We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with some niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay with some niggles”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from Cornwall. We booked via late rooms and paid in advance for a standard room. On arrival we were given an executive room which was lovely. We booked dinner at 8pm. We were shown to our table and our order taken. It took about 30 mins for the starter to arrive - as we order bread with oils and vinegar we thought that was a little excessive, although the waitress apologised. After our meal we asked for the bill, after another 10 mins we had to ask again, the bill was brought and we signed it and got ready to leave. Another waitress then shouted us back and asked us to sign the bill (it was a bit chaotic and disorganised) . Breakfast was a lot better organised and went without a hitch. Checkout was a little bit off as well, the reception informed us that we still had to pay for our room, as we paid in advance and had confirmation of this we refused and were given our bill for dinner and breakfast which we paid however note to all there is a service charge added as well which were not aware of before hand. We are unsure why they thought we had not paid but would warn others not to just take their word on this and if need be check your bank as our payment had definitely come off. Thankfully the receptionist did not argue and removed the charge without any further comment. All in all it was a nice stay in a better room than we expected and would consider going again.

Room Tip: If you have paid in advance check that it has come off your bank and keep receipt from company you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kirkychic,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed the executive bedroom and the lovely décor. Sorry there seemed to be some mix up regarding the billing for your restaurant meal and bedroom. Sometimes the system does not pre-charge the advance purchase rates for the bedrooms, so please accept my apologies for this.

I am pleased though that we resolved the issue at reception before your departure and would like to think we will be welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    229
    140
    67
    46
See reviews for
160
145
28
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hednesford, Staffs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked this room as a night away to recuperate from our home schooling year and just to have some "me" time. I asked for a quiet room and got one. The room was beautifully presented and clean. Dark curtains ensured I had a decent nights sleep and as it was facing the courtyard and not the car park, it was beautifully quiet. Alison, the receptionist, could not have been more helpful when it turned out the room I had been given was not actually ready and had not been cleaned. I do not hold this against her or the staff, as it was just confusion and a mistake. It turns out the room I had was quieter that I was going to have originally.
The shampoo/shower gel was very useful as I forgot to pack mine. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriouslykooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Seriouslykooky,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you managed to get some well earned rest-bite from your busy year home schooling.

It was nice to read you found the room to be beautifully decorated and the black out curtains and quiet surroundings delivered a great nights sleep.

I will certainly pass on you kind words about Alison on reception on the great job she doen.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here recently having booked through LateRooms for only £29 which was great value for money for this chain. Arrived late due to work commitments, to find a large wedding reception in progress. Thinking we were going to be disturbed by the late night party if we were downstairs, we checked in with some trepidation. To our relief, we were directed to our room on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, which overlooked a pleasant grassed area.

Room furnished to very high standard with comfortable armchair & a large flat screen TV which had a good selection of channels. Very good shower & the bath was non slip & easily accessible. Very efficient air conditioning unit which was a real necessity in the warm weather, meaning that we had a refreshing sleep in the large comfortable bed which had both firm & soft pillows.

Our only gripe was with the leisure facilities. We went down early on the Saturday morning & was handed a key card at reception as they are unmanned. The pool area is only very small & with the jacuzzi not working (sounds like it's always broken, we were told they were waiting for a part) there is only the sauna & pool to use. Facilities can get quite cramped even if there is only a handful of people using the 2 working facilities. The jacuzzi issue needs sorting so that guests at least have an extra facility to use. A real shame as the hotel has a lot of potential.

Overall a good stay, but for the issue with the leisure facilities the rating would probably have been a 5. Won't put us off staying again though.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor at rear of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul197002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Paul197002,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read your initial concern of the wedding party we were hosting, were not realised and you enjoyed the great bedroom with nice views.

I am glad you managed to take full advantage of all of the facilities we have at the hotel, including the leisure. As you mentioned they are very popular with our guests and due to regulations we have to restrict to certain number, but cannot guarantee availability of equipment.

Thank you once again for your comments, we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited the Holiday Inn on the weekend of 13.07.13. I had made the booking for 22 as was on a Netball tour. The staff couldn't of been more helpful from start to finish. When I made the initial enquiry John & Alison were really helpful. John even helped us to find somewhere to eat as we didn't know the area. On arrival the keys were all ready, rooms all together. The rooms were spotless and really good value for money.
The staff were all helpful and friendly and helped to make the weekend a real success. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you Holiday Inn Walsall!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor might be quieter due to the location being near the motorway. Ours wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear qwerty050,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read your netball event was a success and that whilst with us you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service provided by the team.

I will make particular efforts to praise Alison and John on their service delivery, as we all work hard to achieve great service so they must have really stood out.

The housekeeping team will also be pleased to read the comments on the spotless bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your comments, we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Was here with a coach trip and had a great time.
Room was excellent and when we pointed out that we couldn't turn down the temperature of the shower it was fixed quickly.
Service in the bar and restaurant was good and staff friendly enough.
Pool and sauna were good but disappointed that the Jacuzzi wasn't working.
We were informed on the Wednesday that our evening meal was going to be a barbeque as the weather was good - this was ok by us as at least it was something different but strangely we still had to eat our food in the restaurant and it was only later that we realised that we only had a hot-dog and a jacket potato for our evening meal- fair enough though!
The choice and quality of our other meals were excellent though.
One problem we had was with room service as when we phoned and asked for scrambled eggs on toast at 10pm we were told that it was too late for hot food despite the menu stating that this item was available 24 hours.
All in all it was a good stay and we would definitely go back but for people on a coach holiday they should be aware that there are very little amenities around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear johnnyboy54,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

It was nice to be able to look after you for the 5 days you were with us and I am glad your found your bedroom to be 'excellent'.

The team will be pleased to read the service delivered was good and the choice of food was excellent. I am sorry you had to eat inside on the Bar B Q night we did though have seating arranged for around 50 people outside.

On such a great week with the weather also I am glad you managed to find time to enjoy the pool as well.

Thank you once again we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We held our ladies football club presentation evening at the holiday inn and found everything to be top notch!!
The room was elegant, the food was superb and the feel of the whole place was great..
Kirsty was great in helping us to organise everything and we had what we wanted and not pressured in any way.
It was a great night for everyone involved and would say to any clubs to give it a try as we all normally go for the working men club type rooms for presentations but this made us feel like a pro club does on their special night..
Thanks for a great evening!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Trinapaul,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent event with us.

The whole team will be delighted to read your kind words on your 'Top Notch' event.

The chef will be pleased to read of the superb food comments and I will certainly pass my thanks also on to Kirsty for being so great.

Thank you once again we are delighted to have assisted in your great evening and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had my wedding here on 31st May 2013 and I couldn't have asked for anything better, the staff were great, friendly and willing to help in every way they could. The food was amazing everyone enjoyed it. The hotel itself was beautiful especially the garden area where we had our photos. The only hiccup we had was a muddle with our room on the wedding night but it didnt affect our day whatsoever. I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn for any function as they cater for everything, and the the staff are so nice and helpful. Definitely 5 stars from me xxx

Room Tip: Definitely go for executive - big rooms with everything you need and extremely comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear ZoeiM

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your special day with us.

We are all delighted your wedding was a fantastic day for you. It was so nice to read your kind words on the great team and how friendly they were.

The chef will be pleased to read your comments on his amazing food.

Overall it was a pleasure to deliver the 5* service to you and your husband and we all look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Kind regards

Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
5.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.2 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10

Property: Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Address: 20 Wolverhampton Road West, Walsall WS2 0BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel, with 156 en-suite bedrooms all with air conditioning, wi fi, en-suite. J10 Leisure with pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi. Large open plan lounge, bar and restaurant all air conditioned and wi fi enabled. Conference facilities for up to 180 delegates. Free car parking. Hotel is located just off Jct.10 M6 just prior to northbound exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing