We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A welcome surpise”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrishQ12...
Upton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcome surpise”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely, well presented and equipped apartment! Perfect for our brief stay, but would've been equally perfect for a longer stay. Incredibly peaceful surroundings and lovely setting by the river, with direct access to the river and the Severn Valley Way. I say peaceful, but would add a caveat to that as Steve, the very hospitable and and charismatic host, also breeds rare ducks, chickens and a variety of furry four legged creatures such as rabbits etc. Whilst the furry ones are adept at maintaining the serenity, you should be warned that a couple of the Cockerels like to make themselves know and that every wild duck within a 3 mile radius pop's in for breakfast! Being country folk, this didn't bother us and was actually quite an impressive sight on opening the curtains to a sea of mallards. Nearly as impressive as watching the Steve and his beloved Shetland Pony performing all manor of 'dog-like' tricks in the pony paddock!
We didn't get chance to eat or drink in the pub/restaurant unfortunately and weren't there long enough to comment much more, only to say that Steve had left us a few essentials and thoughtful supplies (I won't spoil the surprise).
We would definitely recommend a stay here and hope to return soon.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and serenity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F9523VDba...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at these premises many many times and have always had a wonderful time.
The hosts Kay and Steve couldn't be more accommodating, the food is always outstanding and accommodation stunning.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say as it was all perfect
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
Well Barbara as allways it was a pleasure to see you both and we look forward to seeing yourself and alan in the near future.

regards
Steve & Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

To sum it up: 10 out of 10!
We stayed 9 days in the spacious and very good equiped apartement. The hosts Kay and Steve couldn't possibly be more friendly and helpful. They make you feel welcome at all time. The Pub (opened from Fri to Sun) offers delicious food and beer (Veltins) and ale (try Dodger's) and is perfectly situated at the riverbank. The pub/apartement is very secluded and therefore the quietness during day and night is exceptional. The sounds of the many animals (ducks, chickens, rabbits and a pony) which are kept by the hosts are only adding to that quietness, as they are natural.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole Q
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic break”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in the beautiful luxury apartment. It is right on the riverside.
Great walks all around. Steve and Kay who run the connected pub are fantastic and really care about making sure your break is just as you want it.
I didnt want to leave and would definitively go back again.
The pub is only open Friday to Sunday and is mainly about the fantastic food they serve. You do not have to worry about any noise issues.
Steve and Kay are animal lovers and they have many chickens, ducks,rabbits and a really sweet little Shetland pony.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekim134
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don’t hesitate in booking!”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was clean, perfectly equipped for our needs and in a perfect location. Do not worry that the apartment is out of the town as we had some of the best pub food available downstairs in Steve’s pub with excellent local beers and a friendly atmosphere. We were staying for a wedding and people who were staying in the town came out to the pub for the evening on our recommendation for a thoroughly enjoyable evening (on our doorstep!).

The accommodation, and food were exactly right, but the main reason I will definitely be returning, and recommending family and friends to stay here, is because Steve (and everyone at the Coalhouse Inn) were the most welcoming hosts you could ask for.

We particularly enjoyed meeting all of Steve’s animals!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosting skills of the owner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
819elizab...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place, great people!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had such a lovely time staying here at the Coalhouse Inn apartment. Steve and Kay are two of the most welcoming and friendly people we have come across on our travels. We enjoyed being in the company of all the ducks, chickens, rabbits and Dodger the pony! The apartment itself is great, quite spacious and airy and very comfortable and well maintained. Perfectly placed for a relaxing day by the river, or a peaceful wander around the countryside. We only got to stay the one night as we needed a stop over for the Royal Air Tattoo at Fairford, but wished we had stayed longer and will do next year!! Thanks for the bacon and eggs!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R
Nottingham
2 reviews
“Fantastic break, great hosts”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from a few day spent in the company of Steve and Kay. Great apartment, very clean and well equipped. Hosts could not have done enough for us. We were really made to feel welcome. Located directly on the banks of the river, it is the ideal place to chill out. Added attraction of the resident ducks, chickens and Dodger the Shetland pony made for a good break for the two of us. Will certainly go back. Colin & Sue

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome from Steve and Kay
Liked least: Nothing, loved it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing