We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, very friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of Purple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Reviewed March 12, 2009

This hotel was ideal. Comfortable room, clean, good shower, TV, kettle. Breakfast is buffet style and there is plenty of choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is good, just of the motorway, about 1.5 miles from the centre of Tewkesbury and only 20 mins in a taxi to Cheltenham racecourse.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2009

We arrived as a family of 4 and were given a room where the heating was not working. On mentioning this to staff, they not only fixed the problem, but offered us another room which was already warm as ours was going to be quite cold for a while. Bed was a bit hard and breakfast was average, but great value overall considering it is a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangaroo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I'd looked at booking the Purple Hotel before as we have friends in Gloucester and when we visit we don't always fancy driving all the way back.

The hotel itself is just off junction 9 of the M5 in the middle of an industrial estate. Don't let this put you off!!.

We got the weekend rate of £39 for the night which included the buffet breakfast. According to their website Full English is an extra £7.95 per person although bacon, eggs, sausages and beans seemed to be on the buffet anyway.

The room itself had a large bed, TV with freeview channels, Aircon, A large shower cubicle with a seat (probably the best shower i'd had in years, turned it to the jet setting and got a massage!). Tea and Coffee facilities, clean, just lovely.

There is a small restaurant and bar downstairs but we chose to walk to the Brewers Fayre which is connected to the Premier Inn and literally a minutes walk away, Mainly because the menu appeared to be a little limited and there was a large coach party staying so they were going to get very busy!

OK its not in the middle of medieval Tewekesbury but for £39 with a great breakfast, it is total value for money!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 19Nick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Have just spent 2 days at the Purple Hotel and it was a good base to visit the cotswold villages. Room was clean and presentable and particularly liked the size of the shower cubicle. Breakfast was absolutely fine although didn't like the look of the scrambled egg which was pre-cooked. We paid £50 per room including breakfast per night through superbreaks which represented good value for money.
The hotel was a bit far to walk into Tewkesbury, which was a shame. Again, had good value meals at the Wetherspoon hotel in the main town. Worth visiting Tewkesbury Abbey.
Lovely villages to visit are Bibury (absolutely stunning) and Broadway. Going in Winter you missed the crowds so the usual suspects like Stow-on-the-Wold and Chipping Campden were reasonably quiet. If you want real Cotswold charm in an authentic mediavel tavern, visit the Falkland Arms in Great Tew.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever been to the beds are huge and was comfier than my own. The shower was a double shower with a seat, its great I want one in my house now, could have stayed in there all day. the rooms and hotel are nicely decorated, we did find the foof and drinks were quite expensive and we didnt find much to do but there is a pub with food down the road. Very happy with my stay will look for a purple hotel where ever I go.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tootsweets87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We stayed at the Purple Hotel on the night of my daughters wedding 13/09/08. We booked quite a time in advance to make sure we had a room and paid £55 for a double. We had no problems booking in, and were allocated room 008 on the ground floor close to reception. The room was very spacious and clean, with a nice bathroom including big fluffy bath towels and toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities and a decent sized colour tv. After a comfortable nights sleep we checked out with no errors to our bill. Breakfast was available if we wanted it in the restaraunt just off reception. We didn't have it because we were going back to the Hotel where my daughter was married for wedding breakfast. For one night at least i could not fault the place and would have no hesitation of using it again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank waj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

this is a new hotel and everything is in excellent condition,the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom spotless. It is situated just off the motorway but within walking distance of the town. The room was air conditioned, which was good as there was some traffic noise when opening the window. The evening menu was limited so we ate in the town, but the breakfast which was included in the price was very good. It was just right as stop over on our way home from holiday, car parking was plentiful and free.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovers426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tewkesbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
539 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Tewkesbury Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#6 of 12 in Tewkesbury
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Hotel

Address: Shannon Way | Ashchurch Rd, Tewkesbury GL20 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Purple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing