We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jessop House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jessop House
Ranked #1 of 14 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super B&B, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We only stayed one night, but would gladly return to Jessop Townhouse. This historical building has been lovingly renovated. Friendly owners, great breakfast, attention to detail in all aspects. The parking is a bit limited (from memory there are 4 spaces allocated), but that's not a big problem as there is a public car park a stone's throw away. The location is ideal - right opposite Tewkesbury Abbey and within easy walking distance of restaurants, pubs, etc. A real gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    23
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
171
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Chris & Steve are such welcoming hosts at this lovely, sympathetically decorated house in the middle of Tewkesbury. We stayed in room 4 which unfortunately has a tiny bathroom, but to be honest, how long do you want to spend in the shower? The room was lovely, comfortable bed and very quiet. If you listen really hard you can just hear the Abbey bells but that's about it. The 5 star clincher for me was the offer of FRESH milk for our room! Why do other places find this so difficult? Breakfast was plentiful & freshly cooked. Thank you Chris & Steve & if we come back to that area we will definitely be in touch. Thanks also to Chris for arranging my flowers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nicely converted B and B right in the centre of Tewkesbury - the high street is only a 2/3 minute walk.

Room are nicely decorated as is the main lounge and the breakfast was of high quality.

The attention given by the owners is worthy of special mention and while this aspect is often overlooked by many b and b's, it makes all the difference to the experience.

If there's a gripe it would be that the 'cupboard shower' in room 6 may not be to everyone's taste but for a one night stay its perfectly fine.

Overall, this is a very nice B and B in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley. West Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Cornwall at the end of June. Chris & Steve were very welcoming, the room was great (with that quirky shower in the cupboard) & the breakfast excellent. The house has had several makeovers in 700 or so years, and the latest, carried out by the current owners, certainly justifies the labour of love it must have been. We will certainly aim to break our journey South-West at Jessops in the future, as for comfort & location (close to the Abbey & numerous eateries) it will be hard to better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had one night here a couple of nights ago. We had booked up a while ago and were really looking forward to a lovely stay. We weren't disappointed.
Room 6 is delightful with a comfortable super king bed and plenty of space. Other reviews have mentioned that the shower is in a cupboard but this is misleading. it is quite a large shower and we were very happy with it.
Downstairs the lounge is comfortable, has an honesty bar, and is a relaxing alternative to the bedroom to sit and read or chat with friends.
The dining room, like the rest of the house, is beautifully decorated. Breakfast is generous. Plenty of choice of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits and then a cooked breakfast with the usual bacon egg and sausage tomatoes and mushrooms. Black pudding and beans too! There is also a good choice of teas, including decaffeinated. All the ingredients are of very good quality.
The owners are most welcoming and very willing to bend over backwards to please their guests.
The house itself is very old and has a fascinating history. Just get Chris to tell you all about it.
We hope that we shall be able to spend longer there in the future..

Room Tip: Chris and Steve are very happy for people to ring to book and will do their best to give them the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2pomsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had a brief stay here and found the hosts charming and welcoming. The room itself was well appointed and very stylish and obviously a lot of care has been put into the décor. When we arrived we were asked if we had any ideas for dinner that evening and though we thought we had an idea where to dine, we went with their recommendation and were glad we did. The restaurant we went to was run by fellow kiwis and the food was superb! Breakfast at Jessop's was great and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Four of us recently stayed at Jessop House for a short break in Tewkesbury and we weren't disappointed. It is idealy situated more or less opposite the Abbey and in a good location for guests to explore this historic town.
The warm welcome from Chris & Steve set the tone from the start. The rooms are beautifully decorated with every comfort and the delicious breakfast made & served by Chris & Steve was a lovely relaxed start to the day.
Best guest house we've stayed in - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p_a_english
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessop House

Property: Jessop House
Address: 65 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jessop House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Oct 2011 Jessop House has been renovated to the highest standard. Rooms feature beds dressed with the finest Jaquard Sanderson linens and cosy velvet bedspreads, grand chandeliers adorn spacious rooms, maintaining many original period features whilst enjoying modern day comforts. Jessop House offers large well equipped en-suite rooms. Experience the splendour of medieval Tewkesbury & the Cotswolds from the comfort of Tewkesbury's finest Georgian town house. Privately owned, personal service is at the heart of everything we do... affordable, stylish and comfortable, Jessop House has all the essential ingredients for an enjoyable and relaxed stay in a beautiful town centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jessop House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jessop Townhouse Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing