We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always treated so well”
Review of Restaurant 178

Restaurant 178
Ranked #5 of 299 Restaurants in Walsall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant 178 has been the foundation of Fairlawns for over 30 years. Offering modern British cuisine to outside guests and residents in comfortable and stylish surroundings. Priding itself on fresh food, friendly service and warmth of hospitality.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always treated so well”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Service and attention is always first class. Food is always very good. When you have been to Fairlawns for the evening you feel as if you have had a very special night out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Restaurant 178, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We will continue to work hard to improve standards further and will look forward to seeing you again for another special night.

Warm regards and best wishes for the year ahead

John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    69
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel fare”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

An imaginative menu with local food sourcing, the Restaurant is relaxing from arrival, with a comfortable bar and resourceful friendly Staff. The food is good with generous portions and an excellent wine list. We have been as resident and as non-resident diners, on one occasion deciding on the spur of the moment to book a room overnight and use the great spa facilities the next morning -a definite plus! Our Daughter's 18th Birthday party was held in their Function rooms over 4 years ago, and the standards have been maintained fully.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Restaurant 178, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, and for the loyalty you have shown our family business over a length of time.

We are always pleased to meet expectation - we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings and great food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went there for a Christmas meal with my friends. This was not the cheapest meal but worth every penny. The food could not be faulted, the service was impeccable and the whole experience was one I would repeat gladly. So happy to find somewhere that serves good food in an area that has a surfeit of mediocre eating establishments

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Restaurant 178, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Lovely to read that you appreciated your experience with us.

We really do try and provide experiences beyond our competitors and are grateful for your kind comments.

We look forward to seeing you again

John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Christina”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visited this restaurant twice in one week. On both occasions we were greeted by smiling staff,and made to feel welcome and comfortable. The food was excellent, varied menu, with plenty of choice. Each person in both parties thought the restaurant was superb and very good value.
Jayne made sure the whole experience was an enjoyable one

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Restaurant 178, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank-you for your support and your review which I take great pleasure in sharing with the team.

Jayne works hard to ensure that everyone is attended to and looked after so will be especially pleased to read this.

John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge,West Midlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice for a special occassion”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recently visited Fairlawns for my aunt's birthday.The restaurant is very pleasant and the service very good.
They also do not hurry between courses which is nice.The food is very well cooked and well presented.If there are any criticisms is that on ocassions there is a slight draft,not sure if this was because we were sat near to air conditioning or it was door/entry to restaurant.The service is charming but they do not offer to take your coats which on a rainy evening would be welcomed.The food was lovely but on all the main courses we ate there was not nearly enough sauce.This made the chicken dish and rack of lamb dish slightly dry.This is easy to miss by the chef as when one swills over the sauce for it to make look nice he may not realise about the quantity provided.A separate jug could be provided to balance this.I am picking faults really as the Fairlawns is well worth another visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Restaurant 178, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We're pleased that you took as much enjoyment in attending the restaurant for a special occasion as we did in looking after it.

We appreciate the comments regarding the sauce and as with all feedback - value it greatly.

John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 178 also viewed

Walsall, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
Walsall, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
 

Been to Restaurant 178? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing