We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Tewkesbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Owens Restaurant - CLOSED

Owens Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Tewkesbury”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fantastic food, great ambiance and always a lovely evening - not sure what some of the others reviewers are on about with the rudeness, we have never found this to be the case. Definitely the best restaurant in Tewkesbury, we will continue to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    38
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very rude chap.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were very put off by the rudeness of what we can only guess is the owner, add to that its smells really damp and fousty. We eat here a few years ago, it was lowly this time it was hardly edable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyB52780759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A nice peaceful setting”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well it was just after Christmas and it has always been difficult finding nice places to celebrate our wedding anniversary so it was good to find Owens. This was a very pleasant experience, good food, well cooked and with the right sized portions. An imaginative menu was complimented by a reasonably priced range of wines. Our only criticisms were that there were no accompanying veg, yes I know this is the French way, but this is England with a huge range of winter veg to choose from (after all it is winter for nearly 10 months of the year it seems) and the rather small size of the Crème Brûlée.

Nonetheless, a return visit will be in order. Well done Tewkesbury for having such a quality restaurant and please go try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very good stylish food at reasonable prices. Most mains including vegetables etc about £15. The starters were about £6 and the vegetarian starter with marrow bone was delicious. Far far better than Great grandfathers - we will be going again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Suprise Find, Glad i did not read reviews”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was my Daughters birthday coming up, so a week befor i went for walk through Tewkesbury.
Having passed several eating places, i took the chance on Owens, just by menu and the look of the place.
We met on a Tuesday eve, Nice and quiet, Lovely old building, Great menu with quit reasonable prices, Our Potted shrimp , Thai fish cakes, starters were superb, as were the fish mains, deserts . wine etc.
I'm so glad i did NOT see the online reviews !!!!, As there was NO music,,,Thank's , just chatter of people enjoying themselves.
All in Superb, and we will be back,,,,, If there is Music,,, i will pay them to stay away HA HA

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank levace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens Restaurant also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing