We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesone hen location!”
Review of Hardwick House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tewkesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hardwick House
Ranked #5 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesone hen location!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Hardwick House as part for a freind hen weekend and were not disappointed!! The house was amazing with very spacious bedrooms and a great living area - 19 girls could spread themselves out on the sofa very comfortably! Kitchen facilities were also great too making self catering very easy.

The grounds were beautiful and huge - which worked out perfectly as one of our hen activities took place outside. We had 2 further hen activities which took place inside the house and again, there was plenty of space for these too - one of these was a cocktail making class so plentty of space was needed for 19 girls to do this! The hosts also organised taxis into Cheltenham for us which was fantastic.

Bathroom facitlities were excellent with on average 1 bathroom per room or one to share between 2 rooms so no queing!

I would definatley recommend Hardwick house as a holiday location for any occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamour1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here in October with 19 friends for my hen weekend. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue. We had the whole house to ourselves all weekend which was great.

The property itself and the grounds are massive! We actually got a bit lost with the various staircases and different bedrooms dotted around everywhere. We had 2 or 3 people to a room but there are plenty of bathrooms and places to get ready. The living room has enough sofa space and chairs that we could all sit around, playing games, drinking and watching a few chick flicks.

I didn't have much to do with the planning, as I'd left that in the very capable hands of my bridesmaids, but everything ran perfectly. I believe Rob helped us to organise taxi's into Cheltenham for a night out and also recommended a great pub for us all to have pie and mash on the Sunday.

Hardwick House is a really lovely holiday home, it would suit all sorts of occasions. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Fantastic weekend spent at Hardwick House for my sisters hen party. Rob and Ruth were very accommodating hosts, extremely helpful, and have a great range of contacts for organising virtually any activity.
The house is beautiful, all of the bedrooms were large, our party of 16 were very comfortable! There were plenty if bathrooms also (an important consideration for 16 girls getting ready for a night out!!). The living space was also very comfortable, and beautifully clean. Large living room, easily accommodated all of our group, as did the main hall/dining area, and were very happy spending most of the weekend within the house. The kitchen was very well equipped and the gardens are fabulous - swimming pool was lovely and warm, even on a crisp autumn day.
The house was easy to find, google maps will find the postcode accurately. The journey into Cheltenham took about 20mins; rob had put us in touch with a taxi firm- the return journey for 16 of us on the Saturday night cost £7.50 per
person, which we were delighted with.
So overall I would highly recommend Hardwick house as a fantastic luxury and Definately unique venue. Thank you so much to rob and Ruth for all their help and for sharing their beautiful house with us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We travelled from Dubai and wanted a family get away with my sister and her three boys. We booked the lower ground apartment and must say that the place was amazing. The towels were superb and our hosts were very thoughtful and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The children loved playing in the garden and were very happy to be able to swim in the pool too.
Thank you for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSalems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
323 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful hen weekend at Hardwick House. I booked the house for 16 girls and they all thought the house was a perfect location and worth the drive from London. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I was in contact with Rob over email for a while before the hen, organising the stay and extras, and he was extremely helpful with any requests and questions which made organisation so much easier. When we arrived his wife Ruth showed us around the house and gave us all the important info and they were happy to receive and unpack our online grocery shop. They popped into the main bit of the house occasionally but never got in our way, though it did feel a bit like we were kicking them out of their house especially when we saw the children and their belongings.

The house has a big lounge, dining area, games room, kitchen with all cooking facilities and several large bedrooms with at least one bathroom between two bedrooms. Towels and toiletries are provided. Comfortable beds, quiet location and warm rooms meant a great night's sleep. Unfortunately the weather was awful for June so we couldn't make the most of the large grounds. A few of us still braved the outdoor pool though, which is lovely and warm so it was nice even in the cold and rain.

During our stay we had visits from beauticians and a chef, who we found and contacted through the house website. They were very friendly and professional and made the weekend extra special.

I would definitely recommend Hardwick House for hen parties.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were extremely pleased to find Hardwick House after leaving New Year celebrations (and my 30th birthday) a little late in the year to book.

Prior to booking, Rob (the owner) was extremely helpful in explaining the set up of the rooms, the inventory and generally very quick to respond to any queries we had.

Upon arrival, we were slightly surprised to find just how much Hardwick House is their regular home, with photographs, food and memorabilia throughout the house and initially it gave us an awkward feeling that we were turfing them out at New Year and living among their personal things.

However, Rob and Ruth were very quick to make us feel comfortable and, in actual fact, the homeliness makes it very easy to settle in.

Rooms vary in standard (though all pretty good, they vary hugely in size and a few are exceptional), so make big groups aware of this - we had fun with people unhappy, wanting to swap etc.

There's plenty of fridge space, glasses, general kitchenware and space to dine. As it was winter, we left a lot of booze outside but in the summer it may be worth asking if a bit of their fridge-space could be cleared as there were two fridges fairly full with their shopping.

It's a fantastic building with plenty of space, an excellent snooker table and pinball machine, shops a short drive away and a selection of pubs within walking distance.

We were made to feel extremely at ease, with Rob on the phone if needed but a welcome letter with instructions for anything we could need to know anyway. If you want a relaxed trip away with a group of friends then Hardwick House comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had exclusive use of Hardwick House from Friday afternoon to midday Sunday and had a wonderful family get together to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday.There were 15 adults and 5 children in our group.
The house,situated minutes from Tewkesbury, is spacious ,warm, comfortable and very child friendly. The grounds and views are great too.We had plenty of space and equipment in the kitchen to organise meals and snacks and room in the dining hall to sit down together.The snooker room was put to good use too.The owners,Rob and Ruth coul;d not do enough for us ,emailing several times beforehand to see if we needed anything,taking in our dot com delivery and putting it away before we arrived and they checked several times whilst we were there to to ensure we had everything we needed.
Thank you so much Rob and Ruth.We all thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilajones56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tewkesbury hotels
3.0 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
478 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jessop House
Jessop House
#1 of 12 in Tewkesbury
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#2 of 12 in Tewkesbury
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick House

Property: Hardwick House
Address: Hardwick House Hardwick Bank Road | Bredon's Hardwick, Tewkesbury GL20 7ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hardwick House is a beautifully restored Victorian country house situated in five acres of parkland at the north end of the Cotswolds. We only take exclusive bookings for the whole House and specialise in hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing