We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely period hotel with fantastic staff and beautiful rooms”
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This lovely rustic hotel in the heart of Tewkesbury was the ideal spot for a romantic night with my man, who travels a lot with work. Generally speaking he hates hotels (he spends a LOT of time in Travelodges) but he loved this hotel and really relaxed. We had lovely views over the river and a beautiful well equipped room, which was absolutly stunning and the details in the decoration were perfect. We didn't eat there although I'm sure that the food would have been lovely. The staff were all very friendly. The only slight issue was with parking, no fault of the hotel but there was not much parking and I managed to reverse in to a very tight space whilst my partner had to go and park out on the main road. We will definately be coming here again, fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 559 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank HerrWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The paint is a bit tired, but the staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived a day earlier than we had booked after messing up the dates on Booking.com. We were not turned away although the hotel was almost full, but were accomoodated in the disabled suite for the first night, then moved to The Tudor Room overlooking the flood plain on the second night,

Good things - staff very helpful and friendly; good bar with good beer; excellent breakfast; excellent location 5 mins from city centre.

Less good - bathroom a bit scruffy, though clean; no electric points near mirros for heir driers; rock hard pillows; kettle would not fit under tap so had to fill with glasses of water; no convenient points to charge kindles, iPads or phones.

But all at a fair price so fine for the not over picky visitor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed last night & would highly recommend this hotel.
We were greeted by the owner of the hotel, so friendly nothing too much trouble.
We were shown to our room which was full of character, massive room, modern ensuite, and well equipped.
The whole hotel is spotlessly clean , breakfast was good & again fantastic service.

Will definately stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this atmospheric hotel Friday to Sunday (25th to 27th January 2013). What a great break. It was to celebrate my partners birthday and was booked as a surprise. She loved everything about the place. All the special requests were honoured and Pam the new person in charge (with her husband David who we did not meet) went out of her way to make us feel welcome and happy. Her attention to detail is superlative. Room lovely and out of the ordinary, food very good, breakfasts were excellent and location is brilliant to explore this ancient place. Look up the Black Bear pub down the road. Both places are reputed to have ghosts. Will come back for certain.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building and request a room with beams. Oldest part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent a few days in this hotel over the festive season.

This hotel is steeped in character it is 600 years old.

The accommodation is beautiful the room we had, showed bags of character and had the most amazing working fire place I have seen

The history of the town makes this perfectly situated for the Abbey which is a stones throw away

The food is not normal pub fair this is all prepared freshly everyday and to order

Have not tasted a burger that good in a long time. First class 10 put of 10

Staff and management are helpful and friendly and the bar area is also very friendly and inviting. This place is ideally situated in the town centre for all local amenities

We believe new managers took over in November, they have done a very good job of making this an inviting place to be


Highly recommended will definetley be staying again in the future.


Well done David and Pam hope to see you both again on our next visit to your lovely quaint hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmackinnon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a stay at this hotel over the new year holidays. What can i say, fantastic! Firstly, what a breath of fresh air to get some fresh, well prepared food at the in house restaurant. Most hotels like to throw out any old rubbish, not this hotel!!!!! Food 5 out of 5!!
The bedrooms are full of character and unique to wherever they are situated within the hotel.
This hotel would also make for a perfect base to use to explore the surrounding areas.
Overall, staff very helpful, warm and friendly, cracking food and superb setting!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
1,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
585 reviews
16.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,121 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $81 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing