We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Thetford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of charm”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the Tudor House Hotel. It has lots of charm and is very well situated. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome. Ate in the hotel on our second night and the food also was very good. Breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and of a high standard. Bed was very comfortable and shower was really good. Would happily book again and would recommend to anyone staying in Tewkesbury.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn13400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    201
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
55
280
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for one night when to break up the drive down to Cornwall, loved the 'old world charm' of the building, yet our room was light, airy, lovely decor, luxurious bed and bedding, overlooked the river. Enjoyed a couple of drinks on the terrace and a lovely breakfast. Have to mention the staff, who were so friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Wetherspoons hotel on our return journey, such a disappointment, we really wished we had booked this hotel instead!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed two nights in room 2 which had a nice view across the car park to the river. It was quiet, clean and although a small shower room, it was adequate. The bed was very firm and the duvet too small. I would love to be let loose with some walllpaper and, paint, that is all it would need to spruce up this lovely old buiding and rooms. The bar area is OK and, the food too, reasonably priced. Would recommend their enormous home made short crust pastry pies. We loved our stay in Tewksbury and the surrounding area and The Tudor was very convenient to do this. The car park can be busy as it is not large but the staff helped when there was a problem. Breakfast is OK but nothing special with serve yourself coffee nicely stewed in a large thermos! All in all value for money at £62 B & B, Really nice staff. Would we return I dont think so, I might pay that bit extra for something a bit more up market.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Comfortable room and friendly staff and it is good value when compared with the budget chains. However, Relaxinnz are marketing this as a boutique hotel which it isn't and this is reflected in the price. The rooms are quite tired and need updating and there is little information about the hotel and its service including mealtimes in the guide left in each room. Evening food is overpriced but the hot food at breakfast is excellent. What a pity this is spoilt by plastic glasses for fruit juice and all cereals, preserves etc pre-packaged which is more like the budget chains!This will not stop us visiting again in future as we like the location but the marketing strategy needs re-thinking.

Room Tip: Some of the rear rooms overlook the car park but also have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colstongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 18. Great room, great views. Highly recommend the friendliness of staff, very comfortable hotel, and the food second to none......We found the hotel was very homely and comfortable.

Room Tip: Recommend 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrics84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter after a show at 3 counties showground. From the start the place was perfect - very friendly welcome, comfortable room and lovely old building. We were in room 3 which is on the first floor. Breakfast (included in the price) was excellent - full English for me and Eggs benedict for my daughter. Very reasonably priced. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I loved this place, as soon as we walked in we were met by Pam the Manager. She showed us to our room and we were very pleased with the outlay of our room which was room 8. The outside of this building as well as inside was kept in the times of Tudor. The staff were very friendly and happy to help us, and that reflected upon the customers were happy too. The food was A star rating everything well presented and cooked from scratch. Portions of the food were plenty. We only stayed for 1 night but, will return again. Parking to rear of the property which was not a problem. Many thanks to Kirk who was very attentive to us and Pam Excellent service. Next time we will book a long weekend. Many Thanks Tracy and Ian Davies. Xxx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracydavies20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
846 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
462 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
788 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing