We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food.”
Review of The Farm

The Farm
Ranked #10 of 317 Restaurants in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant food.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my partner went here for an anniversary meal, we had 3 courses and it was a reasonable price for the fantastic food you get. The salad bar was good had plenty and was often being replenished. Mine and my partners starter and main were excellent, cooked beautifully and reasonable portion sizes. The menu is good their is a lot to choose from something for everyone even fussy eaters.

We had to wait a long time for service especially when we were waiting for our deserts (I can understand on a weekend but this was a Wednesday evening).

The atmosphere was wonderful during dining and having drinks whilst waiting for a table and the whole place is decorated uniquely and very inviting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    300
    102
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant is in an old farm barn; which has been converted into a great eating establishment. The food was excellent. My party had ribs, rump of lamb and risotto; which were cooked to perfection. A free salad bowl is available to all dinners with a good choice of salad including sweet potatoes. Comprehensive wine list, notable wines being the house Cabernet Sauvignon and Pinot Grigio Rose. Good choice of desserts, notably the cheese board - wow!

Attentive service, good car parking facilities, booking recommended, especially at weekends. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great place for both food and atmosphere. Very good selection on the menu and the platter starters were great. Really good atmosphere even for a Tuesday night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“It was okay-ish..”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

With an afternoon's shopping behind us we decided to head for a bite to eat and The Farm seemed a decent place to try as we were not far from Monkspath.

We headed through the bar to the separate restaurant which has a rustic look; the staff were young, attentive and friendly and the menu varied although more geared to carnivores than the vegetarian diet. There's lots of steaks, burgers, roast meats and chicken which all sound great but nothing really jumped out at me.

Being with a veggie we settled on a flat-bread platter topped with pesto and peppers and a sharing board of hummus, more flat-breads and grilled halloumi (which wasn't grilled but instead coated in breadcrumbs and deep fried) and other dips. You also get to visit the salad bar with a very small bowl and not much of a varied choice. It was all rather bland and beige but if you like your food fried and / or grilled then you won't go wrong.

The food was ok, nothing more. We both ate and had a drink each for under £30, so you can't complain but there was nothing to inspire me to return, if I'm honest.

Perhaps it just wasn't the place for us. We enjoy eating at the nearby Boot at Lapworth and this is part of a small group so I guess we expected the same standard of food but it didn't quite live up to it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaffsMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been here several times now, and always had a good experience. Yes, there's always something to moan about, but overall the food, atmosphere and service is above average for a pub.

The best thing is the menu... lots of different choices and not easy to produce at home. We find the portions tend to be on the large-side, but they'll happily provide a doggy-bag. Also a bit on the pricey-side. So lower prices and smaller portions wouldn't be amiss.

Definitely one of our favourite places in the area. Very relaxed and casual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farm also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Lapworth, Warwickshire
 
Balsall Common, Solihull
Claverdon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing