We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Britain”
Review of Jessop House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jessop House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Chris & Steve are the most welcoming & obliging hosts we met during our travels across the UK. The house is beautiful, spacious & clean.The beds are comfortable & warm & the linen is topclass. Breakfast was beautiful with a large variety & quantity. They have an honesty system bar which is very nice & comes in handy. Chris & Steve were also very helpful regarding places of interest & restaurants. They even researched & booked ongoing accomodation for us as we had no computer. Great service!!!
Cannot recommend highly enough.
Thank you from two travelling Aussies ladies - Coral & Liz.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coral m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wasn't the room itself as this was fine (even if the bathroom door wouldn't close), but our stay was spoiled by the owners.

Turned up and there was no where to park and when i asked where there was to park, i was curtly told "down the road" and when I suggested that may cost money in a public car park as well as a walk back to the b&b i was told "if you're that bothered you can have the money". Add to this we had to be up early and leave by 7.30 we was told there would be no breakfast as they wouldn't serve that early. At other places they've offered to put some cereal out or a bit of bread but here they wouldn't even entertain the idea so had to buy our own breakfast with no hint of food or a discount.

So overall room was clean but would not recommend given our experience with the owners who were far from accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pcdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warby1, Owner at Jessop House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

It is with regret that the guest who posted this review chose to do so anonymously as I would of liked to speak to the alleged guest personally.
In reply to the alleged points in question:
All of our rooms have been refurbished to high specifications and there has been substantial investment in the property since we purchased Jessop House in October 2011. In February this year we were awarded 5* status by Visit Britain. When being assess they check everything in the rooms from the linen, beds to making sure that bathrooms are of worthy of 5* status including the bathroom doors shut. I can assure all future guests that our bathroom doors close.

With reference to the car park. There are five car parking spaces as stated on our web site. We also have a space for a motor bike.Car parking is available in a public car park within 100 yards of Jessop House, guests can leave their luggage here and then park their car. Parking is free in Gander Lane car park from 5.30pm until 8am, free on Sundays and Bank Holidays. There is also free on road parking. The cost of parking is £4.00 per day.
Both my husband and I do not recall speaking to a guest about parking and the alleged comment made.
Breakfast times are on our web site. Breakfast is served from 7.30am on week days and 8.30am of a week end and bank holiday. Exceptions are often made. Neither myself or my husband can recall an alleged conversation about an early breakfast.

If the guest had stayed at Jessop House he/she would have surely been aware when shown the dining room that cereals are on the sideboard in airtight glass containers 24/7, therefore cereal is available at all times.

In concluding I can assure all future guest that we ensure they have a comfortable stay at Jessop House and we accommodate guests requests to the best of our ability as previous guests have already commented on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Jessop House Hotel Church Street Tewkesbury
We can recommend this hotel/b and b.Ideally situated in Church Street-------100 yards from the Abbey,the River and surely the best restuarant in Tewksbury [ My Great Grand Fathers]

Our room as decorated very tastefully to a really high standard.The breakfast room was also decorated to the same standard.The breakfast too was excellent.

The owners were nice people and very helpfull and welcoming.

All together a very enjoyable experience

Walker June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I would agree with all the other favourable comments. We stayed as a group of three families whilst attending a local wedding. All the rooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated. There was a slight problem with our booking on arrival, but Chris and Steve resolved the matter very quickly and professionally. The bed in room 7 was extremely comfortable. The room, although facing the street was very quiet. We loved Tewkesbury and would not hesitate to stay again on our return. Breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding and had a lovely stay. The owner's were welcoming and accomodating of our travel arrangements. Breakfast was great. The room was beautifully decorated, and the bed spacious and comfortable. The shower-in-a-cupboard was a novelty but actually gave a great shower. Would definitely recommend this to friends and happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful building,very tastefully decorated and great food, but the real reason I would not hesitate to book again is the wonderfully warm welcome and excellent service throughout our stay from Chris and Steve.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night as we were attending a friends surprise birthday at a local village, Longdon. Christine and Steve are so welcoming and helpful. We instantly felt at home. We stayed in room 3 and I must say it is the best place we have every stayed in. The room was immaculate and decorated to the highest standards, it had an enormous bed and a lovely sofa.
The hosts are so well organised, pre-booking our taxi for us and giving us a choice of when we would like breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was really tasty with a choice of cereals and a wide selection of cooked breakfasts.
We have booked to come back with our children in the summer!

Room Tip: Room 3 if highly recommended !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
552 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
978 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#6 of 12 in Tewkesbury
565 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessop House

Address: 65 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $111 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jessop House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Oct 2011 Jessop House has been renovated to the highest standard. Rooms feature beds dressed with the finest Jaquard Sanderson linens and cosy velvet bedspreads, grand chandeliers adorn spacious rooms, maintaining many original period features whilst enjoying modern day comforts. Jessop House offers large well equipped en-suite rooms. Experience the splendour of medieval Tewkesbury & the Cotswolds from the comfort of Tewkesbury's finest Georgian town house. Privately owned, personal service is at the heart of everything we do... affordable, stylish and comfortable, Jessop House has all the essential ingredients for an enjoyable and relaxed stay in a beautiful town centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Jessop House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jessop Townhouse Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing