We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, Service, Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Service, Service, Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

What a refreshing change to visit a hotel where every single member of staff could not have done more to ensure we had a pleasant stay. We stayed during a very busy time as the hotel was hosting a number of Christmas parties and it would have been easy to have let standards drop, but they didn't.
We only stayed one night but from the service at reception, the leisure club, Victory bar, breakfast and Starbucks was all brilliant.
The room had everything you would expect,the pool is huge, the food was freshly cooked and the car park is huge and free.
If you need to be in the area then I am certain you won’t do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Crowies,

A quick email to thank you for taking the time to share your veiw of the hotel with trip advisor. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the service and facilities on offer in all of the outlets despite the busy time of year.
We hope to see you again when nxt visiting the area

In the meantime

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    408
    266
    129
    89
See reviews for
206
437
57
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. Staff were very efficient and welcoming, pillows changed with no problems and helpful with getting wifi and tv sorted. My room was upper deck as all the others were full and it was good. Very comfortable with everything expected in a modern hotel. Food was better than I expected given the bar environment. Breakfast ok. Pricey for Walsall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Antras,

Thanks for your recent of the hotel, we were delighted to read that you found the service and faciltiies to be of a good standard.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area, business or pleasure.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights when I was working in the area. I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the M6. It was quiet and my room was reasonable but no easy chair to sit on and my white net curtains were filthy. Indeed, the bottom edge of the curtain was black. I wonder when it had last been washed? Business contacts found it hard to ring me at the hotel as incoming calls were not answered. One evening I spent 10 minutes trying to dial reception without success. I wonder what would happen in an emergency?

Breakfast was reasonably good. Food in the evening was no better than standard pub grub. Reasonable quality but over priced. If you want a fantastic evening meal venture to the Five Rivers Punjabi restaurant in town. Similar prices to the hotel but about 50 times better quality.

The hotel advertsiers free WiFi. For two nights of my stay it was not accessible. On the other two nights the servbice was slow and unreliable.

Room Tip: My room on the 3rd floor was very quiet. There is no noise from the adjacent motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Bill1357,

Thanks for the review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. Disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion, clearly one or two areas that we need to work on which is the benefit of the feedback we receive from our guests.
We will take your comments on board and act accordingly and hopefully we may get the chance to impress on a future occasion.

In the meantime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a weekend package "Birmingham Christmas markets & Tattoo" must admit we thought for the trip price the hotel might not be very good.What a pleasant surprise,starting with a very pleasant efficient and welcoming reception.We were directed to our room on the 3rd floor by lift Room 302,again a very pleasant surprise,a nice sized very modern room with twin beds ( very comfortable ) coffee & tea making facilities inc complimentary biscuits.A large flat screen TV with WIFI and game box avail. A nice clean well appointed bathroom,bathrobes also provided.
Downstairs in the restaurant yet another surprise,a three course Christmas dinner with Christmas crackers on the table and coffee/tea to finish. The following morning a full English breakfast buffet style,even the scrambled eggs were hot !! We couldn't praise this hotel and staff enough.There were also beauty rooms and facilities + a Gym that sadly we hadn't time to visit. Given that this is a short distance from Birmingham,we would recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to visit the city without a city center hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mike B,

Thanks for taking the time to record your views of the hotel with Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you had a great time and found the service and facilities to be of a good standard.
Perhaps next time you can stay a little longer and make us of the leisure facilities as well!!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back

Yours sincerely

Stephen Cresswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Sadly, let down by Poor Quality Food, We went for a meal this week end,
2 out 3 Main Courses Returned . Totally Spoilt evening , as we wish to eat together
Gave up and left . Manager did apologise, and waive food Costs, But we would rather pay
and have a nice meal. Requested Chief come out and explain, but he did not ! Mind you
if I had cooked it, I would be embarssared to come out too !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0llyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jolly Jenks,

Not a great experience, no excuses, we are better than this, please accept my apologies along with those that were given on the day.
I hope that on some future occasion we may get the chance to redeem your faith in our brand.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walsall hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here complimentary due to being a previous complaint from the Swansea Hotel where we booked for my 21st Birthday meal and turned out to be a complete disaster.

The hotel in Walsall was lovely, staff efficient, room clean and the food service was also great. Breakfast included a wide variety of choice and the staff on breakfast duty were extremely welcoming and helpful. Atmosphere as you enter the hotel is lovely as you have Starbucks situated to the right as you enter.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Courtney P,

Thanks for the review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay on this occasion and you found the staff and facilities to be of a good standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is fine if you're passing through and just want to put your head down. But if you want to utilise the facilities then you will soon realise that you're second best to the local residents of the area. I wanted to have a drink and play pool as was a little bored, but was told no as the locals get too drunk and start to spill things etc. I was then told that I had to sit in the foyer as the bar was for a local party only, but I could come into the bar at 1.45am. The reception staff were also not very helpful and treated you like a local rather than a paying guest. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny5london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Jonny5London,

Thankyou for the review of our hotel following your recent stay. Disappointed to read its contents, despite the obvious local connections,we endeavour to treat al of our guests in the same way, professional and courteous, therefore I can only apologise for the shortomings on this occasion.

I hope that when staying in the area again we may get the opportunity to make amends.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
5.0 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall (M6, J10) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall

Property: Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
Address: Hotel Birmingham Walsall Tempus Drive | Tempus Ten, Walsall WS2 8TJ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Birmingham Walsall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall is a short drive from the City Centre and is the perfect base to explore and experience the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. With its easy motorway access and just 1 minute from the M6 Jct 10, Village Walsall all is ideal for quick access to the NEC, ICC, NIA, the Think Tank and Birmingham International Airport. Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall has 125 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Walsall
Village Hotel Leisure Walsall
Village Hotel Walsall
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing