We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute star that brightened up a Monday evening!”

My Great Grandfather's
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 16Th Century building with open fire and cosy surroundings and wonderful atmosphere. Food is of high quality and is freshly prepared. Exceptional service given by Shiho originally from Japan. Chef Mat and his wife Shiho bring a unique blend of high quality English and Japanese cuisine to the historic town of Tewkesbury. We offer a private room which seats 16 guests and our lovely beamed restaurant seats 29. Group parties are available also fine dining and business meetings.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An absolute star that brightened up a Monday evening!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Came here with two colleagues the night before a training course. We'd been tipped off about this place by colleagues who attended a course nearby the year before. I am so glad we came. The food was absolutely fantastic.
We didn't have any starters (strict expenses budget to stick to) but after we ordered an amuse bouche was brought out to us. An asparagus soup with home made breads. Wholemeal bread stuffed with mixed nuts and a cheese and apricot loaf. Divine!
The rump steak was beautifully cooked rare-medium, served with a clever welsh rarebit stuffed mushroom, garnish, peppercorn sauce and wonderful chips. The pork also got a big thumbs up.
If we weren't full I think we'd have tackled dessert. Alas, no space left!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingingBee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royden100, Owner at My Great Grandfather's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It means a great deal to my wife and I that you enjoyed your time with us
We hope you are well and you had a safe journey home
Kind Regards
Mat & Shiho
My Great Grandfathers Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    60
    13
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

nice restaurant, ok service . Would I go back ? There needs to be more flavour on the plate .good Presentation doesn't mean a good meal . Service is charming and polite .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royden100, Owner at My Great Grandfather's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It means a great deal to my wife and I that you enjoyed your time with us
We hope you are well and you had a safe journey home
Kind Regards
Mat & Shiho
My Great Grandfathers Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb food, great service.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife took me here for my Birthday. I ordered the backed Camembert on a bed of strawberries....excellent, followed by braised pork, which was so tender and succulent. Just could not fault the quality of the food and the attentive service.

A couple of tips for the owners, change the music after its played once, i think we had a second loop, the route to the Toilet out back just needs a little tidy and some candles on the table would work well, not that any of these things detract from the superb food and great service and certainly is not something anyone planning a visit should have any concerns about....it's just my suggestion to make a very good experience just that little bit better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve8310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royden100, Owner at My Great Grandfather's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It means a great deal to my wife and I that you enjoyed your time with us
We hope you are well and you had a safe journey home
Kind Regards
Mat & Shiho
My Great Grandfathers Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a truly awesome lunch here on a sunny Thurs afternoon. Some may see it as pricey and yes you can get cheaper in town but will it taste as beautiful as what we had today- I doubt it! We had the Camembert and goats cheese starters - delicious and then pork and beef Wellington for mains. The flavours were exceptional- alas no room for pudding :-( but did have a very nice coffee. We will be back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royden100, Owner at My Great Grandfather's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sir / madam

My wife and I are very grateful of your time to post your review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us

See you soon

Mat & Shiho
My Great Grandfathers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sumptuous”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My Great Grandfather's Restaurant provided our party of three with a sumptuous dining experience; the setting was cosy and intimate, yet not claustrophobic. We felt very much looked after by the Japanese waitress / owner at the front, who provided wonderful service and knowledgeable answers to menu questions. Amuse-bouche of hot asparagus & white parsnip soup was very much welcomed at the start, as were the selection of home-made breads. Prices were acceptable for this level of dining, and the presentation and plating blew us away with each dish. I personally found minor technical faults with the cook / composition of my dishes... but my own fussiness aside, the only other remark would be how the service wobbled a bit with the arrival of a young waiter who was apparently having a very nervy 'first night'. I'm sure he'll get it right next time, and knowing that MGG has been in Tewkesbury for 9 years, I have every confidence they'll be around for another 9 after what I experienced last night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_Croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royden100, Owner at My Great Grandfather's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam
Thank you for posting your review
We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon

Mat & Shiho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Great Grandfather's also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to My Great Grandfather's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing