We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Scary Ghosts”
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No Scary Ghosts”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and did not see or hear any ghosts - even though it's a very old building with lots of creaking boards and crooked walls. We moved rooms after the first night - because we arrived a day early so had a room other than the one we had reserved. Both rooms were of a good size, with comfortable bed and central heating (it was still cold), and an adequate en suite. Our rooms were quiet, they did not overlook the high street, which may have been noisy. Breakfast was ok. On site parking is available behind the hotel. The hotel is in a good location at one of the high street. We did not use the restaurant, because were visiting relatives in the town. We would recommend this hotel if you want to be in the town - it's reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: We suspect rooms at the front of the hotel may be noisy , as they overlook the highstreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two-Grey-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    205
    70
    30
    21
See reviews for
55
286
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a four night stay in room 20 (the four poster room) upon our arrival the staff were very friendly and let us into our room early as we arrived at 12:30 and we should have arrived after 14:00.. We were not shown to our room, just given the key and told it was adjacent to the car park.
The room was not in the main building but in an annex on the car park, which we were not expecting, it was very quiet, but the room was in need of good dusting and it was not hoovered at all during our four night stay,
The room itself was depressing devoid of any decorative features, the canopy on the four poster bed was hanging off on one corner, the person on the left hand side of the bed had the view of the TV completely cut in half by the pillar of the four poster, one of the bedside lights did not work (it was not the bulb as I tried it in the other lamp and it worked) but it has a nice view over the river.
The handle on the bath was missing leaving two studs sticking out which if you caught yourself on it could cause a nasty injury. also there are no surfaces or shelves in the bathroom for your toiletries etc.
There is no Internet connection at all in the Annex but there are lots of plug sockets.
Outside the main entry door to the annex was a container full of cigarette ends which emitted quite a stench and looked very unsightly and was not emptied during our four night stay. The guttering above the entrance to the annex was blocked and when it rain it was like walking through a waterfall.
Whilst we managed to park our car on the car park there is not enough places for everyone when the hotel is full and is very tight.
All aspects of the breakfast were excellent including service, presentation and of course food.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frankstretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We landed here around 8.30 pm on a Friday night for an impromtu and unreserved evening meal. Our meal order was taken by a very charming girl, our drinks order by a very charming barman. The beer came quickly, but the food took an age, well past 9 p.m. we waited so long that we were past it. A shame really as the food was quite good. I had the pie of the day, which was delicious. The rest of our party had fish and chips, which looked ok! But evryone suffered with their appatites. The beer which was HPA was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drusiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is historic building, right in the heart of Tewkesbury.has a traditional, friendly atmosphere, with helpful, efficient staff. Ok, the parking wasn't easy - the tiny back-street parking was full and we ended up on-street, about 100m away, but this was free and until 10:00am, and staying central meant we could spend the evening exploring this lovely town. The bedroom was comfortable and very clean, with excellent TV & wonderful walk-in power shower. Our room was right over the bar and overlooking the main street, but we had no problems with noise. The restaurant serves excellent traditional bar food and more exotic meals at very reasonable prices and the breakfasts (with a choice of full English, smoked haddock & scrambled eggs, vegetarian sausages and more) were very good, apart from the most awful pork chipolatas! If you fancy going out to eat, Tewkesbury has some great tea rooms and restaurants.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, with different size, facilities and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifytyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to visiting the Malvern Show. The room was in need of attention - TV had no signal, over-basin light did not work, window blind in bathroom quite difficult to operate (essential if you did not want to be viewed by them over the road). But the staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was very adequate. Car parking a bit limited but there were enough spaces for the residents. I wonder how many cars were not those of residents!

Lovely position by the river. Central to town and what a character building! It was a joy just to look at it, both inside and out. We only counted 2 impressive staircases but there might well have been more. Good reception area. Bar was a bit 'pubby' for a hotel, but there were a couple of cosy snugs for those who wanted to be intimate.

Room Tip: River view would be best (but were there any?). Avoid those overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugosaplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at the Tudor House to link with visit to the Spring Garden Show at Malvern which is about 20 minutes away. Met all expectations give reasonable price and previous reviews. Charming old beams add to appeal.
One disappointment was the breakfast which had a limited choice and was not nicely presented. Condiments in sachets and a rather spartan buffet. Just a little more effort on presentation would have made a big difference. Lots of alternative restaurant and pub choices along the High Street, Barton Street and Church Street.

Room Tip: Room 30 is a quiet twin room at the top and rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazJackSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked in for 4 nights. Very comfortable and relaxing stay. Room was very spacious and staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed some nice ales in the bar. Would be very happy to stay again and will do so

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing