We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice to have a meal and drink.”

The Bell Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Price range: $7 - $33
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very nice to have a meal and drink.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to the bell to see if we could get a room but it is so lovely it was full.We still went there and had something to eat and drink.It was recomended to us from family members that have been many times before.It is in a good location for the river and all of the many shops and bars.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Lovely to read how much you enjoyed your visit - hopefully next time we will have room for you to stay.
Warmest regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    65
    40
    29
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Quiet Monday night, took parents and uncle out for dinner.
The young girl who took our order was new and not brilliantly trained, but she was nice and helpful.
That's where is all ended. First two things we ordered were off the menu. Then the third.....small fish....was off the menu. After expressing unhappiness about have bought a round of drinks but would have to leave as what we wanted was no longer available. They proceeded to say they could do the fish!
Wish we hadn't bothered. They'd cut a larger one in half, over battered it and over cooked it. Awful. Other meals, which were gammon were average, with over cooked eggs! My pasta dish was nice though.
On a table check, we pointed out the issues, the waiter became defensive and quite frankly, rude. No apology, no offer to change the food, nothing. Don't bother table checking if you aren't going to act on it!
There was a problem with drinks which I won't go I to, not the actual drinks, again, the service!
We should have sent the food back and refused to pay, but after a hard day moving house and the service being so slow it was now late, we really just needed to eat. We even had to have puddings make up for dinner. They were acceptable but over priced.
Had planned to go there on Sat with work friends as we are going to a service at the Abbey across the road. I have booked a table elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnytwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meals. This is not the normal standard, and looking at the date you visited seems to have occured when the kitchen was without the guidance of a headchef. This has now been changed and we are receiving compliments daily on how good the food is.
The winter menu is launched at end of October, so please do come and give us another go.
Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good value”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We ate two breakfasts and two evening meals at the bell. We had the evening meals from the two meals for £9.50 and the quality of the chicken and the ham was excellent. The eggs Benedict at breakfast was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slawston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Bell.
Great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.
I do hope that we will see you again.
Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly Truly Dreadful”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and friends have been visitors to the Bell Inn for several years now while attending the annual Medieval Festival and we have always thoroughly enjoyed our meal and surroundings. Sadly this all changed on Saturday with what can only be described as an incredibly awful experience to the extent we had no option to reject our main courses and left to seek food elsewhere. The starters were poor and in particular the prawn cocktail mainly consisted of lettuce with a few tiny prawns hiding in the depths of the greenery and as for the Welsh Rarebit, hopefully this is now off the menu but if it is not DO NOT order it, you may get a surprise you haven't bargained for. As for the mains, you could sole a boot with the steak while the salmon and accompanying veg had been micro-waved to the point where they were probably radioactive whilst you could fire the new potatoes out of a cannon.... they were that hard. The staff were duly apologetic (although service was slow as we had to ask several people several times for someone to come to the table to take a drink order) but clearly they have opted for the microwave/cheap meals option rather than the freshly cooked meals using quality ingredients. An annual tradition has sadly come to an end, we won't be returning to The Bell in 2015.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IanBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this visit.
Kind regards Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Dropped in on the off chance on Friday evening as everywhere was very busy due to The Medieval Weekend starting. It wasn't very busy so didn't know what to expect. We both chose to have the fish and chips which was very good. We thought we would have dessert but in the end didn't as we were full so just had coffee. The staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for us. All in all a very pleasant evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review
I am pleased that you enjoyed the fish & chips - one of our most popular dishes.
Hopefully we'll see you again.
kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Bell Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing