We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal Okay But Not As Good As Expected”
Review of Gupshill Manor

Gupshill Manor
Ranked #27 of 81 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meal Okay But Not As Good As Expected”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went for lunch with my husband on Good Friday and was a little disappointed as we have been before a while ago and found it quite good.

The food was just about okay and the service was similar which is a shame as it is a pretty looking place and could be so much more. The environment was a little cramped which was aggravated by my husband being sat behind a particularly large lady who kept banging into his chair.

Won't give up on the 'Guppy' totally but a similar experience would result in never going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanneG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    119
    60
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Building and food look good but lacks intimacy of other local places.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Don't get me wrong, I have no complaints about this place generally but there are other local places which have more to offer. The new decor and menu here do look good and fill you with high expectations and there is a weekday specials and a regular menu which offer different options.

The weekday special menu provides value for money but the menu for this is fairly limited and does not really show much imagination. The regular menu has a good selection for the main menu and the starters are mainly fish based. Selected soups for starters which were VERY hot and took a few minutes to cool enough to taste - but we're flavoursome and nicely presented with thick cut bread. For main, the Belly Pork was well served and unusual and the stuffed chicken was well cooked and fresh but would have benefitted from less potato and more Veg (personal preference).

Staff were efficient and wait times for food were good but not overly friendly and has the feel of a Gastro pub rather than a local. There are other local eateries which offer better quality food and more intimate atmosphere for the price, but for a night out then this is still an option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Very good menu, the starter platters are a good idea , meat, fish and veggie. Really nice in terms of choice of where to sit and enjoy the food , resturant area, comfy sofas, bar area, outside patio , covered outside and traditional garden area - loads of choice . Food was very good and a membership card gives you 10% discount on all future visits ( making the price acceptable) . Will be returning :-(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M0JMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, drink and a warm welcome!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant is a "must" to visit. We have visited countless times from eating in the restaurant to having a drink in the bar. The staff are very helpful, friendly and make you feel at home. The Manor is a great choice for eating out with friends and family or just having a few drinks in the bar! I cannot recommend enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmudgerSJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very pleasant and helpful staff, a good menu with a good selection across the board, the food was good and well presented, all of the dishes were tasty, good value for money, they just seemed to loose it a bit in the middle, we ordered drinks and they took 20 mins to arrive, overall very good as I could have got up and got the drinks, the decor and surroundings were very nice, we would re visit, but I would get my own drinks

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gupshill Manor also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gupshill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing