We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband booked this hotel for two nights over the weekend of my birthday. We were limited in terms of location because we were attending a party on the Saturday night in Gloucester. We have actually stayed in this hotel before in the early 1990s but my husband had completely forgotten! We shared a room on the first night with our 14 year old son. The criteria for the hotel included a swimming pool for our son and a spa for me. The swimming pool, spa pool and steam room were all nice if a little small. My main criticism is that the pool has a selection of fake vines which really need to be thrown out! The ladies changing room was well equipped including a machine to get the water out of your costume. Our room was fairly standard in size and with the sofa bed pulled out was quite cramped. Once our son left it was a bit better. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom fine. The rooms were quite hot as it was a glorious weekend and they don't seem to have any airconditioning. The windows didn't appear to open very wide. We were given fruit and water which was a nice touch and there is free wifi in the bar and lobby. Breakfast was good although on the first morning we had to chase for the coffee we had ordered. I had a facial and pedicure in the spa. They were both excellent and the lady who runs it was very helpful recommending a pub where we could have lunch locally. We had dinner in the hotel on the second night. Apart from some confusion over a bottle of champagne needing cooling and my steak being medium rather than rare that I had ordered, the food and service were a better standard than I had expected. I had a sandwich in the bar on the first afternoon which was very nice and fresh. The bar was very short staffed on Sunday so we had to clear our own table to sit out on the terrace. My son had a club sandwich which looked very good.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the golf course which was a good view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateREBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I are touring England. We are staying at both Marriott and Hilton properties. I am a Platinum Marriott Elite member, and my wife is a Gold Hilton Hhonors member. This will be a good comparison of the two programs. Our first stop was at the Swindon Marriott, followed by the Hilton in Tewkesbury. The Hilton Tewkesbury welcomed us with an upgraded room. One note, there is no air conditioning in the rooms. Though this wasn't a problem for our stay, the hot weather lately might prove to get a bit warm in the rooms if it continues. The room was nicely furnished. The bed wasn't as comfortable as the Marriott's; however, the welcome for the Gold Hhonors was much better than for the Marriott Platinum. We had a basket with chocolates, two waters, apples, and vouchers for two drinks delivered each day to our room. The Marriott did none of this for us...so much for Platinum Elite! The workout facilities were adequate at the hotel. I'd give that a toss up between the Marriott and Hilton. The breakfast was very sumptuous and the service superb. I'd definitely give the nod to Hilton on this matter. The bathroom was definitely better at the Hilton. It was larger and more up to date. The bathroom amenities were better at the Hilton as well. All in all, I'd give this Hilton a thumbs up over the Marriott. Next stop will be the Marriott Chepstow, Wales. Hilton, you did a nice job here...Hilton has the edge so far!

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms definitely worth it. There are several with balconies...Definitely a good choice to...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed this weekend at the Hilton in Tewksbury, a quick get away from the busy south! What a treat, great service, great meal and awesome service! Nice Spa facilities to get spoiled in.Would definitely recommend, the location is stunning, worthy of many visits more!

Room Tip: Great views of the golf course
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My family stayed at Puckrup Hall over the weekend to celebrate a family birthday. The reataurant was booked for 8pm, we finally had our first course at 9pm and finished our meal at about 10-20pm, we did not bother with a desert, we would have still been there at midnight! One of our guests requested a special dietry requirement due to a medical condition, this was ignored by the waiter and/or the kitchen staff, making the largest proportion of the his meal unedible.

A bar snack ordered earlier in the day took an unacceptably long time to be served and even then the order of one guest was not served until the others had finished the snack.

This is unacceptably slow service in a hotel that I feel is trading too heavily on the Hilton brand name.

The main reception area on Sunday morning resembled a Car Boot sale, and being pestered for donations when leaving or entering was unacceptable for a hotel boasting of high standards.

Room Tip: For better value and service there are better hotels in Tewkesbury to choose from.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked a Romantic package which was very reasonably priced. The room was very clean and comfortable and cleaned daily with toiletries and refreshments topped up. We ate in the restaurant and could not fault the food in any way. The waiters were attentive and did not make you feel as if you had to rush your meal. Although the chocolates and bubbly were not in our room on arrival, they did arrive in our room at the time stated by the receptionist. We found all the staff polite and friendly. The only downside was a loss of power on the Saturday night but this did not affect our enjoyment at all, as we were about to go to bed anyway. We would definitely return and are thinking of spending Christmas here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I two can not understand the negative reviews, Puckrup hall hilton is a very nice hotel in a lovely setting.
I travelled as part of a coach party from our local flower club, we were visiting the great malvern flower show, the hilton was chosen for its handy position to the show ground.
We do have a club outing every year, but I have to say at no time were we made to feel,like second class as citizens being part as a coach party, All the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The food at breakfast and dinner was wonderful,and that was the view of the 36 people that were in the party.
The rooms were very clean and most comfortable,in fact we could not fault the whole weekend,so keep up the good work,we would love to return.
Many thanks to all the staff at the Hilton Puckrup Hall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davewsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I came to Hilton Puckrup on an Escape Spa Day with some friends and had a fantastic day. Treatments and staff were amazing, we felt very spoilt. We have spa days before, but have never had such a personal service.Hotel is nice, although lunch quite pricey, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
259 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
523 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury

Address: Puckrup, Tewkesbury GL20 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing retreat to the Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury hotel on the edge of the Cotswolds. Located just 50 minutes from Birmingham and Bristol, the hotel is set amongst 140 acres of private parkland and boasts a championship 18-hole golf course - perfect for golfing weekends. Host a conference event or a beautiful wedding amidst picturesque surroundings. Take advantage of the hotel's extensive grounds, catering for up to 200 guests and ideal for outdoor teambuilding activities. Celebrate a special occasion in the ballroom, discuss business in one of the 15 meeting rooms and stay connected with Wi-Fi in public areas. Choose from a full range of treatments at The Escape Spa.. Swim laps in the indoor pool or simply relax in the sauna, whirlpool or steam room. Keep fit at the LivingWell Health Club featuring cardiovascular and strength training equipment. Refresh with a cold drink in the Terrace Bar and relax in a comfortable arm chair or enjoy some fresh country air while savouring a snack at the outdoor golf terrace. Take in views of the golf course while sampling traditional English and internationally inspired cuisine cooked to perfection by the talented chefs at Balharries restaurant. Unwind in a comfortable guest room with a 32-inch plasma TV, on-demand movies and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury Hotel Tewkesbury
Hilton Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing