We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking back through time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Walking back through time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We came in a group and stayed for five nights at the Tudor House Hotel.

Accommodation: It was later that I found out that almost each room is different. Some are average sized while the others (especially at the Gazebo) are pretty huge. Some have bath tubs while the others have shower areas. Some have flat-screened TVs while the others, the old CRTs. But overall, I’m not complaining as the rooms are spotlessly clean, hot water on tap, and everything functional – which is all anyone would need coming from 16 hours of flight. The bed was comfortable though the pillows were on the thin side (as mentioned by some reviewers).

Facilities: This hotel is as old as it’s charming. I was told it was established in the 16th century, with dark oaks everywhere. Getting to your rooms at night can be a trifle challenging if you’re tipsy – with corridors and aisles everywhere. It was fun though. Service was great for both reception and housekeeping. The hotel is also near to attractions like the old mill factory and Tewkesbury Abbey.

Food: Made-to-order breakfasts are great. And hanging out at the Secret Garden adjacent the dining room is wonderful. The only thing weak is the coffee which tasted too bland.

Overall, the place is steeped in history and that alone lends a very special atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reincarnated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    201
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
55
280
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
torquay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 10/11th when you walk in you are overwhelmed by the dark wood and lots of it but its the charm of the tudor style of the hotel
we were allowed to check in early . the receptionist made sure our room was ready and when she showed it to us room 6 well its big beautiful .warm. well lit . huge bathroom . couch at the foot of the bed and still pleanty of room to move about . fantastic room the service was very good and very friendly nothing was trouble to anybody had a few drinks in the bar bit pricey in comparison to pubs but it is a hotel after all we didn't eat there so i cant review the food but the breakfast was lovely and pleanty of it
had a great chat with reception when leaving they showed an interest in my business( A Guest House ) this is my opinion ! its charming , warm , clean , friendly , centeraly located with free parking . what more can you want we will be going back no doubt about that
many thanks to all the staff Ann & Chris Torquay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyashfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We booked a room only 2 days in advance for 30th Dec and New Years Eve and were very pleasantly surpised at the size of the room we were given (room 16). A large room, tastefully decorated, large double shower. Constant hot water, spotlessly clean.
The hotel is very interesting, there are little rooms and corridors all over the place. We ate in the restaurant on New Years Eve which was good quality home cooking, enormous portions too. The breakfast, which was included in the price was delicious, hot and there was plenty to choose from. It was all cooked freshly, not buffet style which is often to be found in hotels these days ( no one likes a fried egg that was cooked an hour ago!). The staff were extrememly friendly and we spent a while talking to the owner who has very high standards.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to have an overnight break the following Friday. When we arrived to check in at the reception, we were greeted by the owner who recognised us and immediately gave us an upgrade to the four poster room. WOW! Room 1 was enormous, beautifully appointed, a bathroom big enough to live in, a double shower and a jacuzzi bath big enough swim in. What a lovely surprise. We were so pleased with the upgrade we decided to stay an extra night.
This weekend is a particularly quiet one so soon after Christmas and New Year so there is no way we would expect an upgrade every time, but we will definitly be going back again. All the rooms are of a high standard and the staff are so friendly. (The barman even nipped out to the shops to buy limes especially for us to have in our g and t's instead of lemons, how about that for service?)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Tudor House Hotel to celebrate our 21st Wedding Anniversary - the Hotel is fascinating - it has a long and interesting history - the Room was good (shower, no bath), the Bar and Bar Meals were excellent, as was the English Breackfast - we did need to ask for Tea (see an earlier review), and for directions to the Car Park on arrival as it was not clearly signed, but never the less we would thoroughly recommend this Hotel. Tewkesbury itself is well worth a visit. The only real negative was the thin-ness of the Pillows, which really should be better, but to be fair, when we asked for two more they were immediately supplied. We hope to return - an all round good experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2008England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Lovely Hotel, friendly welcome, excellent breakfast and very good waiting staff
Evening meals, excellent food and very good value. Again bar staff very helpful.
The only very small negative is on checking out.
Our room had been pre-paid so nothing to settle. Person on reception was on the phone and instead of asking me to wait or ask person on phone to hold he tried to handle both and as a result did not even thank us for our custom just held out hand for keys and that was that, rather rude I thought!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

You couldn't fault this hotel. Beware if you eat there, the food is good but the portions are huge. definitely not for slimmers !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metro940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Have just spent 3 nights at Tudor House. Booked in the morning, arrived in afternoon expecting maybe a pokey room as a last minute option. What we were met with was a very friendly and efficient receptionist who directed us to our room (18). This was at the back of the Hotel in the Gazebo. Large spacious and spotless room overlooking the River Avon so we could watch the fishermen and narrow boats etc. We ate in the Hotel restaurant in the evening and it was excellent quality, well presented and plentiful. Breakfast was cooked to order if you had the full english, with cereals, fruit juices, grapefruit and fresh fruit all available. Cannot fault anything about this Hotel. Thanks to all who made our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron.irim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing