We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap,clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Walsall
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stopped here for a night out in Birmingham. Good price is the main reason for stopping. Rooms were very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Ideal for large groups. The area is pretty dire but only 10-15 minutes to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleTwenties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 562 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago as my husband had a works party close to the hotel and we did not want to drive home. We found the man on reception to be very nice and helpfull however we had a room with a connecting door and even though locked I could hear the cleaner on the morning running my husband down saying he must smoke to much with all that coughing he is doing and saying she wished he would give it a rest, my husband does not even smoke he just had a very bad chest infection and cold. The hotel to be fair is not a bad hotel for the price but cleaning staff need think before they speak.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Came here earlier this week(19th December) with a coach group. Arrived fairly early and some rooms were not ready. The reception was great, hot drinks and biscuits provided and comfy chairs for those who had to wait (only a handful)- as 2x coaches arrived at the same time they did remarkedly well. Some of my group ate an early dinner here and for 12.95 for 2x courses was good value for money. Most enjoyed the food with very few negatives.The rooms were a little tired and in need of a touch up or some small redecoration. The hotel has recently changed its name to just Barons Court(dont think part of Menzies chain now!!). The areas once used as a health suite and pool are looked dilapadated and run down obviously long out of use.One issue was that there was a lack of hot water in some rooms the reception stating a boiler had failed(looking at previous reviews a regular occurence?).
We returned late that night and the hotel had one man doing all tasks including running a bar. That said he did a sterling job and those who wanted a drink got one eventually.
Breakfast was good cereals, buffet style hot foods , juice, fruit etc, and waitress served hot drinks............
With 2 coach parties it became a little cramped but it worked ok, with staggered breakfast timings.Just one point if you are on the third floor the lift only goes to 2nd so a walk is required remember that if booking and you are physically inpaired in any way.

Room Tip: All appear similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in November. The receptionist had no customer service skills at all. This became apparent when our keycard did not work (after we had trekked to the room in the hotel which was furthest away from reception!) The room was tired and in need of redecoration. There was no hot water and in actual fact the hot water tap just spluttered out.
Breakfast on our first morning was good and the waitress helpful (perhaps she should be on reception)
On the second day there were 2 coach parties staying and the full paying guests had to stand in line for a buffet breakfast like a stampede. We will not be staing here again and nor would we recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ok, so it's not the nicest looking hotel nor in the best location. It was a last-minute booking for me as a stopover on my way up north from London. I got there late and there was a massive wedding going on, the reception staff upgraded my room to the top floor to do their best to ensure I wasn't bothered by the noise. The room was basic but perfectly good, room service was fine and breakfast was a bit of a 'elbows out and head down' affair as I battled 3 coach loads to get to the last sausage but it was better than expected. All for £35. Not sure how you can find fault with that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 528BenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

booked this hotel as it was local to where i needed to be, its not unfamiliar to me as i used to live in the area, i can agree with points raised in a lot of the reviews, however feel i must add, the food was lovely, very generous portions and staff were efficient, very friendly and helpful, there are a few issues evident around the hotel, my room was adequate although the tap in the bath needs a simple washer and the radiator could really benefit from a wet soapy sponge, shame as these are small easy to fix things, reception is welcoming and should be left as is so pennies can be spent on new carpeting and room upgrades, all in all a pleasant experience........will return, hopefully the new owners will bring it back to former,pre Menzies standard

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JancyMonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having read the reviews I was a little apprehensive, however my stay was enjoyable .I felt that the staff were accommodating, the room was comfortable, spacious and, adequately heated. Breakfast was exceptional providing good value for money. I will return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukoalwortj564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
2.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#10 of 12 in Walsall
146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
5.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel

Address: Walsall Road, Walsall WS9 9AH, England (Formerly Menzies Baron's Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range: $50 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Baron`s Court Hotel Walsall
Menzies Barons Court Walsall
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing