We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One knight in Tewkesbury....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, Staffordshire
1 review
“One knight in Tewkesbury....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

On first viewing the Tudor House Hotel you are immediately struck by the character of this lovely historic building. As you wind your way to reception you can sense the atmosphere of the past, this is accentuated by the knight in shining armour standing sentry on the staircase. We were welcomed by the new proprietor in a warm and friendly manner befitting of the surroundings and taken to our home for the night.

Overlooking the secret garden, our room (no 9) was spacious, beautifully decorated and without a trace of dust or dirt anywhere. The original oak beams and fireplace were in keeping with the hotel's character and the bed was both comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was equipped with an excellent walk in power shower and was sparkling throughout.

All the staff were very friendly and the hotel bar was welcoming with a mixture of locals and hotel guests. The hotel is situated in a central location on the High Street within walking distance of all of Tewkesbury's attractions. The rear of the hotel has a pleasant outlook over the river. Also situated at the rear is the hotel's car park which could be an issue when the hotel is full. We were lucky to get the last space however there were others who arrived after us who struggled to park.

We did not eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening, however the menu looked excellent and quite reasonably priced. In the morning we were served a full english breakfast in the dining room which we both enjoyed. Again the staff were very attentive and friendly. We had a lovely night here and would recommend you give it a try if you are planning a stay in Tewkesbury.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meandhim13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    199
    68
    29
    20
See reviews for
55
278
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed last weekend for a friends wedding and loved every minute of our stay at the Tudor House Hotel. Our room was a little bit small but perfectly adequate for us. Tastefully decorated with a comfy bed that was big enough to get a good nights sleep. The bathroom was one of the nicest hotel bathrooms we've ever had! it was clean and fresh with a fantastic shower!
There is also flatscreen TV's in the rooms with freeview so lots of channels to keep you entertained at bedtime!

Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal! this was great for a walk after breakfast.

Breakfast was lovely and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

No complaints at all! can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romais85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here twice with a business colleague. It was reasonably priced at about £50 each. It is a nice old building but rooms are furnished in a modern style, and nicely finished. Ihad a single room which wasnt a bad size as such. Check in was a bit slow and cumbersome, and the second time we stayed there my colleague was charged twice for his room (he paid on departure despite the fact he'd already paid when he booked). We didnt eat here in the evening but did have a pleasant couple of pints before we went out to paint Tewkesbury red! Beer was excellent. Bar was used by locals (always a good sign) and the barstaff were pretty friendly to the locals, but a bit less welcoming and chatty to residents, which I suppose I sort of understand, or maybe not.
We also managed, as residents, to get a late beer when returning from the nightlife of Tewkesbury, which on a midweek night after 10pm actually seemed to consist pretty much of us. Tewkesbury is a nice place, but not very lively during the week. Don't get me wrong, I am the wrong side of 45, but I did find it a bit too quiet for a night out on the beer.
There is a great chippy down the side street near the hotel, which does a good bag of chips and mushy peas at about 10.30 (latest).
Breakfast was nicely presented in the hotel, but after asking me if I wanted a slice of fried bread, it was noticably absent when my breakfast arrived - bad for you anyway, yeah I know! I guess maybe we'd have felt a bit warmer towards the hotel had wehad an evening meal there too, but I left the hotel knowing that if I ever returned they wouldnt remember me.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

My wife and I visited the Tudor house hotel Tewkesbury and we were delighted that we have chosen this hotel which is a charming 16th century building full of character with modern facilities, situated a very convenient location. The room which overlooked the river was spacious and comfortable with modern amenities with a large en-suite shower room. The management and staff were both courteous and helpful and the catering faultless. Overall our stay was a very enjoyable experience and would definitely return we would also highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

It makes a very pleasant change to stay at an hotel that has so much character in every room. It adds to the charm of a place which has strong associations with Cromwell and Charles II. No chrome bars and furniture or endlessly long corridors here just rooms with oak beams and a sense of history wherever you look. None of this is at the expense of comfort and service which was certainly in the four star bracket.

The breakfast was served promptly and freshly cooked. The rooms were clean and our room had a shower and a bath - tub if you come from elsewhere! Well worth stopping here for a few days - and don't miss a visit to the cathedral.

Remember, though, there is no elevator and it can be a little noisy with late night drinkers sitting on the patio close to the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We had two nights at the Tudor House, booked on the net, and what good judgment it was! My wife was recovering from surgery, and a very suitable ground floor room was found. Smaller portions of meals were provided graciously, and at all levels the staff were anxious to please their various guests.

We cannot rate the value, as it was a present.

The location is great, and in a town brimming with oak timbers the restored building held its own among the ancient monuments on the main street. The food was good, and served either in the (oak-beamed) restaurant/bar, or outside where the sun set over the canal and watermeadows.

Hardworking management, and it paid off.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

This hotel comes highly recommended. Old beams and quirky features provide a breath of fresh air compared to the endless corporate hotel chains that are so popular these days.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had our room upgraded...wow fabulous room, huge room with comfortable bed, plasma tv on wall and plenty of hanging space in wardrobe.Large bathroom with power shower and toiletries.Full english breakfast was delicious served in another room full of character.Very central for high street and river and is a lovely central base to stay to explore the many surrounding attractions in this area.We had fabulous weather and enjoyed the clean and well layed out beer garden to the rear of the hotel overlooking the canal.We would certainly have no hesitation in returning to this charming hotel. Well done to all the staff who made this a relaxing enjoyable weekend break for us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobnobsryummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing