We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lamb”
Review of Gupshill Manor

Gupshill Manor
Ranked #27 of 81 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful lamb”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We recently had our Christmas meal here and the food and service were wonderful. Could not fault the lamb shank. Will be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekymsleeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    119
    60
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wow! Last time I ate here (about 8 years ago) it was a dark gloomy pub with sticky tables). Now it is a beautiful restaurant serving delicious food. The atmosphere was super and with plenty of menu choices for vegetarians I was spolit for choice! The service was great.
I am delighted this is so close to where we live - we will return for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatdoyouknowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Could not fault a thing”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a fabulous meal here.
The prawns starters were nicely spiced and the chicken stuffed with hangs was a nice twist.
Hardy's Riddler as well topped off an excellent evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauloB_Tewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch and the service was excellent and staff very attentive. Shame the same could not be said about the food. Although I am not a big meat eater even the two small slices of beef were not enough for a small child never mind an adult. Portion sizes are absolutely miniscule and the veg portion is suitable for only one but it is expected to feed 2.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlxtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We met friends at the Gupshill for dinner, ordered the £12.50 set three course menu, a few miserable prawns with lettuce and a dollop of sauce arrived, dreadful. The main course was equally dire, it was called Lamb Stew with Peanut Butter, a small amount of overcooked rice with a small spoonful of 'stew' (surely it can only be called Lamb Stew if there is lamb in the dish?), no veg to brighten things up. My partner is vegetarian and ordered the Beetroot Risotto with rocket and walnut salad, what arrived was dreadful, a pink mound of tasteless mush, one redeeming factor was the rocket and walnut salad which was lovely. On complaining I was offered a new choice from the menu and ordered a salad, the potatoes were barely cooked and inedible, we complained again. When the bill arrived we hadn't been charged for the risotto, but the full cost of the salad was charged! On complaining (again) a 25% discount for the replacement meal was offered.
The Sticky Toffee Pudding was not worthy of the title.
Our main waitress was chewing gum, the senior waitress was very pleasant, but without authority to satisfy complaints.
A very disappointing event (surely it's not that difficult to boil a new potato??!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gupshill Manor also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gupshill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing