We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalling service”

Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #24 of 317 Restaurants in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $64
Description: Located in the centre of Watford, our stylish casual, premium steakhouse and grill is perfect for dining or relaxing anytime of the day. All of our meat is delivered fresh everyday from our very own butcher in Middleton, Norfolk, ensuring a delightfully fresh meal each and every time you visit. Our fixed price menu is perfect for a working lunch, a break from shopping or an early dinner, unrivalled at £9.95 for three courses, available Monday to Saturday 12-6pm. And why not check out our delicious Sunday Roast too?
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the centre of Watford, our stylish casual, premium steakhouse and grill is perfect for dining or relaxing anytime of the day. All of our meat is delivered fresh everyday from our very own butcher in Middleton, Norfolk, ensuring a delightfully fresh meal each and every time you visit. Our fixed price menu is perfect for a working lunch, a break from shopping or an early dinner, unrivalled at £9.95 for three courses, available Monday to Saturday 12-6pm. And why not check out our delicious Sunday Roast too?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

arrived at 7.00 waited 30 minutes foe drinks which just sat on the bar later after ordering more drinks had to wait 25 minutes for beer because it was apparently stored in the cellar

oveall the starters and main course took two hours to be served

received the first course two prawn cocktail covered in a thin watery pink substance tiny tasteless prawns totaaly covered in a very large amount of paprika almost inedible

main course arrived at 9.00 two hours after sitting down steak ordered medium arrrived almost raw no point in complaining as we didnt't have the time

the restaurant appeared to be in chaos with customers complaining all over the place

we were offered a free round of drinks and eventually 35% of the bill

this did not make up for the fact that this excuse for a restaurant ruined a birthday evening

never again a place to avoid

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emery129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlanchette, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear about that! Can we please get in touch to chat about it?
Please can you email kirstie@middletons-shg.co.uk with your contact details referencing 'TA Watford'.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2019

Small portions, lobster very small. The same an any other high street restaurant, just standard. Will just go pizza express next time, loads cheaper.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Dan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlanchette, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear about that! Can we please get in touch to chat about it?
Please can you email kirstie@middletons-shg.co.uk with your contact details referencing 'TA Watford'.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is almost a hidden gem.  At the end of a row of restaurants, it could easily be missed, but it's definately not one to be walked past.  We've eaten here several times, and the food is consistently good.  Their meat is delivered from Norfolk from their own butchers, and everything is made in-house too - all the sauces, marinades, desserts etc and you really can 'taste the difference' to coin a phrase!!!
We both had the spicy bbq ribs to start which were juicy and tender, followed by fillet steak for me and a ribeye steak for my husband.  Both steaks had the most delicious flavour - but mine more so! We chose peppercorn sauce and blue cheese sauce to accompany our steaks - delish! The dishes always have a choice of sides too which is unusual in most steak houses.  There's more than steak here though, there's chicken, fish, mussels and the most amazing handmade burgers too.  There's also a fabulous set lunch which is incredible value.  The choice of wines here is good and we always have the house Portuguese rosé which is good and great value.  There's a good range of cocktails too.  Staff here are lovely - all knowledgeable and very friendly.  If you want fabulous food, all cooked to order, this is your place!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank ruhappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

This is a poor imitation of a steak house. It all feels fabricated. The staff were like zombies. The steaks were terrible and tasted like charcoal. I would not recomend.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Daithi_Sean_Og
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlanchette, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

We're sorry to hear about that! Can we please get in touch to chat about it?
Please can you email kirstie@middletons-shg.co.uk with your contact details referencing 'TA Watford'.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

We visited Middletons as had been there a year ago and were impressed. However, this time the food was very disappointing and not cheap. The portion sizes were poor (and I am not a big eater) and the food lukewarm. The only reason we did not complain was as it had been chosen by a family member for a celebration and we did not want to make a scene.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nifty2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlanchette, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

We're sorry to hear about that! Can we please get in touch to chat about it?
Please can you email kirstie@middletons-shg.co.uk with your contact details referencing 'TA Watford'.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing