We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Wonderful location, good food, great service. And what an fascinating old building.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_B4448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 550 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed for one night, in Room 6 at the front of the hotel. We were slightly concerned by the fact that the room was facing the main road, but the secondary double glazing kept out traffic noise and we had a peaceful night's sleep. The room [a superior double] was spacious, beautifully decorated, with a small settee, period furniture, large flat screen TV, and numerous light fittings, including a very swish chandelier. My wife thought the curtains and soft furnishings were high quality and matched the paint scheme exactly. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom [obviously recently refitted] was of modern design, with a shower over the bath and a glass shower screen, with fully tiled floor and walls. Tea/coffee and biscuits were provided. Everything was spotlessly clean in both rooms - it was clear that the cleaners took a pride in their work. This cleanliness extended to all the public areas, with polished floors, and sparkling brassware.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and accomodating. Our check-in was efficient and quick, and we were personally shown to our room. We had pleasant conversations with a variety of the staff from receptionists to the housekeeper.
We ate in the bar/restaurant in the evening. The food was not haute cuisine, but it was good, hearty english fayre. I had tiger prawns in garlic to start, my wife had home made tomato soup. We both had gammon for mains. I had a bread and butter pudding. It was all very good and reasonable cost. The breakfast was excellent - a perfect 'full english' and a good choice of cereals/toast etc. The serving staff for both meals were first class, attentive, efficient and friendly.
The hotel itself is one of the oldest buildings in the town, with Jacobean decor, wood panelling, sloping floors, and bags of character. We loved it.
All in all, a good choice of hotel. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

When we checked in, we were told the room had been upgraded to a room with a four poster bed, which was a lovely surprise. Our room was was spacious and had a large wardrobe, a two seater sofa and a table with two hair backed chairs. The view from the window was lovely as it looked down onto the river. The bathroom was clean and was tiled all over.
The evening meal in the restaurant was good ( we both had steak which was cooked to perfection.) The staff were polite and friendly and as soon as my husband finished his drink the barman refilled it !
Breakfast was in a beautiful wood panelled room and again the staff were friendly. We both had a full English, which we both enjoyed.
Overall we both enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed one night at this delightful Hotel in the center of Tewkesbury and what a treat it was. Our room was beautiful [no7] with a stunning comfortable bed that fitted the 500 year old history a treat. As you go up the stairs have a look at the smaller staircases and landings with coloured glass panels glorious oak beams everywhere, it is a sight to be seen!
Breakfast had plenty of choice all freshly cooked again in a lovely room with oak paneling on the walls, a decorative ceiling and a big old fireplace which must look lovely in the colder weather.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the whole experience was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Museum opens at 12 or 1 until 4 depending on day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandraedwards30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Bartender, Greg, very knowledgeable about beer, the staff is very accommodating, food delicious, and the hotel is beautiful and comfortable. WIFI access. Please give our best to the 'town crier' and uncle Dave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynPA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Tewkesbury has its wonderful mediaeval abbey and the Tudor House Hotel and not much else other than a plethora of of charity shops. My wife and I went here to visit the Abbey.

The Tudor House Hotel is very good - the rooms are exceedingly comfortable and very quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is plentiful. There is good parking at the rear of the hotel. It is right on the High Street some ten minutes walk from the Abbey.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

On arrival we were upgraded from a double to a family room at no extra charge. The staff were friendly and very helpfull, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is stunning with many period features. It does have a central location on the High Street so there is some traffic noise if your room is at the front. The rooms were clean as was the bathroom (with shower) we were not brave (or hungry enough) to try the full english breakfast as the portions are quite substantial. We would definately stay here again. My only negative comment would be that although clean the carpet was quite stained and in need of cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
988 reviews
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
565 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $75 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing