blokes.most of them half naked, drunk and extremely loud literally hogging the bar staff attention for the all day. i remember on one occasion it took me over 25 minutes to get a drink. surely the hotel would have a policy that their own staff are not allowed to socialise in the hotels? apparently not. I would give the victory pub 2 out of 5.

The restuarant - breakfast buffet is very nice. although they seriously need to sort out the toaster. its a problem every time i go there. takes to long and is always on the wrong setting. Breakfast can be very busy so get down early if you dont want to queue for a table. again this is not exclusive to guests and locals can come in for a full breakfast buffet for 5 pounds. i suspect thats why its always so busy. Dinner in the restuarant can be very expesnive and the menu is very limited. My adsie woudl be to dicth the hotel for dinner and head into solihull where places like zizi's,Cafe rouge,or nandos offer better alternatives to the hotel. rerstuarant overall gets a 3 out of 5 from me.

Overall its a reasonable hotel and ive had some greats stays here when it has been quiet.but when its busy with locals, residents dont really get a look in and service can turn to carnage. so its pot luck really. if it wasnt for the staff i wouldnt be staying here on a regular basis. I hope the hotel recognises what an asset "most" of them are.

Room Tip: Family rooms are on the first floor and have super king size beds. I ask for these even when travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#8 of 28 in Solihull
692 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,142 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: $58 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing