We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some very bad points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family on Christmas Day and Boxing Day, the manager on boxing night was brilliant sorted us with food for kids at 930 pm and was very welcoming as was the rest of the staff. The major downside was the sofa bed, it had completely collapsed and when we looked at the mattress it was soaking wet meaning the housekeeping had just flipped the mattress when someone wet themselves before our stay, this has ruined my experience but I will return again but just check the room first

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam1984pookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am glad you were looked after so well by the team and pleased your family were happy with their stay.

I will speak to the housekeeping team regarding the sofa bed as theses should be checked each time they are used, so no excuses there. You will certainly not have to check them yourselves when you next stay.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 715 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

wow it was not an express... a number of us booked and stayed overnight on Saturday 14th December. it was a great hotel with easy access of the motorway and it is not the express but the full brand hotel. My room was very clean and large, it was extremely comfortable and we throughly enjoyed our stay... Hotel also had ample free parking. The breakfast was fantastic and staff very helpful and attentive.

would recommend it.

Room Tip: we had the Exec rom which wer very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hi Hitesh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read how comfortable your stay was and how clean you found your room. The breakfast team were also very pleased to read how helpful and attentive you found them.

Over Christmas the team really do work especially hard to please all of the guests we have in the hotel and I really appreciate your comments they will give them a great boost.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was a memorable experience, but for the wrong reasons. We stayed on the weekend of 13-15 Dec 13 in order to visit close family and the Birmingham Christmas market. What we weren't prepared for was staying in a hotel was more akin to a nightclub than a Holiday Inn. There were large organised parties on both nights of Friday and Saturday. The parties were hosted in the hotels public rooms, which meant that the dining facility was closed to hotel guests (no notice given) and that the bar was full of loud, merry and singing party goers – intent on having a good time, regardless of anyone else around them. No provision was made for regular hotel guests; no quiet area to enjoy a drink and conversation and there was nowhere to dine on the premises (contrary to the hotels advertised facilities); on return back to the hotel you had to push your way into the hotel entrance passed the many smokers. We had to retire to our room to evade the noise. The music eventually stopped at thirty minutes passed midnight; then after a further hour of drunken party goers in the corridors we were able to get some sleep. This was the routine for both the Friday and Saturday nights.
We complained to the desk and all we received were verbal apologies (nothing practical); the duty manager took our complaint and details, but we are still waiting a response? I can only assume that this particular Holiday Inn doesn't take customer complaints too seriously.
My advice is to give this hotel a wide berth, at least until after the holiday season – definitely not a venue for children from my personal experience.
Generally very disappointed that Holiday Inn put these parties on in public rooms to the detriment of other hotel guests.
On check out I was one of many complaining about their experiences as a consequence of the poor service received at this hotel.
Perhaps this is a hotel struggling with its identity - Party Venue or Hotel? You can't have it both ways Holiday Inn...

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away from the public rooms as possible to avoid to noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjones610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to read your comments regarding your stay, as the team always strive to deliver if not exceed the expectations of all of our guests irrespective of the purpose.

I am also sorry you were not communicated to about the alternative arrangements whilst we hosted our Christmas Parties. We did indeed have a very detailed menu available in the lounge of the hotel and also the full room service menu.

Thank you once again for your points.

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wow, how confusing, Holiday inn express on one side of roundabout and Holiday Inn on the other, I booked the Holiday Inn, booked over three days in advance and got a great value deal.
My room was large, clean, tidy and cozy although quite a trek from the reception. The staff were very attentive, especially at dinner in the evening, I had the duck, which was really nice.
I spend at least one night per month in Walsall and I think this will be my choice of accomodation as unlike Premier Inn in the town centre this one had ample free parking.
Breakfast was good and again staff were very helpful and attentive,
I will be back

Room Tip: some rooms are a long walk from the restaurant and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwoodpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We were all pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team looked after you. It really is a great advantage having such a large free car park.

I am glad you been converted in that we would love to have you visit again the next time you are in the Walsall area.

Thank you once again for your time, kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully we use trip advisor sensibly and don't take too much notice of certain reviews where people obviously have unrealistic expectations in relation to their spend!!
This hotel was very good, comfortable, modern and with a decent level of service.
We have family in the area and have found somewhere we feel we could visit again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Steddars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.

It was refreshing to read your points and reassuring not all the comments are taken at face value on websites. I am pleased in this case that you chose to make your own mind up on your stay and had a great one!

I hope you enjoyed your time with your family and we would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a bar with a hotel attached. If you like being awakened at 1am and 3 am by drunks wandering the halls and making merry, this is the place for you! Tacky drunk people smoking outside the front door welcome you.

Heat in the room did not work. Got extra blankets. By the morning it was a sauna.

"Spa not working" sign looked permanent. Breakfast is disgusting.

Hard bed was like sleeping on a billiards table. NO SYMPATHY from the management at checkout - he ducked into the back as soon as I started to complain. Two nights of no sleep and a breakfast I wish I had skipped. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: DO NOT book here unless you want to pick up a tramp in the lobby bar and do not plan on sleeping or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sleepycranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry your stay did not turn out to be the most comfortable it could have been. Unfortunately despite our best interests of advising all party goers to respect all the guests in the hotel over the festive season there is still an element that do forget.

It was disappointing to read your comments on breakfast as we have always been proud of the experience our guests have at this important time of the day. The team were also upset about reading the comments and are working hard to ensure the standards are maintained.

I do believe that your experience was an isolated one and would love to welcome you back to the hotel to prove that this was the case.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at hotel a Friday 13th a December and a Saturday 14th as we were visiting family. We arrived around 1 pm and I went to a Reception to check in - we were not expecting the room to be ready. First impression was not great - there was nobody on Reception but eventually a receptionist did appear. I said I wanted to check in but was not expecting the room to be ready . She made no comment, save to ask me to sign the Priority Club arrivals list. She then handed me the key without a word, nor with any instructions such as where to find the room , times of bar and restaurant opening etc.

We returned to the hotel around 7pm and found our room . The room was spotless (no 148) but the easy hair was missing. As we wanted to order room service we needed this chair. The air Von/ heater was stuck on 26degrees and was VERY noisy so we reported this to Reception. A very pleasant young woman came to our room and said she would have to ask Maintenance about the heater and also agreed the easy chair should have been in the room so would arrange for one to be delivered to us. At this point I tried to ring Room Service but there was no reply. We knew the bar was very busy so I kept trying for up to half an hour. A young man arrived with two soiled Banqueting chairs, but he was so pleasant we did not say anything. He said he would get the duty manager to look at heater. Then we got a call from the duty manager asking if we would like to change rooms. We were surprised at this as the hotel seemed to be full but thought it a lovely gesture so we agreed ( she also managed to place our room service order for us!)

We stay at lots of different hotels and use Holiday Inns as a preferred choice, but this was the best service we have experienced and want to say 'Thank a You' to all concerned. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Hi Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you encountered a few challenges whilst with us, but I am delighted to see the team related well and really looked after you.

I hope you enjoyed your time with the family and we would love to welcome you back again next time you are paying a visit.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
4.2 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10

Address: 20 Wolverhampton Road West, Walsall WS2 0BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range: $58 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel, with 156 en-suite bedrooms all with air conditioning, wi fi, en-suite. J10 Leisure with pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi. Large open plan lounge, bar and restaurant all air conditioned and wi fi enabled. Conference facilities for up to 180 delegates. Free car parking. Hotel is located just off Jct.10 M6 just prior to northbound exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing