We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We needed one night en route further north and picked this hotel out. It has good parking, which seems to be a problem in Tewkesbury. Our room (5) was ok. The bed was very comfortable but the over bath was a bit of a joke as there was no high point for it or shower curtain. The hotel is a bit of a warren but that makes it interesting. The breakfast was excellent. We had an evening meal from an extensive menu, and it was reasonable. Would stay again and ask for a proper shower.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your visit to us.
I will certainly look at ways to improve the bathroom facilities in room 5, which has a bath with shower attachment. For a future stay we do have 10 rooms that are just showers, so this may suit you better.
I am delighted to hear that the food and service was of a good standard, the menu is our new Winter menu, so has only just come into play.
I look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for The Bell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 548 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I read the mixed reviews of the hotel before booking but thought we've give it a chance and the parking looked good so went ahead and reserved. On arrival we couldn't find a parking place and saw that it was a pay and display lot which wasn't clear from the hotel website. Eventually found a spot at the back although it was very dark back there. Reception, lounge and restaurant were very nice and comfortable. Hotel accommodation was around the courtyard so you could either go outside and into the restaurant or walk round and go downstairs to the public areas. Our room was pretty small with only one chair and bathroom was also limited as you had to close the door to get access to the shower. There were a few cobwebs in the room one of which hung way down from the main light above the bed. Bed was very comfortable and bed linens were very white and crisp, lovely. Experiences in the restaurant were mixed from great service to pretty bad service both for breakfast and dinner. Overall a good experience but the hotel has opportunities to do better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Bell. I have discussed all your comments with the team, so that more continuity of service and standards are given to all our guests. The pay and display element in the car park does not apply to hotel guests, who stay free, but thank you for bringing to my attention that this is not clear on our website.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Opposite the church with its own free parking. It is a quaint Tudor style building. It is not elderly friendly as to get to your room there are stairs and a eaten of corridors.
The hall carpets could sure do with a clean and my bathroom had a shower that was a bit difficult to enter. Is the evening I was having a beer deciding whether to eat there or not when the waitress told another couple that there would be a 40 minute wait. The restaurant didn't look that busy.

That is all the bad comments. The room was warm, water hot, super fast wifi and the bed good. But the best of all was the breakfast. A choice that I only found in hotels of much prestige.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank BrianMeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, following your recent visit to us. I was pleased to read that your room provided all the facilities you needed, along with free Wifi. You may not have been aware, but the hotel does have a small number of ground floor rooms, meaning elderly guests have no stairs or winding corridors to tackle, and we have a collective of regular elderly guests that do come back to us time after time for this reason, and I'm sure like you they also come back for the amazing breakfast we provide - setting our guests up ready for the day ahead !
I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell in the future.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for four nights in late October, ideal location from which to explore the Cotswolds.Hotel was very good, clean room with everyting you might need.I had seen reports of poor service from other visitors, this was far from my experience. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival and the service in the restaurant was first class. A special word for young Ami who looked after us at breakfast with great efficiency.

The food was good pub grub, and the offer of two main courses for £9.99 was too good to miss.

The car park is a pay and display with residents parking free, however with building work taking place next door it was sometimes a bit tight to park but not a problem.

Overall I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Bob C,
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I have passed on your comments to Amiee, who looks after breakfast, and she was pleased to hear her service received such nice comments.
On top on this I have also shared your general comments to the rest of the team.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

But would like to stay next time.
Called in to see what it was like and we had a meal. One Roasted Cod on a bed of noodles proved to be just light enough for me and very tasty. Steak and kidney pie served with chips was delicious also and the pie was gi-normous! And tasty.
Lovely to see a big car park available for guests as we had found this a problem at the hotel we were booked in at so we are seriously thinking of giving the Bell a try next time. Only stayed for the meal but the staff we spoke to were lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments following your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back as an overnight guest on your next visit.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a Saturday and Sunday. This is an ideal place to stay to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were extremely impressed with the food and the service. A huge choice of meals on the menu - something to please everyone. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - especially Anwen. Excellent value for money. We would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again sometime in the future.
Maria O'D

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments following your visit to The Bell.
I have passed on your review to all the staff so they can read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in 2014.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Bell on our way home from Scotland. Our room (6) was in the main part of the old building and was lovely. It was "bijou" as the estate agents say but the bed was very comfortable, the windows opened and the secondary glazing cut out most of the traffic noise. The room temperature was just right - not boiling like lots of hotels but if you feel the cold you can turn the radiators up very easily. Plenty of hot water and a bath and a shower over. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, we had a slight mix up with our breakfast order but it was sorted straight away in a very efficient and affable manner. The breakfast itself was great, well cooked and plenty of it. There was a good buffet selection too. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and very reasonable. If we lived closer we would become regulars. They had 3 real ales on, Abbots and Green King (unsurprisingly) and one called The Bell which was very good. The town itself is beautiful with the very impressive Abbey opposite the Bell. Well worth a visit, both the town and The Bell.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizS_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Bell.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, including the food and our three cask ales. If your ever in the area again I do hope that you'll stop off and visit us again.
Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
941 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
524 reviews
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
261 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $77 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing