We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad night to stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Solihull
2 reviews
“One bad night to stay at this hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked this hotel on the basis that it looked good and its hidden away. I checked in late after celebrating my mothers birthday with my wife, I could see they had a function that night with everyone intoxicated. So they put us in a connecting room when I asked for a double room, I could hear everything from the next room so I asked to be moved which they did but at 3.00am a big fight happened on the floor which woke everyone up on the floor. We only got 3hrs sleep. I have to say what a waste of money but the hotel did give me £25 voucher for all the hassle instead of 75% discount. The staff were really friendly and nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Manoj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    583
    297
    146
    113
See reviews for
315
547
43
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I'd give this hotel a 4 rating for the stylish rooms, very helpful staff and nice pool but our meal in the restaurant was very poor - big lumps of gristle in the terrine, very tired condiments and disorganised service.

Our rooms were good though with nice fluffy towels and housekeeping were extremely helpful. The special offer on price was very good too.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Village is a lovely place to stay, and this was our second visit but there were just a few things that let it down and stopped it from being a perfect stay. Firstly, we were in a room on the fourth floor and for the duration of our visit the lift was out of use. There were two flights of stairs to each floor so getting back up to the room wasn't always that enjoyable. As well as this, we had booked a deal to eat in the lovely Verve Grill, but we were abruptly told that it was full. We had to eat our lovely 2 course meal in the noisy, smelly, common pub! Not much fun, we were looking forward to getting dressed up, but the pub was full of children and noisy sports on tv. Perfect if thats where you want to eat the meal you had been looking forward to, but not for two women. The bedroom was BOILING and we could not seem to cool it down because the heat came on automatically. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, as were the pillows, and the room seemed to lack a few little toiletries that you'd expect. Overall, a pleasant stay, but the evening meal was very disappointing. I had tried to book a table a few days earlier and on seveal occasions nobody ever answered the phone! Seems this place is more of a gym and pub than a hotel.

Room Tip: Open the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived on a flight from Dubai easy to find good reception staff,asked for some fresh milk for tea no problem , thank you for a lovely stay.Breakfast was good plenty of choice.Parking easy and free !! Also good wi fi.

Room Tip: Top floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owainWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business and attended an all day meeting. I found the service to be very good. The receptionists were very friendly and efficient. The waitresses in the restaurant where we had breakfast and dinner were particularly nice and made us very welcome. The lady who seemed to be in charge is excellent and clearly works very hard! The hotel itself is nice and modern and is equipped with a good gym/pool. There is also a Starbucks which is quite handy. Dinner at the restaurant was nice enough and breakfast was fine. Nothing exceptional about either though.

The bedroom was nice enough but the bathroom was a disappointment. It was designed for disabled persons which meant the sink was very low and I could not stand under the shower. I believe it is great that these services are provided but it would have been nice to have been warned when checking in. It was also a bit disappointing to find no shower gel in the wall mounted unit (very annoying mid shower!) and the toilet had not been flushed when I used it for the first time.

Overall I would say this hotel is perfectly acceptable for a buisness stay. The service and facilities are good and service very good. The food is fine. Personally I was disappointed by the bathroom but I could have just been unlucky!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrahman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a weekend to have a break with my wife. The hotel looks nice , check in time was quick and staff are friendly. Rooms are modern and clean. Breakfast was good. All our stay was relaxing and we definitly back again. I would high recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had a one night stay here this week on business. Check in was quite slow with only one receptionist on duty at peak checking in time aroung 6.15pm. Initially very pleased with my room on the 3rd floor, it was spacious and modern. On closer inspection i noticed several long hairs on the bedding and numerous hairs in the bath. Also the soap dispenser by the sink was empty, which resulted in me having to negotiate past the shower screen to use the soap by the shower. Yes, I could have called reception to get it filled but didn't bother as only staying the one night, I shouldn't have needed to anyway! I didn't use the Leisure Facilities but they did look excellent. I wasn't working next morning so got to breakfast at around 8.45am, it was then quiet in the restaurant, with attentive staff and reasonable buffet. They leave an 'express checkout' bill under your door but were going to charge £2,50 for a Credit card charge, luckily there was no queue when I checked out! Liked the fact there was a Starbucks in the lobby, I was able to get a Large Americano for the trip home. I would have rated 4-5* has the housekeeping been better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,073 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
835 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing