We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way.....we didn't want to go...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Mews

The rear of the property from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of the property from the garden
South Facing walled garden with built in BBQ The kitchen with antique pine table and chairs for 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
The rear of the property from the garden
South Facing walled garden with built in BBQ
The kitchen with antique pine table and chairs for 6
The lounge with two sofas and an arm chair
huge wood burner in the lounge for cozy nights in
The main bedroom
Main Bedroom
En Suite for double bedroom
Family Bathroom with huge double ended bath
Bunk bedroom with its own sink
Bunk Bedroom (full size single beds)
Church Street, where the property is located
River Avon, moments from the mews
Tewkesbury Ham in the frost
Tewkesbury Abbey
Tewkesbury Abbey
View from the top of Tewkesbury Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Redpanda2...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.....we didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We just came back from a weeks stay at the lovely Mews Cottage, and what can I say? Well, we were all down in the dumps to be leaving, and we literally couldn't have had a better time anywhere, for any money, it was just great!
We hadn't travelled a huge distance to get there compared to some (under 2 hours), nonetheless, after being in the car for that time,and being a bit weary it was all very painless getting into the property, quick and easy!

I can't say enough about how nice the cottage was. I have never stayed in a cottage before, and we did it mainly for the convenience of bringing our dogs. To be honest, even if we didn't have dogs I don't know why anyone would choose a cramped B&B over a lovely cottage like this. Anyway, I was amazed at the finishing touches....nice TV's in every room, lovely towels, bath robes, wine, even dog bowls.....you wouldn't find that in a hotel! It was very quiet and easy to sleep there, and I found the bedroom really light and airy with the lovely sash windows.
We took full advantage of the wood burner, though we did buy our own logs as we couldn't get the ones in the yard to burn.....probably us being inept though!

Tewkesbury itself is very pretty with excellent walks. We walked round the park, along the "battle trail" and around the ham many times with the dogs. The Abbey is very nice, though we didn't climb the stairs to the top. There are lots of shops and pubs just outside the property, and you will have pretty much everything you need to hand...and just 5 minutes drive away is a big Morrisons, which you can stock up in, if you need a larger shop.

We were slightly dissappointed with the local food options...we had one Chinese takeaway, which was very expensive for what you got, we tried 3 different pubs, and at best it was average. We didn't find a "wow" pub or restaurant, as we expected to.
It wasn't the end of the world though, as the fantastic kitchen means you are more than equiped to rustle something together, or go and get some M&S meal deals, as we did! BBQ's in the Summer would be ideal out in the back yard too.

Our fave pub was the Nottingham arms. Such lovely staff and friendly customers, and they fell in love with our dogs, and when we went in without them one night they were slightly dissapointed that they weren't joining us ! :)

We had a very full week, as were lucky with the weather...We visited many Cotswold villages, my favourite being Broadway. We also went into Stratford on Avon, Cheltenham and Worcester. We had a cracking walk with the dogs up to the Malvern Hills, which I would really recommend, the views from the top were great, and it wasn't too challenging a climb. Some days we didn't go out in the car at all, but made ourselves at home locally, and went for long walks or a wander around the shops, which was nice too.
That is another good thing about this property...it is so close to everywhere....I don't think we drove more than half an hour at one time to get anywhere, sometimes it was a lot less.

I could go on forever, but I won't! We are returning in June, and have already decided that we intend to return at least twice every year. So much less hassle than going abroad, especially when you have animals to consider. Who needs Greece when you have the Cotswolds!
Thanks again Alex

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The room and facilites at the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceejay60
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location close to town centre. Very quiet with good parking. Enclosed garden/patio very safe for children. House well equipted.
Ideal for visiting Coswolds and easy access to M5.
Second bedroom has bunk beds which our children loved.

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnchris...
Bunbury W.A
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent holiday accom”
Reviewed October 19, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Great little town, great holiday apartment, great people.
We thoroughly enjoyed Tewkesbury and the accommodation was lovely. It had plenty of room and bathrooms were very nice. With every possible thing we required supplied.

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The address which was in the main street
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage base to explore north Cotswolds”
Reviewed August 17, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely cottage for one week and it was a great base point for exploring the nearby areas. There were 6 of us (including 2 young ones) and there was plenty of space, and having 3 toilets (2 showers) we never felt cramped like I was expecting. The rooms were all a good size and the sofa bed in the living room was very easy to fold in and out daily. The stairs seemed quited steep at first but neither the kids or my grandparents had trouble with them. The back garden is also spacious and was great for the kids to play out there. They loved the playhouse and as someone mentioned, Dexter the cat was a regular visitor. Its location is perfect for exploring Tewkesbury. The Abbey is right around the corner and it is a very short walk to the high street, the river, and the park. There was bread, butter, milk, eggs, wine, and other essentials in place when we arrived. Everything you would expect to find in a rental place and so much more was provided. Thank you Alex and family for a wonderful and extremely comfortable week!

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Communication and quality
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madbird29...
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday accommadation”
Reviewed June 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Cannot find any faults with this property, everything you could need was catered for and the property was beautifully decorated and very clean. The owner Alex couldn't of been more pleasant or helpful. Lots of little touches as well such as providing an umbrella or hot water bottles and children story books all made this stand out from your average holiday rental. We have rented many properties in this area over the years but this one is by far the best and definately worth every penny. Location is perfect for restaurants, pubs, shops and local attractions.

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing