We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uninspiring building but great comfort and A1 breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Uninspiring building but great comfort and A1 breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The long corridors and uninspired design doesn't auger well for a stay here. However, reception is welcoming, the rooms are comfortable and breakfast provides a great start to the day. A good leisure centre and pool and decent food and drink from the bar though a tad pricey and don't be in a hurry as service can be slow. Overall a decent place to stay for business or pleasure - easy access from the M6 (recent road changes are there to confuse!). Handy for the city centre or Villa Park.

Room Tip: Use the rear car park if in rooms around 230, 130 or less
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear daffin,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the room comfortable. On the other hand, I am sorry you did not find our building to your liking. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    219
    135
    64
    45
See reviews for
154
140
27
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

stayed here on saturday the 19th jan.
we had booked 2 rooms as family were coming to stay(birthday surprise)
got up graded to exec/suites for free.
The staff at this hotel are brillant well dressed eTC
The couldnt do enough for us and even supplied a free birthday cake.
we really enjoyed our 3 course meal it was lovely.
This hotel has been totally transformed from the last owners
And the hotel pictures are what you get.
A special mention to the manager that night thank you for making our stay so good
we will be coming back to stay again on the dinner/bed and breakfast deal

Room Tip: upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UlsterBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear UlsterBrummie,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, regarding your recent experience.
I was delighted to read your comments about the team and will certainly pass on the thanks for the great service and the fact you enjoyed your Birthday Cake!
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future,a s you ar ecorrect we have some great deals coming up.
Regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn on a business trip during January. Quite easy to get to once you leave the M6 at jct 10.

It is a motel style hotel with all rooms on the same level.

Reception:

Frosty, the guy who checked me in did not want to be there and I was left with the impression I was an inconvenience to him.

Rooms:

Basic, clean but absolutely freezing. Turned the heating on and went to the gym for a run to warm up. Heating is via the aircon unit and is noisy enough to keep you awake at night.

Bar:

Friendly staff.

Restaurant:

Good service, OK food.

Breakfast:

Buffet style, poor quality bacon (fatty) and sausages (Spot the meat content)
Staff fine and friendly.

Gym:

A very small gym.

Would I choose it again, No.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine_Buoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Marine_Buoy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments post your stay with us.
I am pleased to report the issue with the air conditioning units has now been resolved, although at the time we did have alternative heating available through portable heaters, I am sorry you may have missed the note at reception.
It is disappointing to learn the service you encountered at reception was not good and rest assured we will action this. But in turn I am pleased to see the positive comments regarding your experience with our team in Food and Beverage.
I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and you will give the hotel another chance.
Regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walsall hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I have decided to give the hotel another chance after reassurances that the restaurant had improved by the general manager.

Everything about this hotel is quite good, apart from the food. I am sure that a manager will respond to this review and harp on about their "newly refurbished" rooms, or "polite staff" both of which are correct, but it does not take away from the fact that the food is absolutely atrocious! Long waits for courses, bland tasting, over priced and not as described. If the menu states something i expect it, not a replacement and when sent back being told that they do not have any of the original item! The cheek! this has happened more than once in the past. Nothing has changed about the restaurant in the last 8 months save a new menu.

There are many many reviews on trip advisor saying the same thing but NOTHING has been done!

Come on holiday inn

Lets have some results before someone contacts BBC Watchdog!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mf44317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear MF44317,
Thank you for taking the time to contact us again regarding your visit. As you mention having recently joined the hotel it is nice for me to have a great new product, which more importantly is supported by a great team. However more importantly to me is how we constantly adapt and change our business for the benefit of guests such as yourself and I am disappointed to read you encountered further issues with the restaurant.
The whole team in Food and Beverage have been and continue to work very hard to constantly improve the experience offered and I am sure they will be equally disappointed to read your comments.
I would ask perhaps next time you are visiting the area we have the opportunity of discussing some specifc points about your experience when I can investigate what the issue may have been, as this feedback is fundamentally important to adapting our business for the future. I know David my Operations Manager would also welcome the opportunity.
Again I would thank you for the comments about the hotel and team and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip during January 2013 and the property was a little tricky to find from the motorway, the slip road isn't that obvious but I got there in the end.

I'm giving the hotel a great rating thanks to the great staff on the front desk who were helpful, friendly and made my stay stay very enjoyable.

I was finally given an upgrade on my room, the first since reaching my Platinum status with the Priority club a year ago.... this was superb, the room was large, living room area, comfy bed and I like the little extras in the room.

Thanks staff

oh and the cheeseboard was great too

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJohnAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear JohnAS,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to post your review, we do value your time. I am delighted to read your comments about our Great Team, especially on the Front Desk. I agree they certainly do make the stay for anyone stopping with us. It was nice to see you finally got an upgrade, I hope our sister Holiday Inn's recognise you as well in the future. Thanks for the nice picture of the cheeseboard as well, we are working hard on the food delivery and it is nice to see it is appreciated.
We do look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully we will have a chance to meet in the furture.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok so we have a corporate rate for this location and use it frequently but even still, the service is great, the rooms clean and quiet. Food is standard HI, and the swimming pool is more a hot bath tub, but if you need a place to stay on the M6 it's worth considering. If you get the chance to get to an exec room.... Take it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear RussellD,
Thank you for tkaing the time to post your review, it is always nice to read the teams hard work is appreciated. I will certainly pass on to them how great you thought the service was and highlight how clean the bedroom was.
Again thank you for the comments, as a regular we look forward to welcoming you back and value your loyalty.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed i night 30th december . staff very friendly , rooms nice , bed very comfortable , had soft and firm pillows . room was cold but porter brought us a heater , breakfast expensive . would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suedetouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Suedetouillon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review they are invaluable to us. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your pre New Year stay with us and took advantage of the comfy bed! I am glad you experienced a number of the team they will be delighted to read your comments. It is also nice to see your request for a heater was dealt with efficiently.
Thanks once again for your time, we look forward ot seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walsall hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall (M6, J10) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10

Property: Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Address: 20 Wolverhampton Road West, Walsall WS2 0BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel, with 156 en-suite bedrooms all with air conditioning, wi fi, en-suite. J10 Leisure with pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi. Large open plan lounge, bar and restaurant all air conditioned and wi fi enabled. Conference facilities for up to 180 delegates. Free car parking. Hotel is located just off Jct.10 M6 just prior to northbound exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing