We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Swansea
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfy”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely property ideally situated ample car park staff helpful and friendly. Food well priced as is borne out by the number of locals using the bar. Breakfast ample with good selection. Room small but adequate comfy bed blissfully hot shower we will return!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    202
    127
    57
    19
See reviews for
59
318
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Paying £120 a night for B&B you have some expectations.....and they weren't met. The rooms are ok but lack any soundproofing. The towels don't get changed or even moved from where you leave them in the morning. This place calls itself a hotel but won't serve residents a drink at 11.15pm even though the bar staff are still there. It's part of Greene King's inn portfolio and does nothing for their brand......(compared to say a Premier Inn or Travelodge).......all that said, to be fair, the breakfast was better than average.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BiggestHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tewkesbury hotels

Plymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We too stayed on a special deal of £14.95 pppn and felt we had a luxury break at a bargain basement price. Friendly, efficient staff, excellent breakfast, the beautifully arranged smoked salmon was lovely, and a room in the actual hotel full of character. Yes the floorboards squeaked and the windows didnt close properly but it was worth it to stay in such a lovely place right opposite the Abbey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GibboJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a special deal. £14.95p.p. per night bed and breakfast.
Lovely old hotel, right opposite the Abbey.Lovely bedroom wih ensuite. Great breakfast, and excellent bar meals at the right prices.
Lovely helpful, smiley staff. Wonderful value. Look out for the Olde English Hotels deals, Having read some of the other reviews, think its rather unfair to critisize the rooms, it is a very old hotel, which for me adds charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a two night break recently with friends. Following research on trip advisor I asked for a room in the annex which we had. Fortunately it was upstairs and had to feel sorry for anyone in the room beneath us as the floors were really creaky and noisy. The toilet in our en suite was really noisy when flushed and made a loud vibrating noise as did the shower occasionally., the radiators were really loud when trying to sleep making a loud clicking noise, I tried turning them off but it didn't make much difference.
The log fire in the lounge looked nice but it had to be kept going by the guests as the staff didn't seem interested. Thursday was steak night but we were told by guests on our return to the hotel after a night out that they had run out of steaks. When I asked for a coffee and brandy I was told that the coffee machine was switched off and there was no brandy in the hotel. The eggs Benedict on the breakfast menu was not available during our stay as they had no hollandaise sauce and weren't expecting any from the supplier. On the positive side apart from the eggs Benedict the Rest of the breakfast choice was good and the waitress was efficient and hard working. The hotel is in serious need of a refurb, I wouldn't recommend this hotel personally.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location, shame about the room.We were on the ground floor in the annexe ( basically in the car park ).It was very noisy from the room overhead, also only looked out on to a courtyard.
The hotel is directly opposite the wonderful Abbey, pity we didn't have a room looking that way.
Also be aware, breakfast service is slow to dead slow ( not the waitresses fault, thay were great.
In a word , disappointing....but if we were in a different room ????

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at The Bell for 3 nights and i must say i was impressed. The hotel was nice and warm, very clean , and the staff were very friendly. We took our dog with us and they were accommodating. Food in the restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced.

My old negative comment was that due to the building being a bit older you do get certain noises during the night, pipes moving etc. But they were few and far between.

Location is excellent and is only a minute or two walk from the high street and about half a mile from a large Morrisons supermarket

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
497 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
478 reviews
3.9 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
720 reviews
11.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Property: The Bell Hotel
Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing