We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to while away an hour or so”

Walsall Leather Museum
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Walsall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walsall Leather Museum is a welcoming and friendly attraction housed in a restored Victorian factory building. We offer a fascinating insight into the story of Walsall's famous leatherworking trade. There are regular guided tours and demonstrations of leather crafts, and a lively programme of events and actvities throughout the year, including changing exhibitions. Beautiful gardens planted with traditional tanning trees and shrubs. Excellent cafe serving home made food, and a great shop specialising in Walsall- made leathergoods.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely place to while away an hour or so”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

very educational place to visit makes you proud to be Walsall born and bred. excellent activities always going on here as well. very knowledgable people who work here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank juedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    73
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice staff”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I went for a visit with my children and we were delighted to talk to one of the volunteers who was a war veteran. He had a lot of stories to tell us and he made sure we leaned all about the leather process.
Will visit soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Leather Museum review”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Free entry (surprise)
Very very good, the people there no all about their trade, very informative and enjoyable

Helpful?
2 Thank Tomborino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

it was boring. OK for kids to learn a little more but for adults not really a great deal to do and I wouldnt recommend it as a touris destination

Helpful?
1 Thank Kezmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Limited interest”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

its a nice clean place and they have recently spent a lot of money on it but i think it is still only an attraction for school kids which is a shame because we spent a fair while talking to one of the workers who was there back in the day and it was fascinating! We only went as they had a "home of heavy metal" exhibit but ended up qyuite enjoying the rest of the museum!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dmfx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walsall Leather Museum also viewed

 

Been to Walsall Leather Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing