We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cream of Tewkesbury”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Recently my husband and I moved to tewkesbury and struggled to find a good place to eat.
The bell is lovely it is really classy and inviting with its character, and every meal we have had has been to a high standard as well as the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faggydoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

On behalf of myself and the team at the Bell we welcome you to the area, We look forward to the many joyful moments you will have with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for The Bell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 548 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the Bell for 2 nights as a short break with friends. The Bell is in a great location opposite the Abbey in the centre of Tewkesbury. As a bonus there is a large car park with free parking for residents. Overall, staff were fine and friendly although it appeared they could have done with a few more people as reception was unmanned and sometimes the bar was unattended for quite a while.
We had room 24 which was on the first floor. It was not a huge room but had everything you need including flat screen tv, hot drink facilities with biscuits, iron and ironing board. The bed was extremely comfortable with nice firm pillows and cosy duvet. The bathroom was fine with shower over the bath. The only problems were creaking, clicking noises every few seconds from the radiators even when turned off, and an indescribably loud noise from the toilet when flushed! Just as well the bed was so comfortable that the noises didn't keep us awake!
We ate in the restaurant on one night and the food was fine - try the sweet chilli chicken sizzler if it's on the specials board.
Overall we had a lovely couple of days and would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindiloo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, We are delighted you enjoyed you 2 night break with us, We offer our apologies for the noisy radiators, We have since had the plumbers out to survey the property and necessary works will be carried out shortly. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a deal with Tesco vouchers and stayed for two nights for £10 for two people
The hotel needs money spent on it but the fundementals were good.
Friendly staff, good reasonable food and a nice atmosphere.
We enjoyed our stay and would go again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I returned to the town of my birth with trepidation knowing that the hotels have always fluctuated in standard. Sadly they seem to be on a downward spiral. The room was for my mother who travels with a wheelchair so it has to be an hotel with a lift or ground floor rooms. We chose the Bell because it has downstairs rooms and is at the 'right' end of town - opposite the Abbey. Checking in was interesting. It took 20 minutes for the man behind the bar to have time to come and help. He was the only member of staff for the restaurant, bar and reception and, as there were loads of people in the bar he hadn't a hope in keeping on top of anything. He was very cheerful for all that and concerned about my mother who had waited in the car in sub zero temperatures.

Once we got to the room all seemed well - for the time it took to poke one's nose into the bathroom. There was a pile of old sealant in the bath topped by a chipped glass shelf and the toilet had been well used and not flushed never mind cleaned. I tried to phone reception but there was no reply which meant I had to leave mother waiting while I went back to the crowded bar and asked for the manager. Of course he was off duty and unavailable. There were no other ground floor rooms available so I agreed to take my mother out for a meal while the room was properly cleaned. When we came back it had been cleaned and the bath resealed - but a splash of sealant in the toilet bowl annoyed mum - just careless.

To give them their due we were not charged for the room and all the staff in evidence were charming and helpful. But with an elderly relative in tow it would have far better to have paid and got the service in the first place.

The Bell has suffered in the chase for passing summer trade. A vast bar and restaurant obviously bring in enough money for them not to have to bother with the hotel business. But it would make a really good hotel if anyone could be bothered to manage it properly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayerlingMignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just returned from a two night break having also gone at this time last year having taken advantage of an Old English Inns newspaper offer . The Bell was built in around 1700 and is very quirky and does suffer from draughty windows , dodgy floorboards and some suspect plumbing but this can be expected because of its age . Was allocated Room 3 which was above kitchen and had a huge comfy bed and large flat screen TV . A refitted bathroom with shower but some draught from windows and furniture was in need of the services of a French polisher or updating although this did not detract as there was plenty of storage space .
Having said all this the hospitality afforded , especially by Johnathan who is the Manager , and his staff is second to none and I had a very enjoyable stay . At this time of year there is the added attraction of a disco on both Friday and Saturday nights which all helps to keep you in the bar until closing .
Ate on both nights from the "Two meals for £9.95 menu" and both the Gammon and Fish & Chips were excellent value . Full English breakfast , or Continental if required is served in the Restaurant from 8.00am and is cooked to order and is excellent as is the fresh fruit and cereals provided on the breakfast buffet .
Thanks for a great short break and we will undoubtedly return in December 2013 .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, The kitchen team were very happy you found our food to be of great quality and value the 2 Main Meals for £9.95 is becoming increasingly popular. We look forward to your next visit in December 2013 if not sooner, Wishing you a Merry Christmas from John and team at the Bell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Are you one of those people who, like us, read adverts for fantastically cheap offers and think, there`ll be a catch to that..... Well we got an absolute bargain here. I`m sure they`ve got offers on for November and early December anyway, but we`re in English Heritage and got an offer sent through, 2 nights B & B for two for £80 ! Having been I`d say even £80 per night would be a reasonable price so we really got a bargain.
We asked for a quiet room and were put in room one which has good and bad points, though the former outweigh the latter. It`s right next to the stairs so there`s the noise of the other guests returning to their rooms, and it`s on the front so there`s the road noise too. On the other hand it`s a nice long way from the room used for the discos, and, best of all it overlooks Tewksbury Abbey, fantastic.
We ate there on one night and took advantage of their 2 mains for £9.95 (plus starters and/or sweet for £2.50 each), it was nice and an absolute bargain. The breakfast was fine too though they could do with giving out tea cosies to keep the tea hot in the tea pots !
On one night we had a medical scare (thankfully a false alarm) and the chap on the reception, originally from South Africa, was an absolute star phoning round the hospitals for us and even offering to lend us his SatNav.
Tewksbury is beautiful by the way, and quite a few other pretty towns are not far away and some (including Cheltenham and Gloucester) can be travelled to by train from Ashurch station which is only a few miles away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for leaving your review, We are happy to hear that you found the Hotel of great value, Your Central Reservations team have run the promotion for January and February so be sure to keep a look out for them. We are all very relieved everything turned out ok and the trip to the hospital turned out to be just a precautionary measure. We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year, Merry Christmas from John and all the team at the Bell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Visited The Bell in November last year. The service was terrible, management didn't seem to know what they were doing, although kitchen staff seemed to be coping despite that. Had decided not to visit again. Have read recent reviews & things seem to have improved, a change in management might have happened I think. Will see if I can visit sometime next year.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
Thank 45topchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Firstly Thank you for your review, we offer our apologies that you did not enjoy your visit with us last year, You are correct there has been a change in management since then. However we are Delighted to have restored your faith in us but revisiting, We hope you are able to visit us in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
945 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
524 reviews
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing