We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Recently stayed here with my partner as a treat for my birthday, we had the superior four poster bed room. We loved it; it was spacious, bed was very grand and sooooo comfortable, it had a bathroom to die for! huge spa bath complete with plenty of lighting options to create that romantic mood! The rest of the hotel was real oldy worldy and created a lovely atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and polite and we had a great full english breakfast. I wished we'd been staying longer. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Seems very quite in back rooms away from high street, Go for the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    206
    73
    30
    22
See reviews for
55
291
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for a two night stay for New Years Eve and New Years day.
On arrival the Hotel looked very regal from the outside, very oldy worldy, and it didn't dissapoint when we entered the reception.
It is a very well kept but very old Hotel, the rooms all vary in size as there were ten of us staying, we all had very different rooms, but very spacious , with wonky floors , which adds to the character of the Hotel.
The breakfast was good, the only down side, the owner didn't seem to want to keep the bar open late on New Years Eve , and as we didn't get in until 1.30 am , we were really surprised to find everywhere in darkness, and everyone we assume in bed.
We were under the impression that if you were guests you were always , or should be able to get a drink , but in this case they obviously thought maybe 1.30 am was late enough. Shame as I said there were ten of us in our party, so I guess it was their loss.
Also the lights in the bathroom could do with being a little brighter, but overall a really nice Hotel, especially for the centre of Tewkesbury, and yes we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bblowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

we chose this hotel because it was not far from cheltenam races, when we arrived i was given the room key, for aroom outside the hotel opposite the kitchen no 41, this room was very small and noisy, looked nothing like any of the pictures on the website, a standard room, the carpet was dirty and need of redecorating, it really was not worth the £80 we paid, this room should be offered at a lower price. the breakfast was ok nothing special, not once did we get asked if everything was ok, and did we enjoy our stay. will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room in the hotel, and not room 41 in the backyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie23Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Tired and weary on way back home to Derbyshire on Sat 5th Nov. Booked in on off chance and got a warm and jovial welcome.
Girls on reception read our requirements perfectly and put us in very comfortable, spacious room with undulating ceiling, wonky floor and big soft bed. complete with disco bathroom (duff bulb) that gave us a laugh as we attempted to shower.( Psyco revisited )
Staff directed us to a great little Vietnamnese reastaurant for a very tasty meal.that was litterally a stones throw away.
After a good nights sleep and a very well presented hot breakfast we checked out to stroll round a few sights of Tewksbury then resume our journey home, saying that we must call here again.
Would recommend this excellent hotel as a great stop over full of english history and everything that is good about England.

Charlie & Jessica

Room Tip: room nine. quirky but spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chh137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The hotel is full of character with an assortment of bedrooms. The restaurant serves pub standard food and breakfasts are reasonable. It takes 5mins to get onto the M5 by car. Overall the Tudor House Hotel is fine for a 1-2night stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86HFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed at the Tudor Friday to Sunday with my partner and we had a great time! On arrival we were given a beautiful room, Number 9, Lovely sleigh bed with a iron fire place, It was so comfortable and very luxurious! Whilst we were there I also asked for a show round of the "Honeymoon" suite room 1 (Because I am nosey like that) and it was just stunning, A huge room with a four-poster bed and a lovely bathroom, with shower and Jacuzzi bath!
The Breakfast room is lovely and the hotel staff are great, My partner is a tad fussy on what he likes for breakfast and the staff were so accommodating!
We also had dinner in the restaurant one evening, I had the Steak which is from the local butcher and the Chef made me my own Stilton sauce to go with it even though it was not an option on the menu, It was heaven!
The staff are all lovely there and we couldn't of felt more at home and looked after, The hotel is steeped with History and the rooms are all beautiful, So much so I am seriously considering another visit soon and maybe holding a small family event there, They have an outside area called the secret Garden which would be ideal, I have added some photos for all to see!

Room Tip: Room 9!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliefelstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This inn is charming and the price was fair. Tewksbery is a mid-sized town a short driving distance away from the "darling" Cotswolds villages. As a result, shopping for anything from bottled water to fish and chips is much less. The Tudor House Hotel has a warm and friendly staff. They were very helpful and accomdating. The food in the restaurant/bar was well prepared and had huge porportions. Dinner prices were a good value too. My only complaint was that the mattresss and pillows were the cheapest quality possible. I stayed four nights and enjoyed my time but I do believe they need to upgrade the bedding. I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a small "gazebo" building of about 4-6 units. It was quiet but didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
881 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
720 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing