We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveler rating
634
435
71
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
634
435
71
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the river typical wetherspoons beer garden banqueting hall wetherspoon hotel historic building lovely garden nooks and crannies excellent value central location car park centre of town lovely old building iron and ironing board single room sunday night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here for Breakfast as we had to take my car in for a service nearby, choice as always with a Wetherspoons was excellent and the meal was up to the usual high standards, very nice pleasant place to eat and we would recommend again

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Overnighting in Tewkesbury breaking a long journey The Royal Hop Pole is a fantastic place to stay. Good 'Spoons value in the bar (food & beverages) and bedrooms. The hotel backs onto the river and has a long garden with plenty of shade and tables. The bar area is extensive with plenty of alcoves , nooks and crannies but could do with (in my eyes) turning up the wattage on the lighting. The staff were excellent, from reception to bar and cleaning. The real gem is the historical nature of the pub. The friendly and helpful Night Manager took time out to talk to us about the history and recommended a look at the medieval wall paintings and the Great Hall (not sure if these are accessible unless you are staying o/night?) on the first floor.
Free parking available to residents but it gets filled quickly.

Room tip: The rooms are individual and quirky.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathIan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear KathIan999, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you received good 'spoons value' throughout. We will pass on your feedback regarding the staff to our team who work so hard to make sure our guests enjoy their visit. We are more than happy for customers to come and see our medeival hall even if they arent staying, they just need to ask at reception. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

I've rated the hotel as average but that is not a negative. It's a very old historic building & the hotel has been adapted to fit. As a result it has quirks such as wonky corridors and strange shaped bedrooms. If it was new and each room uniform then it would possibly get a higher rating. But we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend & the hotel staff are superb. Attached is the pub & everything a Wetherspoons are renowned for. Reasonably priced drinks and value meals. Would I stay here again ? Undoubtedly "yes".

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nigel R, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be superb too. We pride ourselves on operating within a historic and quirky building - parts of which date back to the 1300's, which has mostly been operating as a hotel since that time! This does of course mean that all of our rooms have their own unique character, shape and size, unlike some purpose built hotels which have uniform rooms. However, all of our rooms are equipped to the same standard. We are pleased to know you would return, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. KInd Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

The best thing about this hotel is its friendly and helpful staff.
Because of its age and listed status there are no lifts and we found it hard to lug all our luggage up two flights of stairs. We were told that someone could be found to take the cases but at that time no one was available.
The rooms are a reasonable size and the linen clean. There was a fan in the room and an easy chair, upright chair, desk and wardrobe. The bathroom is very small and very old fashioned. The shower is over the bath and had a curtain, although I'm told some rooms have a glass screen instead.
The worst part about the room was the windows which were absolutely filthy. Between the sliding secondary glazing and the window itself were loads of cobwebs. I was able to remove some with toilet paper so there was no reason why the cleaning staff could not have removed them with a long handled duster.
The other annoying thing was the only available sockets are behind the desk. When you plug the hair dryer into the socket its a strain to stretch the wire to where you are sitting to dry your hair. Not very well planned.
On two days out of our three days there, our towels were not even folded but just left as we had left them on the towel rail. I did not expect them to be changed every day but I have never been in a hotel where they have not been folded neatly and put on the rack. Everything looked a bit slapdash.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maz03, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you viewed everything as a bit slap dash, our housekeeping team work hard to keep our rooms clean and tidy, so I will feedback your comments regarding the windows. You mention that your towels weren’t touched, we do not change towels unless they are in the bath (as per signs in the bathroom) this helps us do our bit for the environment. We do have rooms that have shower screens instead of curtains, but the old wonky nature of our floors and walls mean they do not seal so we are reverting back to shower curtains. Our team are always happy to help carry luggage up the stairs for our guests, and if there is no one at the desk there is always a sign on how to contact them by pressing a button on the main desk phone and someone will come to assist. Otherwise, we are pleased to read that you found our team to be helpful and friendly. Kind Regards the Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

I stayed here for one night with a friend in a twin room, which was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable, shower had nice hot water, TV and WiFi worked well, and everything we needed was there. The staff at the reception even carried my heavy suitcase up the stairs to our room. The only negative point was that the room was warm and stuffy and even though there was a floor fan that we left on all night, we still had to leave the window open. This meant that we had quite a bit of traffic noise as our room was on the street side of the building. I’d recommend guests to specify that they want a quiet room when making their booking. The hotel building itself is made up of three parts, dating from the 15th and 18 centuries, so some of the fancier bedrooms have an old-fashioned design with original beams. The convenient location right in the middle of town means it’s walking distance from everything.

Guests at the hotel receive a voucher to place on their car dashboard, permitting free parking during their stay. In fact, we checked out and put the luggage in the car, then walked around for the rest of the afternoon, since the voucher was still valid until later in the day. Tewkesbury is a charming historical town, with lots of pretty places to explore, lovely architecture, an interesting abbey, and plenty of shops.

We ended up eating both dinner and breakfast here as the menu was vast. The food was tasty and a very good value. You can get free coffee or tea refills with some breakfasts. There are various areas to eat and drink ... in the bar area, the adjoining dining rooms, or even a pleasant patio outdoors. They seem to have special deals on frequently at the restaurant and discounts at the hotel. One flyer I saw said “Stay with us on Sunday from £39” which sounds like something to take advantage of. Overall, I enjoyed my short stay here very much and wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Room tip: Best to choose a room that’s not on the street side for a quiet night’s sleep.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 570JanetW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear 570JanetW, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found everything to be as it should be. As a town centre hotel, we do have some rooms that overlook the street, all of which have secondary glazing - however we appreciate in this warm spell our customers would like their windows open. We supply all the rooms with a fan as standard to help keep our guests cool. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you wouldnt hesitate to return, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews