We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Great Wall

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Great Wall
Ranked #30 of 80 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
newton abbot
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the best Chinese Restaurant (or takeaway) I have ever been to. Fantastic food, great family run restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble. My youngest daughter likes Chow Mein without the onion and beansprouts, not a problem all cooked fresh and served beautifully, and so much. The complimentary fruit salad was brilliant and all fresh fruit. Quality Street handed round at the end of the meal. Cant rate it highly enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilnclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    6
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scarlet 1950”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to the great wall in Tewkesbury with two other couples to celebrate my partners birthday, we had a good welcome, the food was delicious and the service excellent. This is our second visit to this restaurant, and we will certainly go there again when we return to Tewkesbury.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarlet1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not great setting but FANTASTIC food, very welcoming staff and even a chocolate to finish. The best Chinese restaurant I have visited.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceejay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

While staying in the town for a few days my wife and I decided to try the Great Wall.

As is often the case in our experience, the decor felt a little tired. We had also seen some reviews that made us feel a little apprehensive.

However we really had nothing to worry about.

The waiter/owner greeted is courteously and then came to take our order. With my wife's starter he suggested a variation on her choice (adding to it rather than changing it) - a very successful suggestion it turned out to be!

When we ordered our main courses, he again intervened by suggesting that perhape we had ordered too much and would enjoy our meal more if we had noodles with beansprouts rather than a full blown chow mein. Another very sensible suggestion as it turned out that we struggled to finish our choices even then!

We were asked if we wanted desserts and/or coffee which we politely declined as we were so full. So instead they brought us a complimentary sizeable bowl of fresh fruit salad (strawberries, grapes, banana, kiwi, pineapple etc) and to accompany the bill they brought is a tin of chocolates to choose from!

All in all to us it was a classic example of why you should never solely judge a place by appearances as it really was an excellent meal and we would happily recommend it to others who enjoy good chinese cuisine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwoAllens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite chinese!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been going to this restaurant for years - it's my favourite chinese. Great food, good prices and lovely staff. Definitely one of the best restauarants in Tewkesbury.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lowLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Wall also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing